We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing...” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Moon River Cabins

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Moon River Cabins
Here
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Disappointing...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2012

We reserved cabin #3 because of the fact that it had a jacuzzi. However, the jacuzzi didn't work. There was someone else's rotten, stinky food in the fridge, and we didn't use the coffee maker as it had a rotten coffee filter and grounds in it. The cabin was decorated well, and if it had been clean and things worked it would have been OK. We did tell the staff at Mont Rest about the problems the next morning and they informed us they had already charged us for the stay in advance, but did offer us a box of chocolates for the trouble (which we declined - we were going to be driving all day in 90+ degree temps). Their response to the jacuzzi not working? The gal said we should have called (I reminded her it was 10:30 at night when we discovered the trouble). I did tell her we tried to find the fuse box, and she immediately said that was likely the problem (and the fuse box is hidden beneath a wall hanging in the kitchen area). I am concerned about a cabin that has appliances that trip fuses, and my husband noted that the cord beneath the air conditioning unit was melted from heat. On a positive note, the owners and staff were friendly. Overall, we were disappointed because our one-night stay wasn't what we expected.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank sadinia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    5
    3
    5
    3
See reviews for
4
26
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Elmhurst, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

We have been two nights in cabin 1,2 & 3 at different times. They overlook Mississippi River just below Lock & Dam #12. All are cute and cozy with the best feature being the view. Or is it being able to view stars on clear nights. A short scenic walk to restaurants, bars, coffee shop and park in historic river town that was a port of call for steam boats. Twisty roads for motor-cycles. A good place to relax and take in nature.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, IL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2011

We stayed here in cabin 1 for 2 night in Sep 2011. The cabin was in need of a lot of maintenance: toliet slowly drained and refilled constantly keeping us a wake, screens missing or in bad need of repair. The pots and pans should have been thrown out ages ago and the can opener was useless. Inside and outside was dirty with many cob/spider webs. Dish towel and rag was very thin and extremely stained. Inside of frig needed cleaning and top of stove, oven was clean. I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kathy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2010

My then boyfriend and I passed the cabins while motorcyling to a camping spot nearby; and as it had become to dark to set up our tent we went back. While checking to see if a cabin was available, we met the owner Christina, who is absolutely the most generous soul and we stayed there for the night. It was the most romantic place I have ever been. The sun setting on the Mississippi River was breathtaking. The cablin was cozy, clean and smell fresh. The shower was inviting and the bath robes were luxurious. At night sitting on the quaint porch facing the river, the stars were so clear and close It felt like we could touch them. As I write this review it makes me want be there. The townspeople were awesome and I didn't want to leave. I hope to go back there soon.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mssphllips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sugar Grove, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2010

We stayed here with 2 young children on a last minute trip. The cabins were very cute and cozy with great outdoor seating areas and patios. It was great to be able to bring food and cook in the cabins. The only downside was that the cabins were right on the main rd that goes through the town. It was very noisy at night. The train also went right through town which we found relaxing but it would be a but noisy for most people. Overall nice but if you took the property the cabins were on and put them in a more wooded area or set back from the road it would have been perfect. The staff was very nice and acomodating as well.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bigAlittleB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sun Prairie, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2010

Never met the staff - except a cleaning person who gave me the key since no one else was around. The door was locked at 9:30 Sunday morning when we went to check out (left the key on the porch in a pot). The "outside fire" is a spot in the grass someone cleared and put some wood. The inside was actually nice - I can say that. The view was of a tin roof and motor homes. Not much in the town at all. Not sure if the recession killed it or just small town USA. People in the town were very friendly. We spent the day shopping in Galena and a movie in Dubuque - there really was nothing else to do. Galena is about 40 minutes away and Dubuque is 20 minutes away.
The country side in the part of Iowa is beautiful!!!

We "won" this through a local newspaper auction and I planned it for our 12th wedding anniversary.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Abrickl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pewaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2010

We were looking for a last minute getaway on the Mississippi River. Lucked out finding these cabins. They were comfortable, very clean and cozy. The beds were great and the views were wonderful. You can lay in bed and watch the river! We were able to bring our boxer with us which was a treat. The only down side would be the street construction if your going during the week but it wasn't an issue for us since we were there on a holiday weekend. I'm sure once they are done it will be ideal. The coffee shop in town had amazing coffee too. I told them my normal drink at Starbucks and the made a tastier version! We will be going back!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank danetteranee7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bellevue
13.0 mi away
Ramada Galena Hotel and Day Spa
12.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galena IL
2.8 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Bellevue
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Galena Log Cabin Getaway
11.4 mi away
Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa
14.5 mi away
Hawk Valley Retreat & Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moon River Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moon River Cabins

Property: Moon River Cabins
Address: 905 S Riverview St, Bellevue, IA 52031-1341
Region: United States > Iowa > Bellevue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Bellevue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Moon River Cabins 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated rustic cabins located on the Great River Road HWY 52. Each of the cabins comfortably accommodates 3 - 4 people. All of the cabins come complete with a queen bed, fireplace, private bathroom, Cable TV, VCR, complimentary movie rentals, air, full service kitchenettes, direct river docking access, linens, towels, robes, and bathroom amenities are also included. Well-behaved pets are welcome. Open year 'round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Moon River Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing