We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Yum!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Valpo Velvet Ice Cream

Valpo Velvet Ice Cream
Ranked #1 of 9 Dessert in Valparaiso
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Munster, Indiana
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Yum!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2013

On a warm spring night we took a walk and enjoyed dessert at Valpo Velvet after having dinner on Lincolnway. The place is cheerful and the ice cream is excellent. We loved that we could have a shake made with any ice cream and ingredients we chose (I had strawberry ice cream with blueberries. Yum!). We enjoyed our ice cream on the clean patio. We'll be back!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank meev2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    18
    9
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
236 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“We came. We ate. We believe.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2013

We read the reviews and figured we'd give it a try. OMG! The ice cream really is incredible. The chairs are hand painted to reflect the various flavors. Could the place be more charming? Nope. Did I mention that the ice cream is amazing? To say it's creamy doesn't do it justice. We might go back again before the day is over.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank cwgreene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angola, Indiana
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“best flavors!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

you must try the black licorice ice cream! Suprise! Delicious! I'm sure all their flavors are, but, when I'm in town, that's what I go for.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank elache
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valparaiso, IN
Level Contributor
70 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Proud to have em in our town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2013

Homemade high-butterfat ice cream with wonderful texture and flavor. If you hit them at the right time, be sure to taste the Peach and the Coconut. Good friendly service and local family-heritage ownership. The ice cream is so good that some local grocery stores carry it. If it goes on sale, grab it!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank ValpoTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valparaiso, IN
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“I scream for Valpo Velvet Icecream! YUM....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2013

Again, longevity speaks for itself. Valpo Velvet has been around for a long time, and we know why...Yummy and great service.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank mialisa81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Valpo Velvet Ice Cream also viewed

 

Been to Valpo Velvet Ice Cream? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing