We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful memories to keep forever!”
Review of Mont Rest Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mont Rest Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Bellevue B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 June 2014

I have stayed at the Mont Rest Inn for Murder Mystery and Evening in Paris parties. We were dressed in fabulous costumes, ate fabulous food and were treated like family. We have enjoyed the Mont Rest 2 times and have brought friends with the second time. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Stay in the main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (199)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 199 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2014

My wife and I were trying to find something different to do for a romantic weekend and what we found was the Mont Rest. We travel to destinations around the world at least once a year and our experience at the Mont Rest ranked right up there with any of our international destinations. The property was clean, well maintained, and absolutley beautiful. The guest service made every guest feel like VIP. The murder mystery was an absolute blast. Laughed so hard we had tears rolling! Can't wait to get back for another great weekend!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MiTikki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Bring your bikes to ride around the cute town. Amazing views of the old Miss. Mont Rest has so much history, personal photo albums of the history of the inn available to strum through. Quiet, and just amazing to walk through the house and see all the amazing decorations. Excellent food!!! Better than most restaurants and made in house. The murder mystery a must!! Make sure to check out the hot tub on the roof with even more amazing views. Can walk to town too. Everyone in the town friendly, easy to talk to. We rode to a little tavern for an afternoon pint and ended up staying talking with the locals for 3 hours. Wonderful drive from Naperville area. Just an amazing, relaxing, fun place to be. Get Chris talking about the history of guests, personal experiences and that will be a night in its own. 6 stars and will be back!!

Room Tip: Baker room had view of the river and nice cross breeze at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Our first trip to a B&B and we were blown away by the staff, food, views. We stayed in the tower room, its not a large room but its very romantic-the bathroom is great with two shower heads and heated towel rack. You feel like you have a floor to yourself in that room. Right across from your bedroom door is the roof top deck. There is plenty of seating and the views are amazing up there! Since that room has the hot tub from 10pm-10am we spent both mornings watching the world around us wake up. The place is so clean you will not find a piece of dust or cob web! Naomi loves her job and takes care of every detail. Never been to a Murder Mystery dinner? Dont wait, this was so much fun we want to bring a group of friends back to live this experience with us! Between the food (Chris and gals are wonderful chef's) house, fun and relaxation this is a two thumbs up!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kellcare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

For our sister's weekend my four sister's along with my mom, brother and a niece enjoyed a weekend of fun, good food and great service at Mont Rest Bed & Breakfast. You are greeted after parking by Frasier the resident cat followed by one of the great staff. You walk in a beautifully restored Victorian mansion and freshly baked chocolate chip cookies. Each room has a private bath and homemade chocolates. Chris the owner is nearby to answer questions and is the chef who will amaze you with each meal. We enjoyed the hot tub on the roof top Friday evening, a tour and history after breakfast, downtown shopping and beautiful site-seeing and the most fun filled dinner with a murder mystery. Bellevue has a beautiful gem in this Bed & Breakfast. Thank you Chris, Naomi and staff for the most memorable weekend!

Room Tip: Each room is a great room! Beds are comfortable. Bellevue room and tower room have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Mont Rest Inn sits high on a hill in the quiet and friendly town of Bellevue, Iowa.This home and the many furnishings and period pieces in this home are magnificent. The Inn transports you back in time to the year 1896, but it also takes you to the present with its large whirl pool tubs, cable TV, guest robes, heated towel racks and a Jacuzzi on the outside upper deck. The friendly staff and owner of this bed and breakfast give their guests the full reign of this beautiful Victorian Mansion. In addition, each night you are treated to two of the best homemade chocolates that as a chocolate lover I have ever experienced and at 9 o'clock the next morning to a fabulous breakfast. (Thanks Naomi, both mornings your breakfast was absolutely phenomenal!!) We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Mont Rest Inn and intend to return.
Pat and AL

Room Tip: We stayed in the Bellevue Room. This room has three over-sized windows that offer a view of the vil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patricia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Watched sun rise over Mississippi River Saturday morning. Saw some Eagles. We had breakfast at the Mont Rest B&B. Excellent. Will be there again later this year. Bellevue Iowa has Lock & Dam 12 plus antique shops and local social establishments.

Room Tip: Any room that's available as this is a popular place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steven W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bellevue
11.2 mi away
Stoney Creek Inn
Stoney Creek Inn
#1 of 11 in Galena
881 reviews
12.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galena IL
12.3 mi away
Ramada Galena Hotel and Day Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa
4.3 mi away
Chestnut Mountain Resort
10.9 mi away
Jail Hill Inn
Jail Hill Inn
#1 of 32 in Galena
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mont Rest Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mont Rest Inn

Address: 300 Spring St, Bellevue, IA 52031-1125
Region: United States > Iowa > Bellevue
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Bellevue
Price Range: £119 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mont Rest Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1893, Mont Rest is nestled halfway up a 9 acre wooded bluff overlooking one of the most panoramic views of the mighty Mississippi River. This historic Inn features luxury overnight accommodations with 2 person whirlpool tubs, fireplaces, heated towel bars, guest robes, homemade chocolates, flowers, and beautiful views. Special Packages include: Murder Mystery, River Cruise, Golf and Spa, Gourmet Dining, Honeymoon, All Grown Up Ladies PJ Package, Massages, Wedding, and Corporate Retreats. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your Mont Rest Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mont Rest Hotel Bellevue

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing