We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anniversary Getaway”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Vevay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Schenck Mansion Bed & Breakfast Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Vevay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 April 2012

This place is fabulous! We had a lovely time. The room we had was incredible and had a small porch. The lilacs were in bloom and it was so relaxing sitting out there with a glass of wine in the evening and coffee in the morning. The breakfast was delicious and the other guests were interesting to chat with. The attention to detail in the entire mansion and around the property grounds is amazing.
We did not want to leave. We hope to visit again.

For dinner try Moe's steakhouse. It is 1.5 miles from the mansion and there is a sidewalk the entire way for those who like to walk.

Room Tip: all of the rooms are nice and have balcony access
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank AdventurousAmy77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (110)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 111 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2012

My sisters and I were able to get away to this spectacular B&B for a brief, two night stay. The owners have such a love of the home, its history, and the area. The rooms are just unbelievable. We all decided that it would be the perfect place to take our husbands for a fall getaway. The views from the balconies on the home are just breathtaking, truly. You are so close to the river, some wonderful wineries nearby, and a great, Mexican restaurant right in town. Thank you, Lisa, for your many kindnesses.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for an upper room with easy access to your own balcony. It is a wonderful place to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank irishgalforever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2012

It was an outstanding visit we have to again and we will. Lisa was great so much history and beauty. Thanks Lisa.

Room Tip: all rooms are great just pick one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank glenn l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2012

I enjoy staying at a local BB or Inn when I'm traveling on business. Without a doubt, this has been my most enjoyable stay. Room and Mansion spotless, breakfast wonderful, and Lisa could not have been a better host. I'm already planning a trip back here with the wife.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Joe J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

My wife and i just returned from one night's stay at Schenck Mansion. It was truly a wonderful experience. The mansion and it's furnishings are very impressive. Our large room(Wiesman) was on the first floor with canopy bed and antique copper bathtub. Breakfast was excellent and had a nice conversation with the other guests. Speaking of other "guests", the mansion is said to be haunted. When I returned home I downloaded pictures from the trip. Looking at the pictures taken only in the bedroom, floating orbs can be seen. We're going back in April and hope to enjoy the beautiful grounds.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Tim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2011

This is a magnificent property in a wonderful, quiet, out-of-the-way little town. The B&B itself has been meticulously and lovingly restored and the owners did an amazing job of pretty much rebuilding this majestic property to look like what it must have been like when it was first built.

And the proprietors were wonderful, charming, engaging, and funny - but also great at just staying out of your way and just letting you 'be'.

Breakfast the next morning was wonderful as well. We can't say enough about this charming little getaway spot. We'll be back!

Room Tip: The Eugenia room has great views, an original brass tub, a lovely fireplace that we made good use of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2011

The Schenck Mansion is amazing! The owners Jerry & Lisa are wonderful people. Lisa made us feel right at home and welcomed us to explore the mansion. We stayed in the Wiesman Room (the only room on the first floor) and it was beautiful! (Anyone who has trouble with stairs should request this room.) It has a large, comfy, king-sized canopy bed, small patio, sitting area, and original copper tub. (The tub/shower may be difficult to get in to/out of for those who are unsteady on their feet but don't let that stop you!) I don't know about the upstairs rooms but our room was very quiet with only a little floor creaking above us and slight TV noise from above... certainly nothing more than ordinary hotel noises.
The entire home has been renovated so it feels brand new... as if you were walking in the door when it was first built. It is the cleanest place I have ever stayed.
We got to see all of the rooms and not one of them was disappointing! The prices are VERY reasonable (around $100/night) for the luxury you will experience. The mansion is perfect for couples, a group of girl friends, and solo. I think small families with well-behaved children would be ok (and children would actually enjoy all the stairs and different rooms). We are already making plans to visit again and I would love to return for a girls' trip with my mom, as well.
I can not say enough wonderful things about Lisa and her beautiful home! Do not hesitate to stay here... in fact, find an excuse to make a trip soon! You will not be disappointed!

Room Tip: The Wiesman Room is the only one on the first floor. Choose this room if you have problems with sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Traveling_Scorpio78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Schenck Mansion Bed & Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schenck Mansion Bed & Breakfast Inn

Address: 206 West Turnpike Street, Vevay, IN 47043-1162
Region: United States > Indiana > Vevay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Vevay
Price Range: £71 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the picturesque hills of Southern Indiana, the Schenck Mansion Bed & Breakfast Inn is ideal for quiet romantic getaways, girlfriend weekends and whole house rentals. The Schenck Mansion was built in 1874 by Benjamin Franklin Schenck. It is listed in the National Register of Historic Places. We offer 3 guest rooms and 2 suites. Full restoration in 2000 with central air and modern conveniences. En suite bathrooms feature the original walnut cased copper soaking bathtubs with showers. Decorated with period antiques and reproduction furniture. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing