We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spotless!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites Valparaiso

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Fairfield Inn & Suites Valparaiso
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Valparaiso
USA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Spotless!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

This hotel is SPOTLESS!
That is why I gave it a four rating.
That being said, it is quite old and dated. It has no elevator.
The hotel staff is delightful , welcoming and helpful.
The breakfast was adequate but lacking in healthy choices.
This hotel is a good stopover when traveling east out of Chicago.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank flipusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    29
    18
    12
    4
See reviews for
33
26
5
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

the Fairfield Inn is a good place to stay. It was as expected, staff was friendly, rooms were clean. Nothing to complain other than it seems overpriced for the location. An overhaul of the rooms would be something to seriously consider. It is worn.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IndyUnknown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park Forest, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

I use to love this place. We have stayed here several times. This time was bad. My room smelled stale and the housekeeping was terrible. I had to come in after them and clean. This was the first time that they didn't even bother to ask how was everything. So I just assumed they don't care anymore. So said because we would visit several times a year. I was also at the end of the hallway with an air conditioner that cried all night.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gdrigo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FFIValpoGM, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Valparaiso, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. I do apologize that we did not meet and exceed your expectations during this stay. We do hope that you give us the opportunity to do this in the future. Please feel free to reach out to me directly. Thank you again and have a great day.

Angie Summar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013

The hotel was easy to find, easily accessible and reasonably priced. The room smelled as if someone had been smoking in it. Although there were some updates, it still looked dated and
Dingy. As my husband said "rather bland." Breakfast area was too small and not enough seating.
Staff was pleasant and welcoming.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank delaneyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FFIValpoGM, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Valparaiso, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback. The hotel has went through many new upgrades and our hope is that you will try us out again if ever in the area. Please feel free to reach out to me directly when making reservations so I can assure that we meet and exceed your expectations. Thnak you again and have a great day.

Angie Summar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
171 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2013

Visited while traveling to Valparaiso on a business trip. The hotel was conveniently located to the job site, gas, Walmart and Staples. I was cheerfully greeted by Katie at the front desk who was ebullient and welcomed me as a Marriott Gold member right away. Check-in was a breeze. I was located on the 3rd floor and it was quiet (it was also a Wednesday night).

The rooms are showing their age and need some updating, however the bed was clean and comfortable. The room HVAC system was an older style, one where the temperature control is on the unit itself and does not measure the actual room temperature, however it was quiet and functioned well. The Internet connection in the room worked flawlessly and speed was good. All internet in the room was wireless - no wired connection available, but streaming video worked adequately. Pool area was clean and the spa was just what the doctor ordered after a long drive.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a west facing window if you don't want to wake up to the sun in your face. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Harry E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portage, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2013

This was our first stay at a Fairfield.We understood this is not a 4 or 5 star hotel but it was still a Marriott.The front desk was very nice and a easy check in but that's where it ended. The hallways dirty and the room was no better. Hair on bathroom floor only three towels in the room. The dust on the legs of the chair was so bad I wanted to write HI in it for the housekeepers if they had any. The sheets on the bed were inside out,the bed skirt was was a mess.The dresser was sticky. We did not have the free breakfast as one of their employees was handling the. Food without gloves. We packed up our bags. And left!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Fran B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FFIValpoGM, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Valparaiso, responded to this review, 1 July 2013
I would like to personally apologize that our hotel did not meet and exceed your expectations. I would like the opportunity to speak with you about the specific issues that you encountered. Please feel free to contact me directly at the hotel at 219-465-6225. Thank you for taking the time to express your concerns, we do take these comments very seriously and use them as ways to improve. Have a wonderful day.

Thank you,

Angie Summar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glen Dale, West Virginia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2013

The hotel staff were friendly and helpful. The floor plan was typical of Fairfield Inn's. However, it was one of the dirtiest Marriott properties we have ever stayed at and we are Platinum members which means we have stayed at a lot of Marriotts. The hallways were dirty and dingy; there was a dirty sock lying by the elevator on our floor; my husband took his shoes off and walked from the bed to the bathroom and his white socks were black!!
The bedding and the bathroom were clean, but for the price we paid to stay in a small town, this did not meet expectations.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vuvu14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FFIValpoGM, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Valparaiso, responded to this review, 29 April 2013
We first would like to thank you for taking the time to write this review. We apologize that the hotel did not meet and exeed your expectations. A guest did drop a sock by the elevator while they were doing laundry which my staff did pick up at the first sight of it and returned it to the guest. The carpets have also been adressed and are currently bieng professionally cleaned as they are twice a year. I would like to speak to you fruther about your overall experience. Please feel free to contact me directly at the hotel. Thank you again and have a wonderful day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Valparaiso
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Valparaiso
0.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Valparaiso
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Valparaiso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Valparaiso
8.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Chesterton
14.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Merrillville
Hilton Garden Inn Merrillville
#2 of 21 in Merrillville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Valparaiso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Valparaiso

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites Valparaiso
Address: 2101 Morthland Dr, Valparaiso, IN 46383-5970
Region: United States > Indiana > Valparaiso
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Valparaiso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Valparaiso 2.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Valparaiso offers convenient amenities and an ideal location off US-30 and US-49 to make it one of the top hotels in Valparaiso, IN. This ideal location is nearby Valparaiso University, Downtown Valparaiso, and Deep River Water Park. Business travelers also appreciate the close proximity to the Porter County Expo Center and Porter Health Systems. Guests staying at this Valparaiso, IN hotel enjoy spacious guest rooms that are highlighted by free WiFi, HD TVs, and in-room mini-fridges and microwaves. Start your day of right at the complimentary breakfast buffet, and unwind after a long day on the road at the indoor pool. Choose the Fairfield Inn Valparaiso and enjoy the unbeatable service and amenities that make this one of the top Valparaiso hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Valparaiso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn Valparaiso
Fairfield Valparaiso
Valparaiso Fairfield Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing