We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great place to stay and eat”
Review of Mont Rest Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mont Rest Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Bellevue B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Otho, Iowa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“great place to stay and eat”
Reviewed 25 August 2013

we stayed friday and saturday did the great gatsey dinner it was awesome food was awesome we will return and naomi and chris did a very good job would highy recommend monet rest to any one very clean all the help are very personable even got to meet bosley the inn dog he is very good boy and well mannered i would put this place on my list if u havent been there yet

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank farmer4423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    160
    21
    3
    4
    3
See reviews for
23
110
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 July 2013 via mobile

Chris and Ralph run a great B&B in Bellevue Iowa.

We had a great room, clean and neat, wonderful whirlpool tub. Great breakfast the stories of the Inn and history were very interesting. and the best views of the Mississippi River from the upstairs hot tub!!

We will definitely be back the the Mont Rest soon.

Jim and Irene

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim52052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Boston, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 17 July 2013

I have stayed at the Mont Rest several times. The inn is beautifully decorated. The rooms are comfortable, and the host and hostess are the best. Chris, Ralph, and Naomi are interesting and helpful. THe inn is located in a quaint and interesting town on the Mississippi River.

Room Tip: There is no swimming pool. Sorry about the terrible. I can't erase it. Breakfast is the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blakesburg, IA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013

We recently spent our annual Girl's Trip at Mont Rest. The B and B was beautiful Our rooms were very nice and we were given an area where we could all be together in privacy. The food was absolutely delicious. Naomi outdid herself with all 3 meals. The massages were the best we had ever had. We participated in a cooking class that was fun and lively and tailored to be interesting for my 10 year old granddaughter who joined us. Beautiful view of the Mississippi and rooftop hot tub. We were very disappointed that the dinner meal (sandwiches at a bar and grill) did not match the package description (gourmet candlelight dinner), and that other small package details were omitted. BUT overall the good outweighed our concerns and we had a very nice time. I would like to return sometime for the Titanic experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beetlebutton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pondicherry, India
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

I usually think of B&B stays as awkward. But this was really well done. The owner and staff are great fun, have tons of stories, and manage things perfectly. I recommend the mystery night, which really gets people interacting, and involves major dress up. The river is just a couple of blocks away, and has a nice string of shops and places to eat. Very refreshing couple of days. I am sure to go back!

Room Tip: All the rooms are different, so take time to read the descriptions and talk with the staff when you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrEric108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 June 2013

We had a surprise overnight stay at the Mont Rest Inn, arranged by a friend on June 8th, 2013. The accomodations are beautiful victorian with attention to every detail. The owners and staff treated us like family. We participated in the Mystery Murder Dinner and had such a good time with the other guests. On our arrival we were greeted with sinfully good moon pie cookies and that was just the beginning of the fabulous food! The rooms and the views are amazing. We are already trying to find a date to go back!!!

Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank mjans90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 May 2013

5 of us from WI traveled to the Mont Rest Inn from a Sunday to Monday. We had just a grand time, we each had a massage, our own, lovely bedroom & bath & shared in an onsite cookig class. The Inn was clean, welcoming & in most rooms could enjoy a panaramic view . The meals and service were just delightful. 2 of us even bought the cookbook that included many of the beautifully served dishes that we enjoyed.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara_H770
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bellevue
12.3 mi away
Ramada Galena Hotel and Day Spa
2.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Bellevue
11.2 mi away
Stoney Creek Inn
Stoney Creek Inn
#2 of 11 in Galena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa
0.8 mi away
Moon River Cabins
Moon River Cabins
#1 of 1 in Bellevue
4.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
10.3 mi away
Bernadine's Stillman Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mont Rest Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mont Rest Inn

Property: Mont Rest Inn
Address: 300 Spring St, Bellevue, IA 52031-1125
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Iowa > Bellevue
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Bellevue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Mont Rest Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1893, Mont Rest is nestled halfway up a 9 acre wooded bluff overlooking one of the most panoramic views of the mighty Mississippi River. This historic Inn features luxury overnight accommodations with 2 person whirlpool tubs, fireplaces, heated towel bars, guest robes, homemade chocolates, flowers, and beautiful views. Special Packages include: Murder Mystery, River Cruise, Golf and Spa, Gourmet Dining, Honeymoon, All Grown Up Ladies PJ Package, Massages, Wedding, and Corporate Retreats. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Priceline so you can book your Mont Rest Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mont Rest Hotel Bellevue

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing