We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charged my card 3 times and then claimed we still owed them so they locked us out of our room.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Suburban Extended Stay Hotel Cedar Falls
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Cedar Falls
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Charged my card 3 times and then claimed we still owed them so they locked us out of our room.”
Reviewed 5 August 2012

The main sewer line at our house was blocked and had to be replaced so we needed a hotel for a week. We stayed at the Suburban in Cedar Falls, IA. They charged us 3 separate charges for our room. $257, $177, and $225. This should have covered us for the week but after 4 days they rudely locked us out of our room and told us we owed for 3 more nights. i called the police and showed them the charges to my card and the hotel claimed they were only authorizations and not charges. i told them to take their money from the authorizations and the card company said it was fine to do that but they refused. The police said we got screwed but it was a civil matter so we collected our belongings and went to another hotel. We got our "AUTHORIZATIONS" refunded about a week later less the charges for 4 days. We told them we wanted to pay for a week up front.....i don't know how they screwed it up so badly but.....NEVER AGAIN.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lldailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie P, General Manager at Suburban Extended Stay Hotel Cedar Falls, responded to this review, 26 April 2013
Dear Guest,
I was very sorry to hear that your experience here at the Suburban Extended Stay was less than satisfactory.
We are now, as of December 1, 2012, under new management. There have been many changes in staffing and the training my staff receives.
Unfortunately with the credit card and banking companies there will always be the “authorizations” through the systems. However, I have the training in place to avoid most situations as you experienced.
Thank you for taking the time to comment, this helps us improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    20
    4
    2
    3
See reviews for
22
5
3
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2012

This hotel was quiet, room was spacious. The pool area was well kept and warm. It was great that the hotel welcomed pets. You would never know there were any other pets there. There is a park like area with wild flowers behind the hotel that we were able to let our dog out to walk around. The staff was great to work with. We were there on business and used the meeting room. It was an overall excellent place to stay. We will look for this name hotel when planning vacations.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raquel023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cedar Falls, Iowa
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 June 2012

The bed was very good. The hotel was quiet and the rooms were spacious. We did have problems with our key not working in the laundry room and the exercise room, but the staff quickly resolved our issues. The exercise room is really good and the free laundry facilities is really helpful when you stay for a while. I would give this hotel an excellent if it had an oven. I do miss having that available. The room was very good for what we paid.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
Reviewed 2 June 2012

Great location, beautiful clean room and comfortable bed. We have never stayed here before and wish they would have told us that they don't do the beds everyday.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas-Texas!
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2012

This hotel has a nice new feel to it. I assume it's only 2-3 years old. Nice spacious clean room and bathroom. Great mini-kitchen, sink, and fridge. I like that they have a full length mirror in the room that is handy before heading out to vacation events. I would say the only negative is the thermostat in the room is a bit confusing. I had to call the front desk twice. Even the nice young man from the front desk couldn't figure it out, but i finally did after he left. Parking lot can fill up late at night, but it's free and appeared safe. Great location near highway, new Target, Walmart, and University of Northern Iowa. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Keep in mind it appeared some rooms are pretty far from elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ItsZep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2012

This hotel was very clean, the staff were very friendly, the location was great, I have no complaints about this hotel at all! I would definately recommend this hotel to anyone!!!!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndreaPost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DesMoines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 September 2011

This hotel is NEW and so clean and Just wonderful! The staff was so nice and so helpful. Don't miss this gem of a hotel in Cedar Falls Iowa

Room Tip: All the rooms come complete with full kitchens .
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laverne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cedar Falls hotels
1.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Cedar Falls
1.0 mi away
Super 8 Cedar Falls
Super 8 Cedar Falls
#3 of 14 in Cedar Falls
581 reviews
1.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Technology Park Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
AmericInn Lodge and Suites Cedar Falls
0.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Cedar Falls
Hilton Garden Inn Cedar Falls
#1 of 14 in Cedar Falls
417 reviews
0.8 mi away
Comfort Suites Cedar Falls
Comfort Suites Cedar Falls
#5 of 14 in Cedar Falls
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suburban Extended Stay Hotel Cedar Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suburban Extended Stay Hotel Cedar Falls

Property: Suburban Extended Stay Hotel Cedar Falls
Address: 300 Viking Rd, Cedar Falls, IA 50613-6927
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Iowa > Cedar Falls
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Cedar Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Suburban Extended Stay Hotel Cedar Falls 2*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Suburban Extended Stay Hotel Cedar Falls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suburban Extended Stay Hotel Cedar Falls Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing