We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“not such a great place” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mont Rest Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mont Rest Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Bellevue B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Des Moines, Iowa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“not such a great place”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

My wife and i stayed at Mont Rest for 2 nights on a Friday and Saturday Murder Mystery.The Mystery itself was ok the food is not what one would expect for the price of the stay. The whole B and B is out dated I can't imagine staying in the summer with no a/c there was a ceiling fan in our room that didn't work.The room was very small no water pressure for the shower and the thing that really got me was there is a cat and a dog in where the food is served. Things were not explained well at all. We were truly disappointed. Would not recommend this for a week-end getaway. Way overpriced for the services and accommodations. Naomi was great.

Room Tip: Choose rooms in the main house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ken B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mont-Rest, Owner at Mont Rest Inn, responded to this review, 9 November 2013
Thank you for giving us the opportunity of addressing the difficulties you encountered staying with us. We take any complaint very seriously, You booked in on a gift certificate that was given to you and you complained that the $28.76 room tax wasn't prepaid. That is the state law we have no control over taxes we have to collect. We tried to explain that to you at the time.

In regards to what you posted this is our response:

The “overpriced" $65 per person that someone else paid for your Murder Mystery evening didn't just include a full gourmet dinner but all of the following

An array of hot and cold canapés. Your dinner included:
 Homemade baked bread, soup or salad du jour, courses include fresh seasonal vegetables and a rice pilaf, or gnocchi, Chef's choice.



You and your wife ordered the following:

Grilled New York strip (16 oz) served with fresh sautéed mushrooms.

Rock Cornish game hen with a Cumberland glace (a red wine currant jelly glaze) stuffed with a currant and bread sage stuffing.

Your evening was topped off with an array of desserts that included homemade pies, tiramisu, cheesecakes, dessert crepes, and our famous suicide cake.

Our dessert menu varies evening to evening from our award winning chefs.


You got all that while the staff is costuming you for the evening in full head to toe costumes. You didn't tip them. That also included the Mystery Game its self.

The cost of the room price always includes a full gourmet breakfast and hand dipped chocolates in your room and turn down sevice if requested.

I am aware you requested fries and we were serving Rici e Bici that evening and I apologize for that but we are not a bar and grille kind of place. We are fine dining(I refer to our menu on our web sight) on real china, fresh flowers and soft music. We don’t have a deep fat fryer, sorry.

As for the air conditioning comment you made was unfounded and is a simple false statement. We have air-conditioning. First, the weekend you stayed with us the high temperature was 50 degrees and it got down in the thirties at night. So we didn't have the central air conditioning units (four of them) on in 50-degree weather. On hot days we prefer to quietly cool your space with quiet central air instead to cheap motel type noisy, through the wall units. Additionally, in the hot summer months we provide window booster units in the west areas of the mansion that are warmer in the afternoons. As you pointed out we have also have ceiling fans.
The ceiling fan issue. My staff came to your room twice to show you and I personally told you once not to pull the ceiling fan string above your bed but turn on the fan with the hard wired wall switch that looks like a light switch. We explained that to you three times.

The double “rain shower” type shower-heads do not blast out water, that’s why they are called what they are called. The bedroom you stayed in is 12 ft by 15 ft plus bath with a queen bed, and you are right, it is the smallest suite we have. That is why it is $100 less on average than the other rooms for the weekend. It also has a two-person whirlpool tub and a working fireplace. I looked at the reservation records and you were offered a chance to upgrade at the time you reserved when you complained about the $28.76. You opted not to incur the extra expense.
About the Mont Rest being outdated. Yes, we are outdated in furnishings, if you call one million dollars in appraised 1890s antiques outdated, we are outdated. We feel it is appropriate for the 1893 mansion and carriage house. FYI, The 11000 square foot mansion has brand new wiring and a fire sprinklers and well as emergency generators back up power failure systems, electronic security system with smoke and carbon monoxide detectors, and a central vacuum system.

We have a licensed commercial kitchen in the lower part of the mansion. The European designer kitchen on the main floor is open to 24 hours just for the guests to get free hot and cold beverages, ice, cookies, popcorn, and other snacks.
You also had a whirlpool tub, working gas fireplaces, free wifi, and 400 channel cable high def 36” flat panel TV and DVD player (access to hundreds of free DVDs, telephone, and alarm clock in your room. In our opinion, the best of old and new.
The is a 6 person hot tub on the observation deck.

Lastly, about my cat and dog, We live here and we never bring them into see the guests from our living area unless we get a request to do so. We had many repeat customers that (and every) weekend and many times they want to have fun with our friendly pets. Some guests have actually asked to take Bosely, the dog with them on walks. The cat is a hypo-allergenic breed We usually ask is anyone has any issues with animals and if someone does we keep the little, friendly porch cat and 26 pound American Eskimo confined. I truly sorry you were not consulted personally before we brought them in for the guests that wanted to see them. Bed and Breakfast Inns are generally more social than motels and are not for everyone.

I am contacting the person that paid for your stay to give them a certificate to use in the future. Sincerely Chris, the owner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    158
    21
    3
    4
    3
See reviews for
23
110
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Crown Point, Indiana
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

I took my mom to Mont Rest for a girls-only weekend. We had a great time. First, the food is phenomenal! Chris (the owner) is a fantastic chef. We stayed for the Great Gatsby Themed dinner and had a fantastic time. The staff was all very polite, attentive and sweet. They gave us costumes to wear, which just added to the fun of the event. The ten course meal was well worth the three hour road trip out to Bellevue.
We did some sight seeing in Debuque and Galena, which are just 20-30 minutes away. If you wanted to spend the day at Mont Rest relaxing and enjoying the view of the water or if you wanted to go to a museum or a few wineries, you can do all of it.
The rooms are very unique (and clean!) and the history of the Inn is charming. All in all, I am not a bed and breakfast type of person, but I would recommend this place to anyone!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KatieS91513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Otho, Iowa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

we stayed friday and saturday did the great gatsey dinner it was awesome food was awesome we will return and naomi and chris did a very good job would highy recommend monet rest to any one very clean all the help are very personable even got to meet bosley the inn dog he is very good boy and well mannered i would put this place on my list if u havent been there yet

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank farmer4423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2013 via mobile

Chris and Ralph run a great B&B in Bellevue Iowa.

We had a great room, clean and neat, wonderful whirlpool tub. Great breakfast the stories of the Inn and history were very interesting. and the best views of the Mississippi River from the upstairs hot tub!!

We will definitely be back the the Mont Rest soon.

Jim and Irene

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim52052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Boston, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013

I have stayed at the Mont Rest several times. The inn is beautifully decorated. The rooms are comfortable, and the host and hostess are the best. Chris, Ralph, and Naomi are interesting and helpful. THe inn is located in a quaint and interesting town on the Mississippi River.

Room Tip: There is no swimming pool. Sorry about the terrible. I can't erase it. Breakfast is the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blakesburg, IA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2013

We recently spent our annual Girl's Trip at Mont Rest. The B and B was beautiful Our rooms were very nice and we were given an area where we could all be together in privacy. The food was absolutely delicious. Naomi outdid herself with all 3 meals. The massages were the best we had ever had. We participated in a cooking class that was fun and lively and tailored to be interesting for my 10 year old granddaughter who joined us. Beautiful view of the Mississippi and rooftop hot tub. We were very disappointed that the dinner meal (sandwiches at a bar and grill) did not match the package description (gourmet candlelight dinner), and that other small package details were omitted. BUT overall the good outweighed our concerns and we had a very nice time. I would like to return sometime for the Titanic experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beetlebutton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pondicherry, India
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2013

I usually think of B&B stays as awkward. But this was really well done. The owner and staff are great fun, have tons of stories, and manage things perfectly. I recommend the mystery night, which really gets people interacting, and involves major dress up. The river is just a couple of blocks away, and has a nice string of shops and places to eat. Very refreshing couple of days. I am sure to go back!

Room Tip: All the rooms are different, so take time to read the descriptions and talk with the staff when you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrEric108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bellevue
12.3 mi away
Ramada Galena Hotel and Day Spa
2.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Bellevue
12.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galena IL
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Moon River Cabins
Moon River Cabins
#1 of 1 in Bellevue
4.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
10.9 mi away
Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa
10.2 mi away
Bernadine's Stillman Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mont Rest Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mont Rest Inn

Property: Mont Rest Inn
Address: 300 Spring Street, Bellevue, IA 52031
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Iowa > Bellevue
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Bellevue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Mont Rest Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1893, Mont Rest is nestled halfway up a 9 acre wooded bluff overlooking one of the most panoramic views of the mighty Mississippi River. This historic Inn features luxury overnight accommodations with 2 person whirlpool tubs, fireplaces, heated towel bars, guest robes, homemade chocolates, flowers, and beautiful views. Special Packages include: Murder Mystery, River Cruise, Golf and Spa, Gourmet Dining, Honeymoon, All Grown Up Ladies PJ Package, Massages, Wedding, and Corporate Retreats. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Mont Rest Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mont Rest Hotel Bellevue

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing