We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really clean, charming hotel. I would highly recommend staying here.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Black Hawk Hotel
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Cedar Falls
Certificate of Excellence
NJ
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Really clean, charming hotel. I would highly recommend staying here.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

Great hotel, best in Waterloo/Cedar Falls area! The staff is professional and friendly. Atmosphere is very welcoming. The rooms are quaint, spotless and very comfortable. Access to restaurants and shops, only ten minutes from Young Arena.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MMelanson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    131
    42
    11
    3
    2
See reviews for
43
74
16
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile

We have family in Waverly and the Blackhawk hotel is always the place we stay whenever we come back home. Not only is it an easy drive to Waverly, but it is one of the most comfortable, charming and well appointed hotels anywhere. Although we like the older part of the hotel, the motor lodge is extremely comfortable at a great price!

Love it!

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Henry__hawkeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mason City, Iowa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

We have stayed at this hotel many times when we want a getaway. Each room is unique and beautifully furnished. I love the thick towels, the ceramic mugs (not paper cups) and glass glasses (not plastic), not to mention the gorgeous antique furniture and the beautiful bathrooms. I truly feel pampered at the Black Hawk. The staff is always friendly and accommodating. The location is perfect, right in the middle of great restaurants, lounges, and shops.

Judy

Room Tip: Check out the website for pictures of each room to help you choose the one that is perfect for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 126judyp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Dodge, Iowa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

I love staying at the Black Hawk Hotel, it is a great get away to Cedar Falls. The rooms are each unique with antique furnishings and the bathrooms in the suites are top notch for hotels. There is so much to do on main street so once you arrive at the hotel, there is no need to drive anywhere until departure. Service at the hotel is also great with more of a bed and breakfast feel than a chain hotel. The only negative I have to say is the pillows and beds could be more comfortable. I will be staying again!

Room Tip: Pay extra for a suite, the standard rooms have really tight bathrooms that make getting ready challe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trista T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ogden, Utah
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

Nice old building (be sure to ask for this part, I haven[t tried the annex) with great character. Clean, nicely furnished luxury room. Price is a bit up there but in line with other Iowa fancy hotels. A very nice experience, I've stayed three different times. Great to restaurants - easy walk.

Room Tip: This review is for the old hotel, not the new annex.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mason City, Iowa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

The Blackhawk hotel is a great get away weekend. The rooms are unique and staff is very friendly. We enjoy having the different shops, restaurants, music within walking distance. Definitely plan to return for a fun weekend.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Larry1449
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cedar Falls, Iowa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

I love that The Black Hawk is downtown Cedar Falls. Was the perfect place to stay and in walking distance to all the local establishments. Will be staying here again!

Not all rooms have bath tubs in them. The standing shower was perfectly fine for us but if you are wanting a tub, be sure to request a room with one.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bschlievert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cedar Falls hotels
4.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Cedar Falls
Hilton Garden Inn Cedar Falls
#1 of 14 in Cedar Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
1.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Cedar Falls
4.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Technology Park Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
AmericInn Lodge and Suites Cedar Falls
1.8 mi away
Clarion Inn University Plaza
Clarion Inn University Plaza
#10 of 14 in Cedar Falls
3.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
1.8 mi away
Days Inn Cedar Falls- University Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Black Hawk Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Black Hawk Hotel

Property: The Black Hawk Hotel
Address: 115 Main St, Cedar Falls, IA 50613-2621
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Iowa > Cedar Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cedar Falls
#4 Family Hotel in Cedar Falls
#6 Business Hotel in Cedar Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Black Hawk Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Black Hawk Hotel, listed on the National Trust of Historic Places, is the oldest continuously-operating hotel site West of the Mississippi. The historic building offers 27 rooms from standard accommodations to luxury suites with marble bathrooms/jacuzzi tubs and antique furnishings. A business center is also available to our guests. Adjacent to the historic hotel is our vintage Motor Lodge which offers 14 king rooms with mid-century modern style furnishings and original art. This facility includes a workout room and all the modern conveniences demanded by today's sophisticated traveler at an affordable price point. The Black Hawk occupies a prime location in the heart of Cedar Falls on Historic Main St. where all the action is...great restaurants, shops and entertainment options. We are also steps from the picturesque Cedar River with its walking and bike trails and just 5 minutes from the UNI Campus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Black Hawk Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Black Hawk Hotel Cedar Falls, Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing