We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tiny, dirty, and nasty water.”
Review of Moon River Cabins

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Moon River Cabins
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Stayed here when everything else was booked in the area. Won't be back. For the price I paid, the kitchen could have at least been spot cleaned. Don't drink the water! For whatever reason the water has an odd smell to it. I've been to the homes of family in other parts of town and the water is not like that at all. We didn't even brush our teeth with it.

Room Tip: There are other options in the area. Book ahead!
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank benoodles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (37)
There are newer reviews for Moon River Cabins
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 37 reviews

Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

The view from our cabin/porch was great right on the river. The cabin was tiny but cozy and well appointed. The heater in the cabin was annoying and between that and the trains across the street we didn't get much sleep. Probably better in summer. Not much to do in town but some cool state parks nearby

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank The33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

The cabin was such a great retreat! Located on the embankment of the Mississippi River on the edge of town. Upon arrival I first noticed a great fire pit area overlooking the river, individual porches and off in the distance was train tracks with a hillside backdrop.

Close by there is local dining, a river walk and the Bellevue state park! The wildlife was amazing, bald eagles were out rummaging for food!

entering the cabin there was a nice welcome information book with phone numbers and all information needed for my stay! The Cabin was clean and comfortable with a full kitchen area!
The bed was very comfortable and a great bathroom! Perfectly priced too!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Went to Bellevue overnight to check out eagles that gather there below the lock and dam in the winter. We were on our way to Galena. Bellevue has a nice riverwalk along the mississippi that was bladed of snow and a great place to walk the dog. Moon river cabins were as advertised, cozy, warm and cute. Stay was in February with a lot of snow and cold. It would be more fun in the summer with the small restraurant/bar on the property open. Had a wonderful breakfast at the restaurant on main street. Our stay was fine but would have to say it's a little too pricey for what is offered.

Room Tip: Appears that they all would be fine.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank William M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

My husband and I have stayed at the cabins eight times in the past 10 years. We would never stay anywhere else in that region. They are perfect for a romantic weekend and private. However they are convenient to local dining, shopping and attractions. The hospitality is superb and the staff are amazing. You overlook the Mississippi while you are sitting on the back porch of the cabin. You could sit there for hours watching the barges, boats and birds. It is a specatcular view.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2013

Some friends and I rented Cabin #4 for a night, very spacious! We had a great time in Bellevue and enjoyed the history of this small town. The owner was very inviting on the phone and in person. We noticed there is a small restaurant/bar beside the cabins, we came in february so it wasnt open. Loved being next to the Mississippi River, the view was awesome. The owner also owns Mont Rest Inn, a beautiful bed & breakfast (also in Bellevue). I would love to come back!

Room Tip: Cabin #4 is the largest; 2 queen size beds, a sofa and daybed.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sheena h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2013

We went to see the Eagles, The Moon River Cabins saved our weekend. and we got some great pictures. and the Cabins are very nice and clean. Bed was so comfee. The owner even brought us some coffey to make the next morning.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lorrie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bellevue
10.7 mi away
Best Western Designer Inn & Suites
13.0 mi away
Ramada Galena Hotel and Day Spa
11.8 mi away
Stoney Creek Inn
Stoney Creek Inn
#2 of 11 in Galena
865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Bellevue
12.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galena IL
4.8 mi away
Chestnut Mountain Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moon River Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moon River Cabins

Address: 905 S Riverview Dr, Bellevue, IA 52031-1341
Region: United States > Iowa > Bellevue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Bellevue
Price Range: £123 - £166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Moon River Cabins 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated rustic cabins located on the Great River Road HWY 52. We offer 4 types of cabins sleeping from 2 to 6 people. All of the cabins come complete with a queen bed, fireplace, private bathroom, Cable TV, air, full service kitchenettes, linens, towels, robes, and bathroom amenities are also included. Well-behaved pets are welcome. Open year 'round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Agoda so you can book your Moon River Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing