We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Isn't what it used to be”
Review of Strongbow Inn - CLOSED

Strongbow Inn
Price range: US$8 - US$15
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Refined Comfort Food.We are closed on Monday. Restaurant hours are Tuesday- Sunday 11am to 9pm and Sunday we are open for Brunch from 10am to 2pm. Bow Bar hours: Tuesday -Saturday 11am to 11pm. Featuring live music every Friday from 8pm to 11pm in the Bow Bar.
Michigan
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Isn't what it used to be”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Had loved Strongbow for years, but we have dined there for the last time. Since the sale of the restaurant many things have changed. The menu is different, and we miss the variety of turkey offerings like the Turkey Oscar and Turkey Schnitzel. The suggested wine pairings were also absent. Frankly, I am not interested in turkey testicles as an appetizer. The "complete turkey dinner" is no longer offered; when you order a turkey dinner you are served a salad and then a rectangular plate that had a scoop of dressing, two slices of turkey, mashed potatoes, corn, gravy and cranberry sauce. The food was not hot. Soup, appetizer and dessert was extra. Service was too intrusive and loud. The appearance of the restaurant has undergone changes: no airplanes in the bar area, no tablecloths, drapes near large booth removed, small table at entry removed with holes in carpeting visible. We loved dining at Strongbow ... not so any more. Other patrons may enjoy the new "Bow Bar" with outside dining near Route 30 and the new menu. Sadly, we do not.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IJaime2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    31
    32
    11
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lovingston, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice place for a wedding reception!”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Overall, I thought this was a very nice venue for a wedding reception. The food was plentiful and the staff was very accommodating.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Idaho
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

The food was good, not great. This place is great if you want a lot of food and traditionally prepared American classics and comfort food. I had the country fried turkey and it was a tasty, satisfying meal.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank GreekWorldTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Bay, Florida
Level Contributor
945 reviews
381 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 285 helpful votes
“Very good buffet”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Good place to go for their buffet - lots of selections. Nice when they have the piano player there -- adds to the experience.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ronald G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
valparaiso
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“New management”
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

We've been eating at Strongbow for 30 plus years and it's been our favorite restaurant. However it is now under new ownership. They said they wouldn't change everything. At first that was true but slowly changes have been made for the worse.

The gravy isn't as good. The color is different and the taste isn't as good. The bakery isn't making my favorite cookies anymore and the quality of the ingredients in the bakery went down. The turkey pies are using lower grade turkey meat. Recently we wrote down a list of all the changes to our favorite lunch item and there were 16 changes for the worse.

I like some of the new menu items. The new bar area is beautiful but I liked the old bar that looked like an airplane that's now gone.

Strongbow is still a very good restaurant but I'm disappointed in the overall quality of what used to be classic menu items. I generally embrace change but not changes for the worse.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kim k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Strongbow Inn also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing