We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AWESOME!!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Vevay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Schenck Mansion Bed & Breakfast Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Vevay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Madeira Beach, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“AWESOME!!!”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

If you ever get a chance to go to this amazing B&B please go! The home is gorgeous & Lisa the inn keeper is an amazing cook & hostess! The rooms are huge & very welcoming! We were able to walk thru the home as if it were ours.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back side of the Mansion u get to see the deer roaming in the woods. If you have a har...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marlapace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
61
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Logan, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We did not stay in the Schenck Mansion as we were in a RV camp nearby. We did, however, take a tour and it is a lovely place and some place we would consider staying in the future. We did, however, tour the town and it is a lovely little town. So much history here and the people are great. We visited the visitor's center, the museum and did a self walking tour. We were pleased that we "stumbled" onto this little town. We were asked by a resident how they could improve their town and could not think of anything at the time but now we have thought about it -- it would be nice to have a walking map with different "historical homes listed with details". We spent the afternoon there and had a very enjoyable time. Love to talk to the "locals" in small towns!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank tfarmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Palestine, Indiana
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013

We stayed at Schenck mansion in November and it was absolutely stunning. The inside of the mansion was decorated beautifully and rather grand. Our room was very big, comfy and breathtaking views of the hillside, garden area and gazebo. During the evening tons of deer where grazing in the yard and even a few resting in the grape / vineyard area. The breakfast was wonderful and the conversation with alll the other guests / owner was even better. We really enjoyed our stay and will be back in the summer time.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mandilin2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kokomo, iN
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Great weekend - accommodations were spectacular, and the breakfasts were delicious. We especially enjoyed the breakfast conversation with other guests and the innkeeper. Make sure to tour all the rooms and don't miss the restoration photo album. Side benefit - even as hunting season opened, deer were very visible at the mansion!

Room Tip: The suite gave you an extra sitting room and a separate bath with claw foot tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liverpooleaton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

From the minute you walk into the mansion you are transported ack to a time gone by. The furnishings are such a huge part of the ambiance and comfort you truly feel pampered. The rooms are big and comfy with plenty of fluffy towels and your own bathrobe. The breakfasts are delicious made and served by the managers Jenny and Steve. Be sure to walk the beautiful landscaped grounds they are truly worth your time.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beckner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ohio
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

We spent one night at the Schenck Mansion in June. What a wonderful experience! We stayed in the Weisman Room on the first floor. The room was spectacular and had its own outside entrance and porch. We loved it. Steve gave us a tour of the house from top to bottom. It really is a gorgeous house, and the grounds are beautiful, too. We had a sideboard outside our room with cookies and soft drinks on arrival and fresh coffee in the morning. We loved the house so much we chose to have pizza on our porch rather than go out for dinner! Soaking in the big copper-lined tub was like heaven. In the morning we had a delicious breakfast of stuffed French toast and grits. Jenny's homemade triple berry sauce was really good. Steve and Jenny definitely make you feel at home. This is a wonderful B&B and we will definitely go back!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dianediavery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 June 2013

There is service and then there is this bed and breakfast. Words cannot describe the wonderful experience we had. Steve spent his time giving us the most astonishing tour of the house and grounds. Explaining in detail the history, construction methods, previous owners, fun facts and everything in between. The cooper bath tub was enough to put me sound to sleep. When the morning came Steve’s wife made grits that would make the most southern bell jealous. We felt like we were living in a real life Downtown Abbey. We are already discussing a return trip. You most certainly need to try this place you surely will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank delbert01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vevay
7.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Carrollton
9.4 mi away
Ramada Sparta/At Speedway
7.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Carrollton
Hampton Inn Carrollton
#1 of 7 in Carrollton
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.1 mi away
Hillside Inn
Hillside Inn
#3 of 7 in Madison
170 reviews
20.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Madison
Comfort Inn Madison
#4 of 7 in Madison
110 reviews
7.5 mi away
Belterra Casino Resort
Belterra Casino Resort
#1 of 2 in Florence
677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Schenck Mansion Bed & Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schenck Mansion Bed & Breakfast Inn

Property: Schenck Mansion Bed & Breakfast Inn
Address: 206 West Turnpike Street, Vevay, IN 47043-1162
Region: United States > Indiana > Vevay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Vevay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the picturesque hills of Southern Indiana, the Schenck Mansion Bed & Breakfast Inn is ideal for quiet romantic getaways, girlfriend weekends and whole house rentals. The Schenck Mansion was built in 1874 by Benjamin Franklin Schenck. It is listed in the National Register of Historic Places. We offer 3 guest rooms and 2 suites. Full restoration in 2000 with central air and modern conveniences. En suite bathrooms feature the original walnut cased copper soaking bathtubs with showers. Decorated with period antiques and reproduction furniture. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing