We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well, there isn't much to do so why not go to a Campus”
Review of Purdue University

Purdue University
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
67 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Well, there isn't much to do so why not go to a Campus”
Reviewed 27 August 2013

I personally like university campuses. and frankly there isn't much to do in West Lafayette so it is a good option to go visit Purdue University, a respectable university and enjoy shops and cafes there with young bright people.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ElcinKisacik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    146
    46
    11
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
219 reviews
83 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“This university is tough and great, but honestly, not attractive...”
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Don't get me wrong please, if I would rate it as a university, not as an attraction, I would have given it 5/5, or at least 4.5/5. This university is one of the best universities in engineering worldwide, so it is a big deal. Engineering here is really tough, one of the toughest in the US.

However, Purdue University is not really nice looking and beautiful. Lots of the buildings are old. Check out the civil engineering building, it feels like you are trapped in a cave, a boring cave, filled with nobody. It is just difficult to breathe in there. HOWEVER, the newer buildings are great looking and modern (Krannert, Rowls, Cordova, Armstrong, etc). The engineering fountain is nice too. Purdue band got the biggest drum in the world, they claim. Not a big deal anyway, anybody can make a big drum. Oh, and did I mention that Neil Armstrong studied here? So all in all, it is a really great university with lots of youthful kids, some are reckless, some are mindless, some are shirtless, some others are geniuses, and a LOT are from china and India, which are the dominant groups among the geniuses.

Well, to summarize everything, Purdue University is not really attractive, not to mention Lafayette. I would consider it as an attraction only if you are in Indiana. Other than that, it's definitely not worth the trip.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Abzollo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
404 reviews
215 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Sonny boy off to College”
Reviewed 16 August 2013

JMJ Go Boiler Makers! Prudue has a great educational reputation and I give it 5 stars for orientation and moving in day!! Having taken many to various colleges; Purdue was stress free. The campus is a well oiled machine of handling the size of their student body!! Look into all the programs it has to offer; also sports, activities, arts, the list goes on and on. Now we'll see how the winters are; the spring and summer have been beautiful!!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank mother15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
98 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great university”
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Large university, but compact campus. The staff has been unbelievable on how you get treated at this university. Be sure to visit Neil Armstrong's statute and footprints from the moon! There's also a moon rock to see!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank mihockeymom15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arnold, Maryland
Level Contributor
481 reviews
174 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Dangerous Streets”
Reviewed 12 August 2013

The only memorable thing about this university was the large fountain and the amount of roads running through and around campus. I have heard a number of people discussing how students have been hit by buses and cars. That should not be a normal occurrence at a college campus. Unfortunately, I did not see much of the university, but what I did see was unimpressive based on other campuses that I've seen in both the Midwest and the East Coast.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kaitlin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Purdue University also viewed

 

Been to Purdue University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing