We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Generous portions and good food”

Suzie's Cafe & Catering
Ranked #15 of 159 Restaurants in Valparaiso
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Northwest Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
249 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Generous portions and good food”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We had a baby shower in the banquet area for about 40 women. Susie was very easy to work with in the planning and preparation stages, and our service that day was excellent. The chicken salad sandwiches on a croissant, and a fruit medley were chosen as the meal, but two special requests due to allergies were easily accommodated. Everyone enjoyed their meals and the portions were quite generous. The table of assorted desserts was plentiful and all were delicious. Overall great experience and would recommend for a small event such as this.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cubfans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    32
    4
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Meh..”
Reviewed 15 January 2014 via mobile

Went with 3 other people & 1 out of 4 orders was right.
Waitress was super rude when asked about 2 identical meals, one looked as if was a burnt mistake from a previous table & reheated & served to us while the other looked good & fresh.
3 out of 4 of us got horrible stomach aches afterwards.
Disappointed considering our 1st visit was decent, this was our second & last time there.

Helpful?
Thank JanethaGreek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A must”
Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

Have been there many times . Great food little pricey. A great way to start the day with breakfast there.

Helpful?
1 Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valparaiso, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“A great start”
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Yes, breakfast at Suzie's will get your day off to a great start. A tip: be sure and check out the specials for the day on the white board as sometimes the servers forget to mention them. The breakfast selection is huge and it's a tough choice between the special pancakes (pineapple upside-down pancakes on one occasion) and the delicious omelets - the Swiss cheese & corned beef hash is my favorite. It's too bad that Suzies has no booths as conversation gets difficult when the place is busy. If you're there in the summer, the screened in porch is nice. Warning: Suzie's now has a bakery with very unique and tempting treats.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim_Deck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valparaiso, Indiana
1 review
“Hot Food, Cold Service”
Reviewed 25 July 2013

I've been eating here for a number of years now, and I will say that the food, while a little pricey, is fairly good. However, for a place that seems to be aiming for a friendly, family place, the service is incredibly cold. There are a few exceptions, most notably among the girls running incessantly around the dining room refilling drinks, but in general the waitresses and in particular Suzie's daughter, give the impression they couldn't care less that you chose to patronize their restaurant.

Here are just a couple of the things I've witnessed over the years:
- I have seen servers chastised for saying "Hello, how are you today," while filling my coffee. It was apparently too much chit chat.
- I can not even begin to count the times I have seen eyes being rolled or exasperated sighs for taking too long to order, not take a seat quickly enough, etc.
- And the scene that will always be in my head as a reminder to never return to this place: a gentleman was complaining about having to wait for his entire party to be seated. This would be frustrating for a server I realize. However, the response of Suzie's own daughter to this guy was along the lines of, "I don't care if you eat here or not. There are plenty of other places in town to eat."

That statement just about sums up the experience. They'll take your money and shove you out the door. There is little to no interest in making sure they have fully satisfied customers. If you like good food and a friendly staff, I'll see you at Jimmy's.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Me M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Suzie's Cafe & Catering also viewed

 

Been to Suzie's Cafe & Catering? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing