We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smelly City not Fun City”
Review of Pzazz Resort Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Burlington
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pzazz Resort Hotel
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Burlington
Iowa City, Iowa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Smelly City not Fun City”
Reviewed 22 January 2012

My husband and I take our kids to a different hotel waterpark every year during the winter season to get rid of some pint up energy.
Hotel- We were shocked by the overpowering smell of chlorine old musty mold smell when we first walked into our hotel room and was tempted to walk right back out but figured we would get used to the smell and didn't want to disappoint the kids. We purchased the Ultimate Getaway Package for 2 days and it was the longest 2 days of my life...the SMELL!!!! You can't relax with the smell, sleep with the smell, and wake up in the morning to that smell. I spend an extra $20 for the top floor with pool view and I understand there is going to be some smells from the chlorine but this was just too much. My daughter has ashma and allergies to mold and dust mites and this hotel room was a living nightmare that was supposed to be fun. I spent a whole day washing this horrible scent out of our clothes, coats, hats, mittens, and all of us had to take a shower just to get the smell out of our hair. The waterpark is very old and the whole thing just needs to be gutted. I suggest getting rid of the balconies. You can't use them to enter the waterpark so all they are doing is smelling up all of the rooms and causing poor air quality.
Waterpark- I recommend never staying here for the waterpark, Kalona or Davenport is much better. Also, the waterpark was too cold!!! Everyone was wearing sweatshirts, even the lifeguards. Never had this problem with any of the other waterparks we have visited in the winter months.
Food-We received free buffet vouchers for the kids but it was gross and a waste of money since my husband and I still had to pay. Juice was in a little container and frozen so you couldn't drink it and I guess what was supposed to be french toast was hard as a rock and there was no syrup provided. All the food was cold!!! Didn't use our vouchers for the next day and went to McDonalds, paid the same amount, and food was much better which says a lot.
Arcade, Bowling, Lasertag, Go Carts- 5 stars!! Wish the hotel and waterpark were as nice as this part of fun city. Everything was clean and well kept, didn't notice any disgusting smells, and great staff. I'm only giving this review an extra star for this part because we were there for the hotel/waterpark experience.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ribbit80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PzazzEntertainment, Guest Relations Manager at Pzazz Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 3 March 2012
Dear Guest,

I'm very sorry you were dissatisfied with your experience in our establishment.

I'm concerned with the moldy smell you describe. Our entire hotel has been renovated top to bottom and we have not had any issues such as these. I want to thank you for provided this feedback so we may investigate and be sure we are doing our very best at keeping everything in top shape.

Regarding your buffet experience, rest assure we have been trying our best to be sure the food is fresh and hot for our guests. I'm very sorry you did not experience a pleasant breakfast.

Thank you for your feedback. We strive to make your trip to our facility a pleasant and memorable one. Your feedback helps us to correct our mistakes and make it right.

If you have any additional comments or concerns, please contact us!

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    48
    77
    45
    48
See reviews for
181
24
7
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Davenport, Iowa
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2012

We went here for a weekend get-a-way with our daughter and her friend. The pool was nice. We were there in the winter time, so unfortunately, we weren't able to use the outdoor waterrslides which look really inviting! They have a nice indoor water park as well, but a lot is geared towards younger children. The game area for kids is amazing. They have every game you could think of. We didn't bowl, but the go-carts were a lot of fun. The restaurants were okay. We mostly left the hotel and ate at Dairy Queen, Taco Bell, and the other fast food restaurants. After the kids went to sleep, we went to the casino (which is attached to the hotel. Lost about 20 dollars but it was fun. Very clean hotel. Rooms are updated and modern. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shelleystarr2753
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central IL
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2012

While staying at Fun City is super fun for the kids, I needed a good nights rest. This is not the hotel to find restful sleep. The hallway was constantly noisy all night long. I am convinced that some parents book a room for the adults in their group and a separate room for the kids (teens) and then off they go. Loud and no supervision. IF you are looking for a quiet, restful place to spend the night you might want to try the other side of the property - the Catfish Bend Inn and Spa. A little more quiet over there.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coldfeet52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oshkosh, wis
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2011

looks like a duck, walks like a duck, must be a duck. You can paint your rooms in a trendy color
but if you don't replace worn mattresses, sheets and old fixtures and get rid of whatever smells
linger in there, it doesn't warrant a repeat stay. The walls are paper-thin, you hear every single door slam all night long. Hallways are dingy and need updating. Did not feel safe and secure
here. Beds are worn and lumpy, sheets had holes worn through. Would not stay here again,
and definitely would avoid it at all costs. Too bad, with a name like "Pzazz" it should be so much more. Way over priced! There are other nice hotels nearby..stay there.

Room Tip: keep driving...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank yakywally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PzazzEntertainment, Guest Relations Manager at Pzazz Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 11 December 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback! We appreciate your comments concerning our establishment.

We are deeply sorry the room accommodations were not up to your expectations. We try our very best to keep everything up to date and provide the most comfortable rooms to all of our guests.

We also want to apologize for the disruptions you have experienced in the hotel. Nobody should have to deal with noisy neighbors.

We would like to discuss this with you in more detail. If there are issues with linens, mattresses, fixtures and unpleasant odors we would really like to correct these things. If the front desk hasn't been notified we may not be able to pinpoint where these problems originated.

Again, we appreciate your feedback and we will resolve these matters accordingly.



Sincerely,

Justin Swigart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edwardsville, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2011

We stayed here one night with our son when we were in town for a soccer tournament. The hotel and decor were from the 80's in both style and condition, and that was really disappointing. Cleanliness was borderline okay, and I think this was partially due to the age of the rooms and furnishings. Our son had a good time with his friends in Fun City and the indoor water area. But it was obvious even to him that the staff was not happy with their jobs. The hallways were quite loud with kids until about 10pm, but after that, there were no disturbances. Our stay was not bad enough to complain, but we will definitely not return.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CurlyCurlyGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PzazzEntertainment, Guest Relations Manager at Pzazz Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 22 November 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at the Pzazz! We very much enjoy having the soccer tournament teams in our establishment every year.

However, regarding your dissatisfaction, we profusely apologize.

We have recently renovated all of our rooms at the Pzazz Hotel and I am terribly sorry they were not to your liking. It is true the Pzazz building has been around for a very long time, but we implement routine maintenance to keep the building running efficiently and effectively.

In response to your experience with unhappy staff members; we cannot apologize enough. Hearing about issues with our staff is something we take very seriously and poor customer service is absolutely unacceptable. We have very thorough training sessions, that all staff members must participate in, regarding customer service. We consider our customer service to be one of our top qualities, and we will be sure to address this issue.

Please don't hesitate to call me if you would like to discuss this matter further at 866-792-9948.

Sincerely,

Justin Swigart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davenport, Iowa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2011

Fun City should be callled Dirty City. The actual rooms and resturants were clean enough, but I about fainted in the waterpark when I saw a cock roach ( it was VERY alive). Granted I only saw one, but that's like seeing one mouse! It's really too bad; the place could be an awesome venue. We will never return, however.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank min5_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PzazzEntertainment, Guest Relations Manager at Pzazz Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 22 November 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your feedback! Feedback is very important to us because it helps us to improve our performance.

Please accept our most sincere apologies for your experience. We try our absolute best to maintain a clean and affordable establishment for families to come enjoy, and sometimes we are unaware of issues until a guest brings it to our attention. We will take care of this immediately and thank you again. We hope that you will give us another chance to provide you with a more positive experience.

If you would like to discuss this matter further do not hesitate to call me:
866-792-9948.

Sincerely,

Justin Swigart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2011

Ok - fun for kids but play areas seemed dirty and staff not happy to be there.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tbell07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PzazzEntertainment, Guest Relations Manager at Pzazz Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 1 August 2012
Dear Guest,

I'm very sorry that you perceived our staff in such a way. Those types of attitudes are unacceptable as a worker in our establishment. We pride ourselves in our outstanding customer service capabilities. Rest assured the matter will be addressed!

Thank you

Justin Swigart
866.792.9948
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Burlington hotels
0.0 mi away
Catfish Bend Inn & Spa
Catfish Bend Inn & Spa
#2 of 11 in Burlington
132 reviews
0.2 mi away
Howard Johnson Burlington
Howard Johnson Burlington
#8 of 11 in Burlington
599 reviews
2.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Burlington
Comfort Suites Burlington
#1 of 11 in Burlington
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Burlington
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 11 in Burlington
45 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Burlington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pzazz Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pzazz Resort Hotel

Property: Pzazz Resort Hotel
Address: 3001 Winegard Drive, Burlington, IA 52601-2061
Region: United States > Iowa > Burlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Burlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Pzazz Resort Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
PZAZZ! Resort Hotel offers 145 rooms including several bunk bed family rooms, views overlooking the water park and poolside suites. We offer a variety of affordable packages for families, couples, groups and golfers. Admission to Huck's Harbor Water Park is included with each room for our hotel guests. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pzazz Hotel Burlington
Pzazz Fun City Burlington
Burlington Best Western
Pzazz Resort Hotel Burlington, Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing