We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Horrible” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of American Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
American Inn
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Boone
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Horrible”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2013

If you love dirty beds and lots of ants. Please stay here. We were moved rooms only to find the ants also moved. We tried to cancel our room after being there for 1 hour an would not refund. Pool is broke. Horrible experience. Do not stay

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Frank2130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    3
    2
    3
    7
See reviews for
6
3
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
82 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2013

I came into Boone for business and had the hotel booked for me. Looking online, I didn't have high expectations for the place. The place was moderately better than expected as a basic hotel room. All I used was the bed to sleep but it served my needs. On arrival, the staff was friendly and my room was fine. I just read another review that remarked that it was not family oriented and I would also agree that it didn't seem to be able to cater to families.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sarah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Oak, Iowa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2011

We reserved two rooms during Thomas the Train weekend. We were very stunned and so disappointed in the lack of...the pool was very cold that it could not be enjoyable for swimming (which the grandchildren looked forward to), the code given to us for the pool room would not work for us nor the staff and took some work to get into, the continential breakfast was the poorest I have had in all my traveling. Nothing healthy but two very sugary cerals, some white bread for toast, and small pastry rolls (which an adult would need several to get filled up on, but not for a diabetic!). Something such as fruit, oatmeal, or even a waffle/pancake would have been nice. When attempting to get on the computer to find directions for the state park, the desk staff was not helpful. She said it was slow, but after 7-10 minutes, it was obvious it was not up or running. The room was given a new paint job, with paint left on the ironing board (so did not use it), calk spread around the sink was not cleaned up on the sink fixtures, and towels for only one person instead of two. The pillows were so flad and you knew they had never been "fluffed up", the entire time of useage. Save your hard earned money, and if need be, drive to Ames~~~~

Room Tip: Read the reviews and if there are 2 out 3 that are negative, pass this place up in a hurry!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank lindy p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Boone hotels

Iowa
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2010

We had a anniversary weekend planned for our grandparents in Boone and the only hotel that was available was the Econo Lodge. The pictures on line weren't the best, but this was the only hotel available in town as it was family weekend at ISU. Rooms were large enough for all of us. There was a meeting room by the pool that was great for all of us to hang out in and still watch the kids play. Breakfast was pretty light, but the service was good. Good price and it worked great for our weekend!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank knott02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boone
0.9 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Boone
10.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Ames
12.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS University Park Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Near ISU Campus
12.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Ames Conference Center At Isu
15.5 mi away
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to American Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about American Inn

Property: American Inn
Address: 1215 S Story St, Boone, IA 50036-5020 (Formerly Econo Lodge)
Region: United States > Iowa > Boone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Boone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — American Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your American Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing