We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most Amazing place for a Honeymoon”
Review of Mont Rest Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mont Rest Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Bellevue B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 May 2009

We went to Mont Rest for our Honeymoon this year. It was fantastic, the food is delicious and huge portions! The staff is friendly, energetic and extremely helpful. (The manager called home and had them send over aloe for our sun burns!) The Owner Chris is an open person and a joy to talk to. We had a blast at the Murder Mystery, relaxed on the River Crusie, and spent our mornings with Fraiser their cat watching television in the Sun Room.
You are treated with care and consideration and dietary needs are no problem. Well Worth the money! And it is really cool the owner writes all of her own murder mysteries!
And the staff is very knowledgeable of the area and how to get the most for your money.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loveshandan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (194)
There are newer reviews for Mont Rest Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

182 - 188 of 194 reviews

Reviewed 2 March 2009

We went on a girlfriends weekend getaway and had such a great time! Chris and her staff are so wonderful, you are made to feel so comfortable, as if you are right in your own home! The Inn is breathtaking in traditional Victorian flare and it was well worth the little out of the way trip. The food was awesome we couldn't have stayed hungry for a minute! Most of all the Murder Mystery was so fun we laughed until we cried! If you are up for some fun with some great people I would reccommend this little adventure as A+++++!!!!!!

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happytrippererie_IL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2009

I recently spent a two-night getaway at Mont Rest. It was everything I had hoped for-- and more. Being particularly fond of Victorian antiques, I found the entire house a treat to experience. My room was wonderful and I particularly enjoyed curling up there with a book and a fire in my own fireplace. My private jacuzzi was another joy, especially after a day of shopping and antiquing in nearby Galena, IL. The innkeeper and staff were delightful, and it was apparent that they were interested in making my stay comforatable and memorable. The breakfast in the dining room was delicious and expansive. The bald eagles in the trees next to the inn were thrilling to see and hear. I can't wait to go back again!

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FarmladyJoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2009

Was our third time here and there just great, the staff makes you fill welcome and takes care of every need. The breakfast is the best. The owner Chris is just a sweetheart. She gave us a great rate when we came this last time in Feb. 2009 for my Moms sister had died. please stay here you will love it.

Andy

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andyinflag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2008

My wife and I were looking for a weekend getaway after Thanksgiving. I contacted the B&B directly and was able to speak to the owner directly. She was extremely nice and offered to upgrade our room at not charge, when I told her we have recently married. We declined the offer because we saw the room that we wanted to stay in. From the moment we arrived we were treated as family members. Our room was really nice, we were very happy with the fact that the rooms look exactly as shown in their website.

The manager and the staff were really nice as well and everyone was very attentive to our needs. You can wonder around the house like you were in your own. They had all sort of cakes and snacks in the kitchen for everyone's enjoyment. The breakfast were delicious!! and generous portions were given as well.

Everyone was extremely helpful with directions and recommendations where to eat. We did not participate, but they have a "Murder Mistery" activity that everyone seemed to enjoy.

We loved everything. Do not have any second thoughts about staying there, you won't regret it!!!!

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Juan Carlos L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2008

Eight girlfriends planned an October getaway in July. We selected Mont Rest because of it's proximity to Galena and we thought a murder mystery dinner would at the very least be a unique experience. Naomi and Chris were wonderful in helping us plan our two night stay. They helped us create our own custom package. We arrived Sunday night and were showed to our rooms. Most of us claimed to have the best room-- but mine was the best! Bridget's French Roses Room is elegant and has a lovely four poster bed.

We had a private wine tasting party with appetizers at a quaint art gallery in Bellevue. Trent our host was not only accomodating but also entertaining and helped get our stay off to a fun start.

Monday morning we got up to a delicious breakfast in their lovely dining room. We then took an hour boat ride to Galena. Captain Bernie shared the history of the river and skillfully guided his boat through some tight passages. Trent once again made sure that we were taken care of.

Monday night was the murder mystery dinner. It far exceeded my expectations. Naomi is a pro and she helped assign the roles to the sixteen guests and then selected costumes for each of us. We were treated to a night filled with lots of laughs and drama. Once again we had delicious food and the chocolate suicide cake was to die for.

Chris, the owner and her husband joined us after the murder mystery and she is dynamic and is a great story teller. We had many questions about their experiences and the history of the inn and they were great company.

I've stayed at more than a dozen bed and breakfast inns and I would rate Mont Rest as my favorite for several reasons including:

Chris and her staff clearly understand service. They seem to enjoy what they do and although the inn is incredibly beautiful with awesome antiques they make their guests feel very comfortable and it is not at all pretentious nor stuffy.

The food is delicious and plentiful!

Mont Rest is beautifully decorated and has spectacular views of the Mississippi.

The Murder Mystery is an experience we'll all remember.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seek1st2understand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2008

We went to Mont Rest to celebrate our friends' 31st anniversary and booked the murder mystery package. On that particular evening, 14 people were participating, and everyone had a wonderful time. The food was excellent! The castle was beautiful! We were made to think that the castle was our home for our time there. We loved the double nozzle showers, and enjoyed looking at the decor in several of the other bedrooms, besides our own. Breakfast was amazing! There is nothing that I could suggest for the hostess to improve on because everything was perfect. We had such a good time that we are planning on making this an annual event and celebrate our anniversaries there each year. We have already talked some other friends into coming with us. We'll most likely try some of the other packages also.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ruthyvino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bellevue
10.0 mi away
Best Western Designer Inn & Suites
12.3 mi away
Ramada Galena Hotel and Day Spa
12.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galena IL
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
Stoney Creek Inn
Stoney Creek Inn
#2 of 11 in Galena
868 reviews
4.3 mi away
Chestnut Mountain Resort
10.9 mi away
Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mont Rest Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mont Rest Inn

Address: 300 Spring St, Bellevue, IA 52031-1125
Region: United States > Iowa > Bellevue
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Bellevue
Price Range: £127 - £179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mont Rest Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1893, Mont Rest is nestled halfway up a 9 acre wooded bluff overlooking one of the most panoramic views of the mighty Mississippi River. This historic Inn features luxury overnight accommodations with 2 person whirlpool tubs, fireplaces, heated towel bars, guest robes, homemade chocolates, flowers, and beautiful views. Special Packages include: Murder Mystery, River Cruise, Golf and Spa, Gourmet Dining, Honeymoon, All Grown Up Ladies PJ Package, Massages, Wedding, and Corporate Retreats. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Mont Rest Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mont Rest Hotel Bellevue

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing