We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of a kind”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Black Hawk Hotel
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Cedar Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Stayed here for a couple of nights. Really enjoyed the hotel for its unique rooms and lobby. We stayed in the 2nd floor of the main building and had no problems with noise, but recognizing that the place is a renovated building it is best to try to not stomp when walking around so as not to disturb the other guests.

I enjoyed having the place right on the main street making it easy to go walk around, grab something to eat and then go back to our hotel without having to use a car.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank budgetmb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (212)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

135 - 141 of 212 reviews

Reviewed 11 November 2013

We were in town for only one evening, but we are so glad we were able to stay at this hotel. Try to stay in the original part of the hotel. The rooms in the newer addition are very comfortable, but do not have the old charm. Beautiful woodwork in lobby. The room we had was tastefully furnished....complete with a rubber duck to keep you company in the deep jacuzzi tub. Staff was accommodating ....good old Midwest hospitality!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ceejay18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

I am an UNI alum and come back to Cedar Falls for a variety of reasons. I always stay at the Blackhawk and love the location of the hotel on Main Street. I have had stay after stay of clean rooms and great service. The front desk is able to go above and beyond for the sometimes odd requests and arrival and departure times that I have. Personally, I prefer the Motor Lodge in the back of the hotel, but the historic building is also a very nice stay. SOHO and The Stuffed Olive are connected to this hotel if you never want to leave the building these places offer all you need for food and drinks. The hotel also offers nice proximity to the University of Northern Iowa and anything that you would visiting it for.

This hotel is recommended on all accounts.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Logan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We stayed at the Blackhawk Hotel recently on a little getaway from the kids/dog and had a great time. The hotel is well maintained - very cozy, spacious, and clean. Staff was very friendly and helpful. The location was great - right in the middle of all the bars and restaurants. We happened to be there on Halloween weekend, so it was probably a little noisier than usual. If we have occasion to return to Cedar Falls, we will definitely stay at the Blackhawk again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013 via mobile

We paid $160 for our room which overall was nice. However I heard noise outside well into the evening and as late as 2:30 am. The hotel is on Main St in CF, the busiest party area in the town. The noise was people partying and motorcycles mostly. The shower was very small. I'd recommend a third floor room because we heard the people above us in the morning. Coffee was offered but no breakfast items. So I'd say the stay was a bit overpriced in comparison to other options.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cat-Man-IL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

We recently stayed at this beautiful, historic hotel for our anniversary. It is a beautiful old building filled with wonderful antiques. Our room was HUGE and also filled with antiques. But the best part of all, for me, was the fact that the bathroom was thoroughly modern - gorgeous marble, whirlpool tub, etc. The AC/Heating unit provided just the right amount of "white noise" that we didn't hear any noise from other guests walking up and down the hall, closing doors, etc. We would definitely stay here again and would recommend it to anyone!

Room Tip: Our room was on the 3rd floor so we didn't have noise from people walking overhead, etc. There...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charleen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

My family and I recently took a trip to Iowa to lend support to a local hero who lost his 4 limbs in service to his country and we stayed at the Black Hawk Hotel. I can state that it was a most memorable stay. The hotel is fabulous and the staff was top notch and could not be more friendly, the hotel itself was very unique, well appointed and probably the cleanest establishment I have ever visited. I would recommend this hotel to all it was just a wonderful experience.

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daniel d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cedar Falls hotels
1.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Cedar Falls
3.7 mi away
Suburban Extended Stay Hotel Cedar Falls
1.8 mi away
Clarion Inn University Plaza
Clarion Inn University Plaza
#10 of 14 in Cedar Falls
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Technology Park Inn & Suites
4.5 mi away
Comfort Suites Cedar Falls
Comfort Suites Cedar Falls
#5 of 14 in Cedar Falls
207 reviews
1.9 mi away
Days Inn Cedar Falls- University Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Black Hawk Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Black Hawk Hotel

Address: 115 Main St, Cedar Falls, IA 50613-2621
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Iowa > Cedar Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cedar Falls
#4 Family Hotel in Cedar Falls
#6 Business Hotel in Cedar Falls
Price Range: £70 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Black Hawk Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Black Hawk Hotel, listed on the National Trust of Historic Places, is the oldest continuously-operating hotel site West of the Mississippi. The historic building offers 27 rooms from standard accommodations to luxury suites with marble bathrooms/jacuzzi tubs and antique furnishings. A business center is also available to our guests. Adjacent to the historic hotel is our vintage Motor Lodge which offers 14 king rooms with mid-century modern style furnishings and original art. This facility includes a workout room and all the modern conveniences demanded by today's sophisticated traveler at an affordable price point. The Black Hawk occupies a prime location in the heart of Cedar Falls on Historic Main St. where all the action is...great restaurants, shops and entertainment options. We are also steps from the picturesque Cedar River with its walking and bike trails and just 5 minutes from the UNI Campus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Ebookers so you can book your The Black Hawk Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Black Hawk Hotel Cedar Falls, Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing