We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Bed and Breakfast ever!!!!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Vevay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Schenck Mansion Bed & Breakfast Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Vevay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 March 2011

The owner Lisa and staff go out of their way to make you feel at home. This mansion is one of the most beautiful inside and out that I have ever seen and we have stayed at many bed and breakfast inns in the past. I highly recommend staying here. The bed was so comfortable, the mansion is spotless and the ambience takes you back to a much more peaceful carefree time. A wonderful place to stay for a relaxing getaway. I highly recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jen2311047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (106)
There are newer reviews for Schenck Mansion Bed & Breakfast Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

90 - 96 of 106 reviews

Reviewed 2 December 2010

I can't come up with enough glowing adjectives to describe the Schenck Mansion! It was beautiful, meticulously maintained, romantic, decorated for Christmas and all around wonderful. The breakfast provided to the guest was delicious and a nice variety to suit all taste. The staff was friendly and there were all kinds of extra amenities such as colas in the hall, robes in the wardrobes and candles with lighters. every detail is well thought out and attended to with elegant precision. This was my first stay but I want to go back to enjoy every season with the nicely landscaped grounds. I just can't rave enough about this place.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nancy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2010

Pictures on the website at http://www.schenckmansion.com/ don’t do justice to the beautiful Schenck Bed and Breakfast at Vevay, Indiana. The mansion was built by Benjamin F. Schenck in the 1870s on the banks of the Ohio River about an hour's drive midway between Louisville and Cincinnati.

After the building fell into disrepair and was finally abandoned, it was purchased by Lisa and Jerry in 1998 and lovingly restored. They have gone above and beyond what one might expect in order to preserve the beauty of the mansion and daily make every effort to provide for the comfort and pleasure of their guests.

The five guest rooms/suites available at the mansion are quite spacious with plush carpeting, elegant furnishings and working fireplaces. The private baths are one of the few places in existence where guests can relax or shower in an original copper tub.

Amenities include a wonderful breakfast prepared by Lisa and Jerry and home baked cookies for an evening snack. With a little encouragement, Lisa will share the long and interesting history of the home. And guests are encouraged to explore all 35 rooms of the mansion at their leisure.

A night or two at the mansion is just the ticket for a quiet getaway from the hustle and bustle of everyday life or, perhaps, a bit of romance. The cost is surprisingly inexpensive, and once you’ve visited the first time, chances are you’ll come back again and again.

It's hard to imagine a nicer, cleaner or more elegant B&B!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank RRichardson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2010

Schenck Mansion is absolutely lovely in all regards. The rooms, the furnishings, the building, the hospitality, the breakfast. We are looking forward to returning in the fall or winter to take advantage of the beautiful scenery and cozy ambiance. Definitely a place to seek out if you're in the area and looking for somewhere distinctive to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mommyamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2010

Thanks to Lisa & Jerry we had the most wonderful stay at this marvelous mansion. I would highly recommend this bed & breakfast. I love to travel and experience small town USA and would put this on the top of my list.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sherri049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2010

What a comfortable, incredible two days and nights at this marvelous mansion! I am amazed at the restoration and the history of the home. I would recommend this to anyone....anytime. Thanks to Emily for such a wonderful breakfast and for her knowledge of the history!! Please put this on your "bucket list"......WONDERFUL.

Molly Huffman

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mollyh1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2010

We have come for our 3rd time. The Mansion and grounds are more beautiful every time. They have added a Gazebo and a stone deck/sitting-picnic area. We brought our 20 year old and her friend. They were blown away with the atmosphere and the the grandure. That is saying something that their gemeration can appreciate this classic.
The hospittality and food was wonderful again. Lisa is such a great host and we are ready to reurn 2 days after we left. The feelings of the old times are really present and just allow you to relaax and forget the present.
Everyone we know gets told about this place. The quaint town and people are just great.

Come and see; the wonderful old Mansion and experience a trip of your life.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank short72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vevay
9.4 mi away
Ramada Sparta/At Speedway
7.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Carrollton
Hampton Inn Carrollton
#1 of 7 in Carrollton
239 reviews
20.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Madison
Comfort Inn Madison
#4 of 7 in Madison
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Carrollton
16.1 mi away
Hillside Inn
Hillside Inn
#3 of 7 in Madison
173 reviews
7.5 mi away
Belterra Casino Resort
Belterra Casino Resort
#1 of 2 in Florence
689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Schenck Mansion Bed & Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schenck Mansion Bed & Breakfast Inn

Address: 206 West Turnpike Street, Vevay, IN 47043-1162
Region: United States > Indiana > Vevay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Vevay
Price Range: £74 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the picturesque hills of Southern Indiana, the Schenck Mansion Bed & Breakfast Inn is ideal for quiet romantic getaways, girlfriend weekends and whole house rentals. The Schenck Mansion was built in 1874 by Benjamin Franklin Schenck. It is listed in the National Register of Historic Places. We offer 3 guest rooms and 2 suites. Full restoration in 2000 with central air and modern conveniences. En suite bathrooms feature the original walnut cased copper soaking bathtubs with showers. Decorated with period antiques and reproduction furniture. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing