We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Atrium Lounge”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
West Baden Springs Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 August 2014

I often travel to West Baden on a Saturday to enjoy the entrainment in the lounge as well as dining. I have noticed large parties celebrating family gatherings while the entrainment is in progress. The tables are set up in front of the trio blocking the view, and some sound from the tables by the bar area. The servers are serving dinner between the parties celebrating and the group trying to perform, adding another distraction.
Needless to say the dinner parties are gathered to socalize with each other.
It seems it would work for both parties if the entrainmemt was moved closer to the bar area, where those seated could enjoy the trio.

Room Tip: A beautiful hotel located one hour from the Louisville area. Wonderful entrainment at both West Bade...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,839)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,061 - 1,067 of 1,840 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2014

We were looking for a relaxing place to de-stress and this proved to be the perfect place to do just that. I have to agree with another reviewer the staff was attentive but not intrusive All of the staff – from the valets to the restaurant staff to the maids- we encountered were pleasant, helpful and knowledgeable abt the resort. We spent the evenings sitting on the veranda just taking in the beauty of gardens. We had a balcony room that was spacious and very comfortable. I was amazed how quiet the whole building was especially when you realize how many people are staying there. We had dinner one night at Sinclair’s, which was elegant and very special. The service was impeccable. We also had drinks and dessert, ( I would highly suggest ordering the signature dome dessert) one evening at Ballard’s. Even though the bartender was busy, she did an amazing job of getting all the drinks made for the whole resort she never made us feel rushed and was very welcoming. I felt like we were guest in her home. We took the tour which helped understand the history of the hotel and would highly recommend someone take it, it definitely puts everything in perspective. It was nice to be able to use the shuttle between the West Baden and The French Lick, to visit the casino, eat at other restaurants without having to worry about driving or parking. We have decided to come back next year to celebrate our 20th wedding anniversary. We have never been any where that three weeks after our staying there we are still talking about it and how it was the perfect place to get away from the daily grind.

Room Tip: It is well worth the extra money to get balcony room - unless you have children
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We celebrated our 40th anniversary at the West Baden. We really enjoyed it. We had the anniversary package and were very pleased with it. The only thing we didn't like about it was the way they deducted the $75 for dinner and $30 for breakfast. They divided it amongst a couple of dinners and the breakfast which made the bill confusing. The wine, rose, cracker and fruit/cheese plates that were included in the package were all very nice. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. The setting is much nicer than French Lick because you are not right on the road. We were able to take a walk to French Lick one morning and it was only a 25 minute walk. The pool is nice but not very big so there aren't a lot of chairs around it but we lucked out and got the last two. We were given an upgrade to a balcony atrium room which was very nice. Having a refrigerator in the room was very useful. Housekeeping was exceptional and when I got home I realized I had left something in the room and they sent it to me quickly. The grounds are kept up beautifully. We enjoyed sitting and relaxing in the rocking chairs on the porch. All in all it is a very unique and classy hotel. We would go back and would also highly recommend it. The Sinclair restaurant was excellent and we enjoyed our breakfast at the Cafe' Sinclair.

Room Tip: The atrium balcony rooms are very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Dorothy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Nothing could have prepared me for the spectacle that is West Baden Springs Hotel. From the moment we walked into the resort I was mesmerized. I tried to take photo after photo, but was unable to find any single one that captured the sight that I was seeing with my eyes. My wife and I were there to celebrate our 25th anniversary and nothing disappointed. We had a fine meal at Sinclair's, with a nice bottle of champagne, and the staff throughout our stay were attentative without being intrusive. Actually, the resort itself was the one thing that made our visit spectacular, and to think it is in Indiana, not New York, Boston or California (all places we have been). It is by far the finest resort we have ever had the pleasure of staying in. We enjoyed it so much that on the way back home we planned our next trip to West Baden, and by the time we hit the door to our house we were ready to call and make that reservation for the Chrustmas season. It is with great anticipation that we look forward to that return visit.

Room Tip: Always go for the atrium view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Lovely restoration of a gorgeous property. The staff was very friendly... not snooty as at some upscale resorts. The facility is beautiful; the room was beautiful, and our room (garden view) offered us the largest bathroom I have ever experienced in a hotel--separate tub and glass-enclosed shower plus a separate toilet closet. It is upscale, but classically subdued, had sumptuous linens, etc. I am surprised that someone complained about the pillows because ours were fine as was the air conditioning system.
We ate dinner at Ballard's (casual dining in the lobby), and breakfast. Both meals were great and not overly pricey.
The landscaping, gardens, and pool are beautiful.
If you come here to visit, you MUST go south to the banks of the river. It is beautiful--there are bluffs that are hundreds of feet above the river, the trees hang over the road, the little villages are quaint, and the landscape looks like a cross between the Smokey Mountains, Vermont, and Southern Indiana.
Do come for at least one visit!
The only thing that would have made it better would have been if everyone had dressed up as they used to in the 1920's. I truly could imagine what it was like to vacation here 90 years ago!

Room Tip: I did not want an atrium view room-assuming it would be dark, but I doubt it would be. However, we h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank momcop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We had many things to celebrate. My dear friend had just retired; my daughter just got her first teaching job; and her friend was starting Grad School. What a wonderful place for all of us! The restored historic hotel is an amazing step back in time. The atrium is so beautiful and just an incredible architectural design, withstanding the tests of time.
The check in was quick and easy. The Queen double room overlooked the atrium. Try to get one with a small balcony on the atrium, 4th floor is very good for this. The room was spacious and so grandly decorated. We made reservations (please do this early) for Spa Pedicures weeks before our arrival. The Spa is so grand and beautiful with wooden cabinet lockers for storage, a nice thick white robe to wrap up in! Relax in the tranquility room with a glass of wine. Our pedis were very nice, with a price matching a nice Spa experience. We had signed up earlier for a "Wine and Dessert Soiree" in the atrium. What a lovely time! Great pairings of wine and desserts with presentations and descriptions on a printed menu. We dressed in our ladies finery for the evening and thoroughly enjoyed all.
We took the shuttle over to the French Lick Casino. Its a fun place, although smoking is allowed, and not appreciated by our group. There is a "non smoking" area, but thats an oxymoron. As far as the slots.........$$$ in...............000 out!! Ok, but not to spend much time there.. The tables seemed more active and seemed a better choice.
We spent a late evening in the atrium enjoying the ambiance of the hotel, enjoying a bottle of wine, playing Apples to Apples game. It could not have been more perfect for this age mismatched group of girls!
There was an afternoon Tea in the atrium, complete with harpist music. It looked lovely.
We had fresh Salmon Cesar Salads at Ballards Restaurant in the atrium......excellent. We also had a delightful breakfast at Sinclairs. Would not miss either of these.
There is a shuttle to take you everywhere, but the walk through the gardens between WBS and French Lick Hotel is quite nice. The swimming pools are very nice, but the indoor one is such a nice respite if the weather is not cooperative.
The staff at this hotel is there to make your stay memorable. Everyone was so nice and helpful.
Loved our girls weekend and made lots of memories.!

Room Tip: love the 4th floor with a balcony open to the atrium. All rooms are not the same in size or arrangem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Wonderful resort. We had a suite which was perfect for our family of 6 (one was an infant.) The pools are gorgeous. Like stepping back in time, or as my kids said "We feel like we're in an old movie!"

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Baden Springs
0.9 mi away
Big Splash Adventure Resort
Big Splash Adventure Resort
#4 of 5 in French Lick
421 reviews
1.5 mi away
Best Western Plus French Lick
2.5 mi away
Comfort Suites French Lick
Comfort Suites French Lick
#3 of 5 in French Lick
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bedford
22 mi away
SureStay Plus Hotel by Best Western Jasper
22.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Jasper
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Baden Springs Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Baden Springs Hotel

Address: c/o French Lick Resort, 8670 W. State Road 56, West Baden Springs, IN 47432
Region: United States > Indiana > West Baden Springs
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in West Baden Springs
Price Range: £169 - £257 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — West Baden Springs Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 243
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Preferred Hotels, getaroom.com, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your West Baden Springs Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Baden Springs Resort
West Baden Springs Hotel Indiana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing