We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“DONT DO IT” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Howard Johnson Burlington

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Howard Johnson Burlington
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Burlington
Big Lake, Minnesota
Level Contributor
139 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“DONT DO IT”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

Terrible place, had two crew members try to stay here. Not worth losing the sleep over they need to remodel it and get rid of the neasty smoking/molding smell in the rooms and office. Parking lot was a mess and the carpet was torn up.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank skidoo44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen S, Manager at Howard Johnson Burlington, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Thank you for taking time to write a review. I am sorry to hear that your crew did not enjoy their time with us. We strive to provide all of our guests with a clean, safe place to stay. All of our rooms are non- smoking and although the policy is stated and strict we do have some guests that violate that policy. However, when that happens we take every measure to ensure it does not continue and we clean the rooms appropriately. I apologize that you may have felt we did not address it. I would like to speak with you regarding this more in detail and would love to have you try our hotel again. Thank you once again for your feedback and I hope to hear from you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

560 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    127
    80
    84
    118
    151
See reviews for
253
77
25
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

The rooms we were given a wild dog should not have been place in. There was a pair of jeans hanging in the so called cleaned room and DEAD bugs on the floor. The rooms we were given were not what we were supposed to have. The manager did give us suitable rooms but offered NO discount for inconvience. Will NOT be staying with HOJo any time soon. Very displeased.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank Sandra F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen S, Manager at Howard Johnson Burlington, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your stay with us. I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy yourself during your stay. Our housekeeping staff usually does a great job of keeping our guests rooms clean for everyone to enjoy. I am sorry that we failed and did not meet your expectations. We do have our pest control company service the rooms monthly and have no report of issues. At the time of your concerns we upgraded you complimentary. I have contacted you directly with more information as well.

Thank you again for your comments and I do hope that you will reconsider staying with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Charles
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

very noisy, kids were running wild and screaming. the room needed some work, the curtain rod was rusty, the beds were too soft, the bathroom was a joke, the water ran about as fast as a snail. The pool area was nice.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen S, Manager at Howard Johnson Burlington, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Thank you for review! Unfortunately with our atrium open and all the activities for kids and families it is hard to control the noise of our guests. We do our best to monitor it and take care of any issues that arise when we get complaints. We take pride in providing our guests with an overall great guest experience and I am sorry we did not meet your expectations. I do appreciate your feedback and I hope that in the future you will consider staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

I travel a lot and I have stay in all price ranges. I know it was only $62 a night but come on. The carpet was so dirty that just walking from bathroom to front door made them black. I normally don't go into the pools or hot tub but the group wanted to. There were hair clumps in the hot tub as well as an awful smell. The temp in the pool really had to be super low because I has goose bumps the entire time. And the noise from the kids playing and all night and early morning was not comforting at all. I rate this place a 1 star... If that!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Myopinionmatter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen S, Manager at Howard Johnson Burlington, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Thank you for your review! I am sorry to hear about your negative experience when staying with us. We try very hard to provide outstanding service and strive on hotel cleanliness. I am sad to hear that we did not meet your expectations. I have shared your comments with our housekeeping and maintenance staff in hopes another guest will not be inconvenienced.

Thank you again for your comments. I hope that you will consider staying with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burlington
0.2 mi away
Catfish Bend Inn & Spa
Catfish Bend Inn & Spa
#1 of 11 in Burlington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
2.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Burlington
Comfort Suites Burlington
#2 of 11 in Burlington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Burlington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#5 of 11 in Burlington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Burlington
23.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Mt. Pleasant Inn
BEST WESTERN Mt. Pleasant Inn
#1 of 5 in Mount Pleasant
4.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Burlington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Burlington

Property: Howard Johnson Burlington
Address: 2759 Mt. Pleasant St, Burlington, IA 52601
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Iowa > Burlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Burlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Burlington 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on 61 North and Mt. Pleasant St (Rte 34), the Howard Johnson Burlington is next door to the Catfish Bend Casino and Burlington Bees Stadium and close to Fun City Family Water Park. In addition to our friendly staff and top notch service, you will find 2 indoor heated swimming pools, a hot tub/whirlpool, 4 large banquet halls for weddings, meetings and parties. Our Poolside weddings are unique. We provide full catering services. We have a Tiki bar and Lounge. All our guest rooms have flat screen 32 inch LCD TVs with Free HBO, Microwaves and Refrigerators. We offer Complimentary Breakfast, Free High Speed Wireless Internet Access. Our Bridal and Honeymoon suite is a beautiful addition with Jacuzzi and a 40 inch LCD HDTV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Howard Johnson Burlington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Burlington Hotel Burlington
Howard Johnson Burlington Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing