We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Historic Hotel In Downtown Cedar Falls”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Black Hawk Hotel
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Cedar Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Ankeny, Iowa, United States
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Historic Hotel In Downtown Cedar Falls”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We recently returned from a one night stay at the Black Hawk. We couldn't have been happier of the choice we made. The Black Hawk is such a hidden gem. Beautiful interior and exterior. We just loved the antiques in the rooms. Downtown Cedar Falls is such a great area for shopping and entertainment. I would recommend this hotel to couples for a relaxing get away.

Room Tip: The Jr. Suites are very large.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brad S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    43
    11
    4
    2
See reviews for
44
79
16
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Washington, Iowa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 April 2014

So quaint! Our daughter has been a student @ UNI the past four years and we have always wanted to stay at the Blackhawk. Very clean, sweet room. The room was like taking a step back in time. Loved the rubber ducky in the shower!

Room Tip: Please keep in mind this is a college town and your are downtown! It was not a problem at all though...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tammy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Des Moines, Iowa
1 review
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We love staying here! We have been staying here since before it was renovated every time we played a show in cedar falls. It is beautifully restored and staffed with a helpful and friendly crew that make our late checkins and musician high maintenance requests a pleasant experience. Enjoy a cocktail at the stuffed olive before the show. This hotel is near everything you need. Restaurants, music venues, dive bars, coffee shops, antique stores. You can rent a bike across the street and cruise the bike trail along the river just blocks from the hotel. Head over to the old school maid rite across the street from the hub for breakfast or lunch and hit up bourbon street for dinner. There are cool boutiques and antique stores or even a thrift store if you like the thrill of the hunt all within walking distance. We highly recommend you stay here, especially if you are coming to our show!

Room Tip: Check out the motor lodge if you like the motel feel, also great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheNadas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tindallk, Owner at The Black Hawk Hotel, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Thanks, Nadas, for the great review. It was a pleasure to have you as guests.....and you weren't too high maintenance! Hope we will be your hotel of choice if you have a future gig in the Cedar Falls area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reinbeck, Iowa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Location is great, with so many places to shop or eat wthin walking distance. Lots of history here also! Have stayed before and will again. Very clean and friendly place. My wife and I intend to stay here for our anniversary!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianola, Iowa
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

The Black Hawk Hotel is a historic hotel in the downtown area of Cedar Falls near restaurants, bars and unique shopping. Clean comfortable rooms with good service. Something different from the chain hotels. Near the university our daughter attends, our second visit there and both times consistently good experience!

Room Tip: go online and a description of each room/suite is available, I would avoid the motor lodge behind th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julie g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Location, staff, and price is very comforting. I've stayed here multiple times because of the things listed. Walking distance to restaurants, bars, nightclubs, fast food, etc make this place a must stay at. I will be back.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MDD14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Great hotel, best in Waterloo/Cedar Falls area! The staff is professional and friendly. Atmosphere is very welcoming. The rooms are quaint, spotless and very comfortable. Access to restaurants and shops, only ten minutes from Young Arena.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MMelanson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cedar Falls hotels
4.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Cedar Falls
Hilton Garden Inn Cedar Falls
#1 of 14 in Cedar Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
1.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Cedar Falls
4.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Technology Park Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
AmericInn Lodge and Suites Cedar Falls
1.8 mi away
Clarion Inn University Plaza
Clarion Inn University Plaza
#10 of 14 in Cedar Falls
3.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
1.8 mi away
Days Inn Cedar Falls- University Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Black Hawk Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Black Hawk Hotel

Property: The Black Hawk Hotel
Address: 115 Main St, Cedar Falls, IA 50613-2621
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Iowa > Cedar Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cedar Falls
#4 Family Hotel in Cedar Falls
#6 Business Hotel in Cedar Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Black Hawk Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Black Hawk Hotel, listed on the National Trust of Historic Places, is the oldest continuously-operating hotel site West of the Mississippi. The historic building offers 27 rooms from standard accommodations to luxury suites with marble bathrooms/jacuzzi tubs and antique furnishings. A business center is also available to our guests. Adjacent to the historic hotel is our vintage Motor Lodge which offers 14 king rooms with mid-century modern style furnishings and original art. This facility includes a workout room and all the modern conveniences demanded by today's sophisticated traveler at an affordable price point. The Black Hawk occupies a prime location in the heart of Cedar Falls on Historic Main St. where all the action is...great restaurants, shops and entertainment options. We are also steps from the picturesque Cedar River with its walking and bike trails and just 5 minutes from the UNI Campus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your The Black Hawk Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Black Hawk Hotel Cedar Falls, Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing