We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate but not great!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Valparaiso
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Valparaiso
Reviewed 3 October 2011

Recently stayed at the Fairfield Inn Valparaiso...it was older and not as clean as some of the other Fairfield Inns I have stayed. The desk staff was very nice and friendly. The breakfast room was extremely small and didn't hold many people. Overall, it wasn't terrible but I have definitely seen better. The beds were updated and comfortable!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank preciouscottoncandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (122)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

106 - 112 of 122 reviews

Reviewed 29 September 2011

We recently had a road trip to the Indiana Dunes State Park and National Lakeshore Park. We chose to stay about 10 miles from the beach in Valparaiso, IN. When we checked in the Fairfield Inn, the first room was on the first floor and nice, but smelled of smoke - even though this was advertised as a "smoke-free hotel." We went back to the desk and the staff were VERY nice. After apologizing, they offered us another room on the second floor. The smoke smell was much lighter, but still there. We stayed that night and were going to find somewhere else to stay the next night, but when we told them why we were checking out, they offered us a third room. This time, it was one of their suites and had no hint of smoke smell. The room was VERY nice and we enjoyed that night. Other things: the hot tub was closed when we were there; the breakfast was standard, nothing to impress; and the popcorn in the lobby was the biggest hit.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mammarita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2011

The Fairfield inn is very clean and comfortable hotel. It is nothing fancy but has all the basics. The beds were a bit older but still comfortable, the bathroom clean but dated. The breakfast in the morning extensive, they have refrigerated Jimmy Dean breakfast sandwiches or corn dogs you can microwave, waffles and bagels.
The only issue was we were on the second floor and the person in the room above us walked very heavy on the floor a lot and got very irritating to listen too.
We did not use the pool but the water did not look very clear and it was very small.
For the price this hotel is a good value.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kirk R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2011

We were at the Fairfield Inn & Suites in Aug 2011. The room was very large ( room for 2 queen beds, microwave, refrigerator, desk, dresser, easy chair and room to spare). Each bed had 4 pillows. There was 1 luggage rack, but the long dresser had room to put our 2nd suitcase on. There was a good selection of TV channels. We checked (we always do) and there were no bedbugs. The hotel was very quiet and comfortable. There is a Bob Evans restaurant next door and a Wendy's next to that. The staff was very friendly. The only problem we had was that the bathtub drained very slowly. My husband reported that to the front desk and they wrote down the info. Breakfast was pretty good: cereal, english muffins, hard boiled eggs, bagels, muffins, yogurt, fruit, waffles, microwaveable pancake and sausage sandwich.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MNroadtrippers66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2011

Have stayed here many times in past but was first time this year. The rooms are not clean. Someone elses hair on night stand and in shower, sheets have holes, tracks in windows are grimy and filthy, blinds have shreds and tears, bathroom faucets are dirty, dirt under the sink, and this was in one of the suite rooms. I would recommend the Courtyard or Hampton instead. I have also stayed at both recently and was much better. Thankfully the Fairfield has a great staff! But the hotel is in need of a good cleaning and updating.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank c0rgi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2011

I'll start with the positive - the beds were great. New mattresses and nice linens, and if you're just looking for a comfortable place to sleep, sometimes that's all that matters!

The rest of the hotel was just okay; an experience I would have felt comfortable paying $60-$70 for, but not the $100 that we actually paid. The bathroom area was clean but in need of serious updating. I expected something more modern for the price. The rest of the room had a layer of dust in every area that requires bending down to reach- the bottoms of chairs, under the shelf, etc. These details become important when traveling with a small child as you spend a lot of time on the floor!

We used the pool and the setup was nice but it was just a little bit grungy around the edges. I would never use a public hot tub but it was hard not to notice the 4 inch border of build-up above the water line.

We did a lot of research online before booking this hotel and didn't find anything else better, so although I wouldn't recommend it to a friend, it's certainly adequate if you need to stay in Valparaiso, just nothing to write home about.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JME727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2010

We was in town for a wedding. The hotel and room was very clean, the was very friendly and helpful. Free internet ,breakfast, and newpaper. Breakfast incuded waffles ,ceral juice,yogut,bagels and fruit. restraunt close by .we liked broadway cafe

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sterlingsteve65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Valparaiso
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Valparaiso
0.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Valparaiso
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Valparaiso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Valparaiso
8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Chesterton
12.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Portage Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Valparaiso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Valparaiso

Address: 2101 Morthland Dr, Valparaiso, IN 46383-5970
Region: United States > Indiana > Valparaiso
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Valparaiso
Price Range: £67 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Valparaiso 2.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Valparaiso offers convenient amenities and an ideal location off US-30 and US-49 to make it one of the top hotels in Valparaiso, IN. This ideal location is nearby Valparaiso University, Downtown Valparaiso, and Deep River Water Park. Business travelers also appreciate the close proximity to the Porter County Expo Center and Porter Health Systems. Guests staying at this Valparaiso, IN hotel enjoy spacious guest rooms that are highlighted by free WiFi, HD TVs, and in-room mini-fridges and microwaves. Start your day of right at the complimentary breakfast buffet, and unwind after a long day on the road at the indoor pool. Choose the Fairfield Inn Valparaiso and enjoy the unbeatable service and amenities that make this one of the top Valparaiso hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Valparaiso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn Valparaiso
Fairfield Valparaiso
Valparaiso Fairfield Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing