We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value but noisy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Valparaiso
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Valparaiso
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Good value but noisy”
Reviewed 26 December 2013

This hotel is a good middle of the road hotel, near the University of Valporaiso, and close to
downtown Valporaiso. Its amenities were good, breakfast is included, the workout room is
open 24 hours, and wi-fi is available at no extra charge. The only drawback to staying here
was the noise made by housekeeping staff in the morning. They started at about 9:00am
slamming doors, running vacuums, and tredding up and down the hall. I was awake by that
time but did not enjoy hearing the doors slammed every few minutes for about an hour.
I justified the noise by the good value for money...the hotel was very reasonable.

Room Tip: The rooms upstairs are quiet at nite..I stayed in 220.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joslusser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    33
    22
    13
    5
See reviews for
40
28
6
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Elkhart, Indiana, United States
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013

The good: I stayed here during parts of 3 different week this past fall and each and every time I was met with a friendly staff. The location is central to everything in Valparaiso, allowing for easy access to major highways as well as several dining options. The rooms were always clean and did not lack any basic amenities.

The bad: Hotel is a bit dated, the rooms have a bit of a stale smell to them (all 3 rooms I had during my 3 different stays), and the breakfast bar was never fully stocked in the 12 mornings that I ate.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor away from the elevator. This hotel has many road crews that stay here for exten...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valparaiso, Indiana
1 review
Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

I chose to stay here based on other reviews, and was pleased with the decision. The hotel wa clean, the bed comfy, nice big flat screen tv, fridge, microwave, coffee maker, ect. The bonus was actually having a fluffy towel after jumping out of a hot shower, not one of those flat, scratchy, over used towels you find in other hotels. I'm picky about cleanliness from a hotel, I've seen my fair share of episodes of "Hotel Impossible". Breakfast was decent, if you want restaurant quality food, there are a ton of local options, but there was waffles, yogurt, scrambled and hardboiled eggs, sausage, hot and cold cereal, various bread and pastries, fresh fruits, coffee, tea, and juices all at the hotel. Pool, hot tub, small exercise room too. I would definitely stay here again :)

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank lisamm_28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

The accommodations were awesome. The staff were all very kind and friendly. Josh was very nice. I talked with him prior to arrival and he was very professional. Katrina was very nice and made sure our needs were met. Amber and Chloe were awesome by making sure our room was exactly what we wanted and made suggestions that we did not know were available. The night manager was very kind. He gave me suggestions on were to visit, shop, and restaurants to visit. He was like my personal concierge. The hotel is very secure. It in on a main highway with obvious patrol by the law enforcement agencies. The hotel was clean. Wonderful amenities. Workout room, spa, and pool. Breakfast is provided in the morning. There are scrambled eggs, turkey sausage, oatmeal, waffles, cereal, bread, bagels, English muffins, and fruit. Milk, orange juice, and apple juice. Very nice breakfast. I took pictures and posted them on my Facebook page. I was very impressed with the physical condition of the hotel and the professionalism of the staff.

Room Tip: Pick a room on the second or third floor in the rear of the building. It is quiet there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbi219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crest Hill, IL
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We were attending a Valparaiso University homecoming and decided to spend Friday night at the Fairfield. First, it is just off Rt. 30 and very close to Valpo. Second, we stopped late morning just to ask if we could check in early and to our surprise, we could and did. The front desk person was so very efficient. We reserved a King bed executive room for $145/night (seemed a little pricey). We were given room 216 which was directly across from their elevator. It was clean, bed was firm, four pillows on bed, fully stocked linens and room was long and narrow. Maid was on our floor and we requested one packet of regular coffee and she quickly gave it to us. (Little coffee pot in room; we don't use decaf). Offered breakfast, swimming pool, Wifi but didn't use them. When we arrived back around 9 pm, we heard frequent footsteps and thought it might be people in the hallway. It was not. Sounds coming from 3 floor above us. Hotel could be a little more soundproof between floors. Also, Saturday morning at 6 am, a garbage truck showed up to collect the dumpster garbage. Very annoying but not the hotels fault. The staff here seemed to be the best. I even saw the front desk person going through her own purse to find something a client had asked her for...Wow! That's customer service.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VicBobCrestHill_IL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Berlin, Wisconsin
1 review
Reviewed 20 September 2013

The front desk Josh, was extremely friendly. Rooms were very clean. Beds and pillows VERY comfortable. Would highly recommend to others and would return there next time we are in town.the location is wonderful. Check out staff was also very friendly. Grounds were very well maintained.

Room Tip: Stay on the third floor to avoid hearing people above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marge B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

This hotel is SPOTLESS!
That is why I gave it a four rating.
That being said, it is quite old and dated. It has no elevator.
The hotel staff is delightful , welcoming and helpful.
The breakfast was adequate but lacking in healthy choices.
This hotel is a good stopover when traveling east out of Chicago.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flipusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Valparaiso
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Valparaiso
0.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Valparaiso
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Valparaiso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Valparaiso
8.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Chesterton
12.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Portage
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Valparaiso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Valparaiso

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites Valparaiso
Address: 2101 Morthland Dr, Valparaiso, IN 46383-5970
Region: United States > Indiana > Valparaiso
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Valparaiso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Valparaiso 2.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Valparaiso offers convenient amenities and an ideal location off US-30 and US-49 to make it one of the top hotels in Valparaiso, IN. This ideal location is nearby Valparaiso University, Downtown Valparaiso, and Deep River Water Park. Business travelers also appreciate the close proximity to the Porter County Expo Center and Porter Health Systems. Guests staying at this Valparaiso, IN hotel enjoy spacious guest rooms that are highlighted by free WiFi, HD TVs, and in-room mini-fridges and microwaves. Start your day of right at the complimentary breakfast buffet, and unwind after a long day on the road at the indoor pool. Choose the Fairfield Inn Valparaiso and enjoy the unbeatable service and amenities that make this one of the top Valparaiso hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Valparaiso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn Valparaiso
Fairfield Valparaiso
Valparaiso Fairfield Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing