We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Howard Johnson Burlington
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Burlington
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Stayed here for a wedding went into room found old qtip and pills on floor between beds mold on side of door and was choking on the chlorine from the pool all night bathroom was dirty had to kill two bugs two lights didnt work and both beds caved into middle the freezer in the fridge was completly frosted over all i can say is yuck never again i have pictures

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank taximom1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen S, Manager at Howard Johnson Burlington, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear about the issues you had with the cleanliness of the room. Our Housekeeping department takes pride in providing clean rooms for our guests to stay in. I am sad to hear that we did not meet your expectations. i hope that in the future you will give us another chance.

Thank you again for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (647)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

388 - 394 of 647 reviews

Reviewed 29 October 2013

Great area, clean rooms, and friendly front desk staff. We were happy with the room, and the bed and pillows were very comfortable. Reasonable pricing with all the amenities that you need. Reception was friendly and professional. We will come again. Thanks.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zara A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen S, Manager at Howard Johnson Burlington, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

Thank you for your review on your recent stay with us. I am glad to know you enjoyed yourselves and our staff exceeded your expectations while here. I have shared your comments with our team. We appreciate your visit and hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Recently traveled to Burlington for a soccer tournament. The team booked a block of rooms here, so we kind of felt obligated to stay here. I had read the reviews prior to staying here and was very nervous, but I figured it was one night and it wouldn't be that bad. Well, I was wrong about that.

The exterior of the hotel/motel is very dated. There are rooms facing the exterior (like a motel) and there are rooms facing the interior (like a hotel). The interior reminds me of the old-style Holidomes that had the pool in the middle and the rooms surrounding. The pool is fairly large and includes a separate hot tub (however there is a sign stating no children allowed). There is a little putting green area and a tiki bar for the parents. With all the noise being generated in the pool area, I can only imagine how loud it was in the rooms facing the pool.

Luckily (or so we thought), our room was not directly facing the pool area. Upon entering the room, we immediately noticed the smell of smoke (despite it being a non-smoking room) and the tiny little spiders crawling on the beds. In addition, the HVAC vent looked like it had mold growing out of it, and the carpeting looked like it hadn't been cleaned in a very long time (this observation was confirmed later on by how dirty the girls' socks were). The whole room just was "dirty" and in need of a major overhaul.

As for the front desk and housekeeping people we talked with, all were nice and friendly. I can only imagine the amount of complaints they get on a daily basis.....

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LathamFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen S, Manager at Howard Johnson Burlington, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2013

Thank you for posting a review. I am sorry to hear about your dissatisfaction with our hotel and your most recent stay with us. Our staff takes pride in providing our guests a great place to stay. I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations while you were here. We do have a pest control service that checks our rooms on a regular basis so I am surprised to hear of the spiders on your bed. I would like to discuss your stay in more detail. Please feel free to contact me directly at 319-237-1397.
Again, thank you for your review and I look forward to speaking with you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We traveled again with whole family in the end of August 2013. very reasonable pricing with all amenities. perfect for family specially with kids. Very kind and supportive staff. Always ready to give you the best service. Truly recommended.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
Thank Faisal N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen S, Manager at Howard Johnson Burlington, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay once again with us. As you know we take pride in helping our guests enjoy their time away from home and I am happy to hear we succeeded with you. I have shared your comments with the rest of our staff.

Once again we appreciate your feedback and you as a guest. Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013 via mobile

Not bad, but you can probably priceline a room at a better hotel for less money. Interesting setup, good for groups, but needs updating. Several in our group mentioned a smoke smell in their rooms, and several others mentioned spiders in theirs.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
Thank sdlivengood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen S, Manager at Howard Johnson Burlington, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

Thank you for your review. I am sad to hear about the dissatisfaction your group had while staying with us. We strive to offer the best service and accommodations to our guests and I am sorry we failed this time. Our rates are based upon availability and events happening in town so they change often. I would like to hear more about your group and their group and their room accommodations. Please feel free to contact me directly at 319-237-1397 to discuss this.

Once again thank you for taking the time to post a review and I look forward to speaking with you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

The price is just right. If you want an ultra-comfy room to get a good nights sleep in, this IS the hotel for you!! If we could give this hotel 10 stars, we definitely would. We stayed indoors upstairs in a 2 queen-bedroom. The water pressure was superb! Every room comes with a microwave & a tall refrigerator. The bed was so comfy w/the perfect coverlet. The air conditioner was high up on one wall, making it so convenient by not blowing the drapes open. Outside our room was a cute patio set along the balcony. The pool area was HUGE and all enclosed!! Toddlers had their very own shallow pool. Everything was A++++. The complimentary breakfast was well worth our stay offering a large array of foods, fruit, pastries, etc. Choosing an inside room is a safer choice, because the electronic doors to the outside automatically shut.

Room Tip: any room that is inside is your best bet because each has its own patio set, is enclosed, and secure...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Otto M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen S, Manager at Howard Johnson Burlington, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. I am excited to hear that you enjoyed your last stay with us and that we exceed your expectations. I have passed on your nice comments to our staff. We appreciate your feedback and hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Baymont Inn & Suites
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Burlington hotels
1.5 mi away
AmericInn West Burlington
AmericInn West Burlington
#2 of 11 in Burlington
15 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#7 of 11 in Burlington
49 reviews
0.1 mi away
Catfish Bend Inn & Spa
Catfish Bend Inn & Spa
#3 of 11 in Burlington
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Burlington
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Burlington
2.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Burlington
Comfort Suites Burlington
#1 of 11 in Burlington
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Burlington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Burlington

Address: 2759 Mount Pleasant St, Burlington, IA 52601-2137
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Iowa > Burlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Burlington
Price Range: £39 - £47 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Burlington 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on 61 North and Mt. Pleasant St (Rte 34), the Howard Johnson Burlington is next door to the Catfish Bend Casino and Burlington Bees Stadium and close to Fun City Family Water Park. In addition to our friendly staff and top notch service, you will find 2 indoor heated swimming pools, a hot tub/whirlpool, 4 large banquet halls for weddings, meetings and parties. Our Poolside weddings are unique. We provide full catering services. We have a Tiki bar and Lounge. All our guest rooms have flat screen 32 inch LCD TVs with Free HBO, Microwaves and Refrigerators. We offer Complimentary Breakfast, Free High Speed Wireless Internet Access. Our Bridal and Honeymoon suite is a beautiful addition with Jacuzzi and a 40 inch LCD HDTV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Burlington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Burlington Hotel Burlington
Howard Johnson Burlington Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing