We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Hotel, Convenient, Courteous Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Valparaiso
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Valparaiso
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good Hotel, Convenient, Courteous Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2011

Moved to this hotel from the Country Inn & Suites in Portage, which was borderline filthy. By contrast, this hotel was very clean and the staff was courteous and responsive. The hotel is very convenient to many restaurants and merchants and, of course, across the street from Valparaiso University. Room decor is typical and of typical quality for this type of hotel, and outside of a broken door handle on the swimming pool room (which had a temporary handle in place), the property appeared to be very well maintained. Bedding comfort was good for this class of hotel. We were staying during an off-peak time, which meant that room selection was good and breakfasts were not crowded. Since the staff--including the general manager, Vinny--knew that we had changed hotels, they inquired daily to ensure that we were happy with our stay at their property.

However, I share a previous reviewer's comment about Internet connectivity. Our final evening there, it appeared that we had sporadic to no Internet connectivity for a few hours;. The front desk rebooted the equipment, but ultimately blamed Comcast, and my own troubleshooting work appeared to support their conclusion. I discovered that connectivity was in fact good, but domain name resolution with the supplied Comcast servers was failing; altering the DNS server configuration in my computer with known good servers restored my own connectivity, but I suspect that a majority of the hotel's users would not have uncovered this problem. This problem appeared to be entirely out of the hands of hotel management, but nevertheless very frustrating for hotel guests.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JGoodish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    149
    47
    23
    15
    4
See reviews for
123
27
16
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2011

It's a rather new hotel, and closest to the Valpo campus of all the hotels in town. Because of an event at the college the next day, the night we arrived we got the last room, which was a one-king suite, even though we had requested a two-bed room.

One remote control was broken, but the front desk fixed it for us, so no big deal.

Wireless internet was sketchy. The hotel owners operate a Dairy Queen right next to the hotel, and both have free wireless internet, but neither was fast or very consistent.

Breakfast was the standard continental fare, but cramped onto one counter, which made for a crowded mob at breakfast time. The biscuits had an especially bad taste in my opinion, but I digress. The breakfast lady did not speak any English (didn't even understand when we asked for a spoon) so that was a negative.

Biggest issue was when the maroon-colored finish from the desk in the room wore off onto my white shirt. I tested with a wet washcloth, and sure enough flakes of paint were falling off the desk where I had been rubbing it while doing work on the desk. I'm not really sure what category that falls under....

Overall a nice hotel, very convenient to the Valpo campus (and while we were there for an event the college ran a shuttle bus over to the hotel) but the management seems to be lacking a bit.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RyanWeather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kentucky
Level Contributor
150 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2010

We stay here once a year in the winter for a college event. The hotel was very quiet because of the timing of our visit. The folks at the desk were courteous and quite helpful. The room was fresh and clean, and overall, it was a wonderful stay. The only exception were chunks of cookies on the floor in the trafficway. I wonder if they vacuumed or have a poor sweeper.

The beds were also very comfortable to the point of not wanting to get out of them! Excellent breakfast selection. Very reasonable rates for such a nice hotel with a convenient location to the college!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Artie44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nj
Level Contributor
299 reviews
158 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2010

we were on a road trip...and we booked each hotel the night before depending on where we were going, this was a freebie based on a promotion and it was great....no problems, no complaints, slept well, clean and quiet, front desk even sent us to a good italian restaurant in town......

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joisey-joe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CT
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2010

Where do I start? We checked in and the first room we were given had an air conditioner vent partially blocked. When we reported it, we were told that all the room's vents were the same way. We asked to check another room of the same type and found that the new room had a fully working vent. The doors do not close lightly, they slam. Because the walls are thin, I heard every door slamming through the night. The door handle fell off our room door and it took all day for someone to come and fix it. Thank goodness there wasn't a fire! There is only 1 table with 3 chairs for the entire indoor pool area. There are rooms right next to the elevators and gym and bathrooms! One morning they ran out of white bread and didn't offer to get more and we had to remind him that there was no bread out on another morning!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kumonkeymom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moline, Illinois
Level Contributor
75 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2010

We stayed two nights and booked the romance package in a whirlpool suite. The hotel is new and very clean. It is conveniently located to downtown and very close to the Valpo Opera House, the reason for our trip. We had an awesome TV, a comfy king bed with coffee, micro, and fridge in the room. Breakfast was hot and plentiful. The package gave us breakfast off a menu brought up to our room, a bottle of champagne and chocolates, a bag of micro corn, 2 bottles of water, and a late check out. It was quite a good deal. The staff were very very nice. We had an excellent stay!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Deeno14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, PA
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2009

We stayed two nights during Christmas vacation to attend a wedding nearby. The hotel was very quiet because of the timing of our visit. The folks at the desk were courteous and helpful. The room was fresh and clean, and overall, it was a wonderful stay. My only criticism of the hotel was that the hot tub was more like a warm tub (bathtub). They need to turn up the heat. But I would definitely go back--it was a great value for the quality of the accommodations.

  • Liked — Everything was new and clean.
  • Disliked — The hot tub wasn't hot.
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank dgandrg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Valparaiso
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Valparaiso
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Valparaiso
0.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Valparaiso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Chesterton
11.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Portage
0.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Valparaiso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Valparaiso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Valparaiso

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Valparaiso
Address: 2020 LaPorte Avenue, Valparaiso, IN 46383
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Indiana > Valparaiso
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Valparaiso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Valparaiso 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the best of Valparaiso hotels at the Valparaiso Country Inn & Suites. Located conveniently near Valparaiso University and Valparaiso's historic downtown area, our hotel is the perfect place to stay for college visits, business, and leisure trips. Enjoy our complimentary breakfast with a variety of healthy and hearty options, including waffles, bagels, muffins, eggs, fresh fruit, yogurt, coffee and juices. Relax in our whirlpool, enjoy an invigorating workout in our Fitness Center, and stay connected to loved ones and business obligations with complimentary high-speed Internet access. Book your reservation today, and in no time, you'll be saying "I Love This Country." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Valparaiso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn Valparaiso
Valparaiso Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing