We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, lovely birthday dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Zyka

Zyka
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Kids, Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, Lunch, After-hours, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great food, lovely birthday dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

We booked for about 20 people on a recent Saturday night to celebrate a birthday. Every meal, whether from the Indian or grill menu, was absolutely beautiful. The staff were friendly and helpful and really did well, helping with the birthday cake and candles etc. Would not hesitate to recommend Zyka.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lbkglasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    127
    64
    25
    16
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

We found the restaurant quite busy for a Tuesday night, seated quickly and staff fairly attentive. Tables were a bit close together for my liking but the food was good.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Weer1ley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Below Average Food, Unknowledgeable Staff, Avoid!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

After hearing good things about this restaurant I decided to try there for a birthday meal. On first impressions the bar and restaurant area were nicely decorated and we were seated quickly. Straight away I found it very cold.The menu is confused with a large Indian section and a very limited grill section. I wonder why they even bother with the grill menu as it is so small. We then asked the waiter to explain what the lamb kofta was to which he replied 'I actually have no idea' - to which i then had to explain to my friend what it was. We ordered the sharing platter to start which was bland, luke-warm and very average. It wasn't even as good as pakora that you would get from a good take-away. For my main i ordered the fish & chips which was ok and my boyfriend ordered the 'steak' burger. The burger was definitely not steak and the bun was stale and fell apart when he started eating it. For dessert I asked what the cheescake was and again the waiting staff did not know. I opted for a hot chocolate which again was luke-warm and tasted like cadbury's drinking chocolate. Definitely will not be back and would not recommend this.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Charlotte T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow Scotland
Level Contributor
70 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Nice decor not so good bar snack”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

Nice decor, but really cold to sit in bar during winter. Had a few bar snacks, but on three occasions the pakora and onion rings were swimming in grease and not very nice at all.
Have only eaten in restaurant once and meal was pleasant enough, but not really very
spicy. Staff very friendly. Really just go for a drink only and not for a meal or snack.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Brianglasgowscotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Always good, the Fish is great!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

Have had a lot of takeaways from here and eaten in restaurant at least 7-8 times. Never a bad dish. Tandoori Salmon, Monkfish and Chicken Tikka are all standouts. Sister needs gluten free and this was no problem (they have two gluten free pakoras, etc.) and staff and owners could not be more helpful. Would highly recommend.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gasmeter4518
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Zyka also viewed

Newton Mearns, East Renfrewshire
Newton Mearns, East Renfrewshire
 
Glasgow, Scotland
Newton Mearns, East Renfrewshire
 

Been to Zyka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing