We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great weekly specials. Best beer selection. Nice Atmosphere”
Review of Stacks Bar & Grill

Stacks Bar & Grill
Ranked #3 of 159 Restaurants in Valparaiso
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great weekly specials. Best beer selection. Nice Atmosphere”
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Amazing beer selections and I love that Wednesdays are half price beer. Their other specials are great too. They are always doing a weekly menu item, which they post pictures of on FB. These always look amazing and the ones i've had tasted amazing as well. Breadsticks are a good deal. Only problem really is that they are too busy and popular even though they're in a back alley

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Taylor W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    167
    58
    9
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Valparaiso
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good food”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

This place is known for their large selection of beers. It has a library theme (hence the name Stacks). But it's very noisy, mostly because it's so popular. Reservations are a must Fridays and Saturdays. But the food was amazing. My wife had the salmon, and it was excellent, while I had a stuffed chicken that was also great (I had much lower expectations). We were with another couple, and they loved their food as well. Good attentive staff, so a win all the way around.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Worth the Search!”
Reviewed 9 March 2014

It isn't easy to find Stacks but once you're there you will be glad you took the time to find it! The beer selection is awesome and their bruschetta burger is FANTASTIC!! We've never had a bad meal here and we've tried pretty much everything they have. If you're lucky enough to be there on a night when they are serving fish tacos you have to get them - they are SO GOOD!! One hint though, if you plan to eat there on the weekend make reservations or expect a long wait - everyone loves this place!!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Teresa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northwest Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Lively Place with Great Food!”
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Stacks has become our go to place when dining in downtown Valparaiso. First and foremost you need to start with the Stacks sticks. If you like bread sticks at all you will be happy with them as your appetizer. Our food has always been good and they switch up their specials quite a bit so it is nice to have the extra variety when dining there.. They also have a great beer menu, draft and bottle, with many different styles to chose from. So for a fun atmosphere with great food this is the place!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BandBCuties
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arkansas
Level 5 Contributor
30 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere and Food!”
Reviewed 1 March 2014

It was worth the 1-hour wait (we didn't make reservations)! I had the filet and my wife had the pasta with cheese and bacon. Toasted ravioli as an appetizer and all three selections were great! Drinks were poured strong and they have a huge selection of beer. I had the four-beer flight and enjoyed it very much. Of of the staff were very friendly, particularly the bartenders. I would recommend Stacks to anyone visiting Valpo!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Espers7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Stacks Bar & Grill also viewed

 
 

Been to Stacks Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing