We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Stop Over”
Review of Charley Creek Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Charley Creek Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Wabash
Certificate of Excellence
Plain City, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely Stop Over”
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Next time we will stay the weekend! We did get to the big Christmas bazaar last weekend but missed out on the Chili for Charity. Next year we will be hitting both! This hotel was beautiful. There is a gallery, candy store and wine/cheese store in the lobby. They ran an Octoberfest beer tasting and had a nice wine tasting as well. Very, very nice.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KL V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beth D, Public Relations Manager at Charley Creek Inn, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
We look forward to seeing you soon. Glad you had a great time in Wabash.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    157
    21
    1
    4
    5
See reviews for
42
82
4
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
La Crosse, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

We had a memorable stay here when visiting friends. The character of the fine hotels of the early 20th century is recreated, with the modern conveniences we expect. Our suite ( 2 queen beds, $155) was lined with photos and the stories of celebrities from academia, business and the arts connected to Wabash. The hotel restaurant features Hoagy Carmichael and Cole Porter, who both had ties to Indiana. Our "23 guest rooms and 7 suites have been restored to the elegance of bygone days featuring décor from the Regency, Victorian, and French periods." The hotel provides a number of celebrations, promotions, events & dining experiences with live music, as a full service hotel, but with Midwest sensibility & prices. A number of attractive restaurants and shops are convenient to stroll around nearby in downtown.

The Honeywell Center next to the hotel is a major arts venue for the region, more than this town of 12, 000. The Honeywell corporation founder grew up here and installed the first hot water heated house, his factory making thermostats and heating controls and so much more, later. Wabash is notable as being the first electrically lighted city in the world, which was inaugurated on March 31, 1880 -- check Wikipedia.

Room Tip: Discuss your choices of period and room decor with the reservations clerk when planning your stay, t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 971GeorgeF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beth D, Public Relations Manager at Charley Creek Inn, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
So glad you enjoyed the renovation. The Inn has been Awarded the Cook Cup which is the highest historic preservation award in the State of Indiana. We are so glad you had a nice time and shared your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pendleton, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

This is our most favorite hotel we've ever stayed at, and we keep coming back because we love it so much. Each room has a different decor and it's all beautiful and grand and very clean. The lobby and its colors are just as beautiful and inviting. They don't have a pool, but the gorgeousness of the rooms and the whole hotel in general make the lack of a couple tiny amenities nothing at all to fuss about . We walk away beyond pleased everytime we stay here. We always recommend it to our friends and family. We'll be back again and again. Price isn't too bad if you feel like splurging a little bit if you're on a budget, but it's actually priced lower than a lot of the higher end chains. I hope you love it as much as we do. :-)

Room Tip: They're all good rooms!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie6677
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beth D, Public Relations Manager at Charley Creek Inn, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Thank you for the glowing review and thanks for coming back again and again. We appreciate you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

I stayed at the Charley Creek Inn for only one night while on a business trip and wish I could have stayed longer. I had a queen room that was large, comfortable and spotless. The bathroom was also larger than most hotel baths. I ate dinner at the restaurant, Twenty, and it was fantastic. The wine bar had a great selection of wines and craft beers which they offer chilled to take to your room. The young man working in the wine bar was very knowledgeable about both the wines and the beers and gave good recommendations. I will certainly be back with my spouse for a weekend trip.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jockamo2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beth D, Public Relations Manager at Charley Creek Inn, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
Thank you so much for the kind review. We are glad you had a wonderful stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester Hills, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

My family stayed at the Charley Creek Inn for a family reunion in August. This property is both cozy and luxurious. From the inviting, open lobby to the tastefully decorated rooms, its clear that a lot of attention want into the design and execution of the Charley Creek Inn. This is not your standard small town hotel. In fact, I could easily picture it in the Hudson Valley or some equally upscale destination. Beds are comfy and the tiled bathrooms are spacious. Our king size room had a bar area with sink and refrigerator, in room vanity with sink and a separate three piece bath. One of our family members said there was even a washer and dryer in their suite! The bonus is the on-site bar/restaurant, Twenty-One, which serves a delicious brunch and has a lively night scene. If you're in the Wabash area, we can't recommend the Charley Creek Inn highly enough.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank debtodeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

We absolutely loved it. The old charm is still present--down to the covered over doors from the old SRO rooms that are visible from the hallway. The restoration was very well done, our room was spacious, and the local college theme was cute.

The staff appears to have been very well-trained in hospitality. Make time to browse the art gallery and candy shop. Hopefully you can encourage one of the staff to demonstrate how the piano in the lobby works. Too cute!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OutWanderin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lebanon, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

We stopped in without a reservation during a bicycle ride on a very long day. They were very accommodating about the bicycles, helping us secure them in a storage area. Room was well designed, much larger than expected and very clean. Staff was very professional, and the management was suburb. Nice variety of craft beers and other small items in the shop on site. Will definitely stay again. We've stayed in a number of historic hotels, but this is definitely a highlight.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JP L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wabash
17.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Huntington
Comfort Inn Huntington
#2 of 4 in Huntington
56 reviews
16.2 mi away
Huntington Inn
Huntington Inn
#3 of 4 in Huntington
8 reviews
17.1 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#1 of 5 in Marion
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Marion
Hampton Inn Marion
#2 of 5 in Marion
310 reviews
16.5 mi away
Best Western Circus City Inn
0.2 mi away
Herrold on Hill Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charley Creek Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charley Creek Inn

Property: Charley Creek Inn
Address: 111 W Market St, Wabash, IN 46992-3053
Region: United States > Indiana > Wabash
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Wabash
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Charley Creek Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charley Creek Inn has 30 beautifully appointed guest rooms and suites. The Inn offers Small Town Luxury at its Best with 20th century decor and 21st century amenities including FREE high speed internet, wine tastings (M-Sat), full-service on-site restaurant (Twenty), Wine & Cheese Shoppe, Ice Cream & Candy Shoppe, award winning Banquet, Wedding & Event space and planning services. Charley Creek Inn is located in downtown Wabash near distinctive shopping, world-class museums, the Visitors Center and art galleries. The Honeywell Center is only 1/2 block from Charley Creek Inn and overnight guests can use the 75,000 square foot YMCA for free during their stay (1.5 Blocks away) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HRS and Priceline so you can book your Charley Creek Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charley Creek Hotel Wabash

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing