We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Valparaiso
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Valparaiso
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Second time staying while visiting Valpo. Very nice, friendly staff. Quick, efficient check in. Gave us a choice of first or second floor which was nice. Breakfast was standard fare - pretty good. Beds were comfy, rooms were clean. Only minor complaint would be the air conditioners cutting on and off all night at the wall units. All in all a nice choice. We would stay here again especially if they honor Valpo family discounts.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
Thank OHcampers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doug A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Valparaiso, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Hello OHcampers,

Thanks for staying with us again while you were in Valpo! It's always nice to hear about our guests arriving to a friendly presence at the front desk and a nice, clean room to sleep in.

I'm really sorry about the air conditioner intermittently cutting on and off though. During the summer months the hotter nights can lead to the units having to cycle more to keep a constant temperature. We just finished a thorough cleaning of all of our units so they should be operating at peak efficiency now!

I hope you had a nice visit with your family and look forward to seeing you next time.

Doug A
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (147)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 147 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2014

I am a Gold member and front desk thanked me for my loyalty. I was a little sad they didn't have the Otis Spunkmeyer cookies. I was told that because it was a busy weekend with so many kids, that they chose not to put them out. After a 3 hour car ride I was really looking forward to having a cookie. Oh well.

Our room was clean, TV worked, breakfast was your standard HIE offering. Front desk staff was nice and helpful. Hotel grounds were well kept and clean. Biggest complaint if I had to come up with one was the shower head. Absolutely the worst. I am totally cool with hotels being 'green' and saving energy, water, etc. But please don't do it at the expense of your guests comfort. I had a hard enough time getting shampoo out of my guy hair, for women, good luck...Plenty of hot water though which was nice. Just needs a lot more pressure. Room 228 had a nice view of trees and other greenery.

Overall I am giving 4 stars. If I return to the Dunes I would stay here again.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Erik V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margaret L, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Valparaiso, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Thank you for staying with us and we appreciate you being such a loyal guest. Our apologies for not having the cookies out. We realize how much our guests enjoy them. We look forward to have you as our guest the next time you are in the Valparaiso area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

I often stay at HI Express properties. I find the quality fairly consistent. This one was better than most -- and they all tend to be pretty good (at least dozen or more I've been to). First off, I rarely comment or care about what happens at the front desk as long as they are efficient. The person who was at the desk that night was exceptionally good. Friendly, fast and helpful. That was impressive because you sometimes get one or two of those qualities but not all three. As for the location, it was in a quiet area with a variety of restaurants within a mile or so. Hotel was clean and well maintained -- at least by the evidence of some work being done. Room was clean, too -- always important. Bedding was comfortable. Towels in good shape. Breakfast offerings were OK. Fitness facility was minimal -- just a few cardio machines. I saw no suggestions of the other problems cited in other reviews, but things can happen anywhere and personnel can change. I had a good experience there.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank speedz2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margaret L, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Valparaiso, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Thank you for the very nice words. It is guests like yourself that make us love what we do. We believe in taking care of our customers and hope that you will visit us again the next time you visit the Valparaiso area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

We were greeted as we stepped up to the counter and thanked for our status with IHG. Check in was done w/o incident.
When we walked into the room we got a free gift...a sock had been left on the floor from a past guest. How does house cleaning miss this?? This un-nerved us, but everything else worked out well. No other house keeping issues.
We were more than happy with the free breakfast. A great bonus for this hotel. Well stocked and seemed very fresh.
Just so you know the beds are very hard and stiff. I would like better beds. Sleep quality was not all that great.
I would have no issues with staying here again....minus the sock thing and the beds

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sigs99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margaret L, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Valparaiso, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Our apologies for leaving an article in your room prior to your checking in. We appreciate you bringing that to our attention so it doesn't happen again. We look forward to having you stay with us next time you visit the Valparaiso area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

I almost never contact the front desk of a hotel... but this visit required many phone calls and visits. We more recently book Holiday Inn's because we have two young children under 2 and these hotels have been pretty family friendly and easy for us.This hotel was dirty and poorly managed. Check-in took an unusually long time with staff answering phone calls and continually telling me they'd be with my in a moment. It was a good wait before someone appeared to take another call and then help me. I was given a code for the free wifi that expired the week before it said "valid through 3/23." (We were checking in 3/29). I walked to the front desk to ask if there was a new code and they seemed very annoyed that I'd caught the error. When we got to our room, we were immediately disappointed with the room - it was dirty. There was trash in our trash can (a half eaten McDonalds sandwich and another wrapped leftover). When I went to the front desk (again) - they seemed very annoyed that I was mentioning it. I asked if the room had been cleaned because there was trash in the trash can... she checked and said "yeah, it says it was cleaned". Well... either your cleaning staff disposed of their half eaten sandwich, or they neglected to clean the room. The room above ours was loud all day, and we thought we'd wait and hope it would calm down in the evening. When we returned to our room at 9 at night - the room above ours was even louder. I called the front desk and tried to politely complain - they said they'd take care of it. It got louder. I waited 20 minutes and called again.- the front desk manager told me "I tried calling them and no one answered... so I guess I could go up there when I get a chance." I also inquired about late check out and was told "sure, how about noon?" Noon is the regular check out time... it was labeled on the door... on the internet... on my check in paper! I said "I'm pretty sure noon is the regular check out time," to which she replied "let me check.... [indistinct talking] how about 12:30"... how about no... Somehow I negotiated 1pm, but our night got a lot worse. The noise upstairs continued all night. The walls were paper thin and we could hear every conversation and TV show from our neighbors... we got next to no sleep. When our 2 year old woke up we decided to get the hell out of there. The shower had poor water pressure and the breakfast was cold and regrettable. The staff seemed annoyed that people were staying at the hotel. The pool was almost always without towels (I overhead two different people asking the front desk where the towels were). My 2 year old found trash in our room next to the nightstand and behind the chair and we found a very strange brown lump of something on a pillow we didn't use. We just felt gross and couldn't wait to get out of there.

Room Tip: Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelzoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Valparaiso, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Dear travelzoe,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate your interactions with the staff prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Stayed with a baseball team for a tournament weekend. Clean, large hotel. Comfortable rooms. Nice Pool. Continental breakfast, Powdered eggs (bleh) and the pancake machine was broken but there was enough pastry and cereal and sausage and biscuits to suffice. There are plenty of restaurants in the area as well as shopping.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BethChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margaret L, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Valparaiso, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Thank you for staying with us. We are glad that you find items on the breakfast buffet that you enjoyed. We hope that you will come back to visit us again while in the Valparaiso area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

This Holiday Inn Express is staffed by a great group of people, super friendly and quick to respond to any need or request. Fairly new or newly renovated and squeaky clean. Only issue was the wifi. It was pretty slow and constantly lost connection. If you are just checking email this will be no problem. If wifi is important to you, you may want to inquire if this has been addressed.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Slosh123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margaret L, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Valparaiso, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Thank you for bringing the wi-fi situation to our attention. We have worked to double the speed of the wi-fi with our current carrier to eliminate future situations. Please come back next time you are in the Valparaiso area, we would love to have you as our guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Valparaiso
0.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Valparaiso, IN
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Valparaiso
0.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Valparaiso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Valparaiso
8.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Chesterton
10.9 mi away
WaterBird Lakeside Inn
WaterBird Lakeside Inn
#4 of 5 in Chesterton
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Valparaiso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Valparaiso

Address: 1251 Silhavy Rd, Valparaiso, IN 46383-9578
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Indiana > Valparaiso
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Valparaiso
Price Range: £80 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Valparaiso 2.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel in Valparaiso, Indiana. Conveniently located a half-mile from Valparaiso University, the Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites in Valparaiso provides easy access to a number of local businesses and exciting attractions. Ideally situated just minutes from downtown Valparaiso, this hotel is in close proximity to some of the city's finest shops and cafes. Travelers of all ages can enjoy an afternoon sunbathing at Lake Michigan in Indiana Dunes State Park, indulging in treats at the Albanese Nut and Candy Outlet, riding the waves at Deep River Waterpark or exploring the Brauer Museum of Art. Business guests can appreciate that corporate offices such as Urschel Laboratories, Emerson Power Transmission and Computer Services Inc. are less than one mile from our Valparaiso, Indiana accommodations. The Porter County Expo Center and various acclaimed golf courses are less than three miles away. Our Valparaiso, IN hotel is also proud to provide a 24-hour business center. During your visit, feel free to take advantage of the hotel's free high-speed, wired and wireless Internet access and complimentary hot breakfast buffet. A refreshing indoor pool and hot tub, a well-equipped fitness center and on-site laundry services are also available. Take advantage of our exceptional Valparaiso, IN hotel deals and rates as you start planning your trip today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Valparaiso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Valparaiso Hotel Valparaiso
Holiday Inn Valparaiso
Valparaiso Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing