We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Black Hawk Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Black Hawk Hotel
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Cedar Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Cedar Rapids, Iowa, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

My Fiance and I stayed here and were amazed! The hotel was super clean, staff super friendly. We stayed in the room with the Jacuzzi in it and we had a bit of trouble with that but they took care of it for us. We will be back!!!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sherry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    131
    42
    11
    3
    2
See reviews for
43
74
16
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Forest City, Iowa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

we go to Cedar Falls a couple times a year and every time we try to stay at the Blackhawk Hotel.
It is on main street so we are close to restaurants and many different shops . The rooms are very nostalgic and just take you back to a more simpler time when social media didn't bombard you. The staff is always friendly and ready to lend a helping hand if needed. The rooms are very spacious and quite.
We plan on heading back in December for our son's graduation from college and hope to stay there again; and with the weather of Iowa in December we will sit in the lobby and enjoy the fire place!!

Betty W

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Betty W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

We traveled to Cedar Falls to celebrate the 60th wedding anniversary of my wife's parents. We usually stay at their house but this time chose the Black Hawk and now this is where we will stay on future trips to Iowa. The room was spacious, the staff was great and the location perfect!! I must say that the floors were far from level but it gave the room a certain charm. Looking forward to spending more time in the Martini Room on our next trip!

Room Tip: We were in Room #208. The extra sitting area is great since I get up much earlier than my wife. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Darrell S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Charles, Missouri
Level Contributor
129 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

The Blackhawk Hotel sits in the heart of downtown Cedar Falls. Your just a few doors down from the Cedar Falls Community Theatre (take in a show while you're in town - it's not uncommon to find former New York thespians or SNL stars on that stage). Cup of Joe is your spot for fresh coffee in the morning. This region is a biker's paradise with hundreds of miles of trails winding through town, along the Cedar River and off into farm fields. The trails begin just blocks from the hotel. The hotel's cozy feel and antique room decor makes it feel very B&B like. And yes. When Yo Yo Ma is in town (playing the Gallgher Bluedorn) he stays at the Blackhawk Hotel.

Room Tip: Pick rooms in the main building on the back side of the hotel - the higher up the better. Some of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MatthewHundley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

Before you read any further, just remember you're in Cedar Falls, IA. This place is not going to have an onsite spa, a workout facility, or a traditional concierge. I was there for a couple days for a work event, so my company paid for the room. If I ended up paying in excess of $200 a night for the accommodations, I may not have had such a glowing review. I think the rates are a shade below that, but please take the review for what it's worth.

Each room is different in this hotel. I believe it was refurbished a decade or two ago. But, the structure has been around for a century-and-a-half. It's a marvelous place...it looks just like something off a movie set. My room was giant with wood doors, wood walls, and wooden window sills. The night stands and the dressers were all wood. Same with the desk and even the bathroom sink (there was a porcelain fixture for the basin, of course.) I am not kidding...this is a movie set from the word "go."

There is an attached bar and an attached restaurant. And, Chris Kattan and Gary Sinise even signed the guest book. There are some celebrities who like to come to this haunt.

Speaking of haunt, I actually woke up in the middle of the night, because of a man standing over my bed and looking toward the window. He vanished when I got up. Ironically, some of my co-workers told me that there are rumors that this hotel is haunted, but they didn't like to publicize it. And, after coming home, I found several websites corroborating the presence of some kind of supernatural entities.

Nonetheless, this was a remarkable stay...I would recommend this as a destination for anyone traveling through the Midwest.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vinpach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomington, Illinois
Level Contributor
60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

This hotel was very neat. The lobby is GORGEOUS with all of the old woodwork. I was staying here for business and it was just a neat place. There is a rumor that it's haunted but my boss assures me it is not :)
The breakfast the next morning was cooked to order and very good, although the menu is a bit limited. It's located in a very interesting downtown district. I would recommend this place over a chain any time!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelFun7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cedar Falls, Iowa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

We put Mother & Sister up at the BHH-Motor Lodge for a week. Our house is too small and full of teenagers!! Mom and Sis are from Santa Barbara, so you KNOW they're snooty and have seen WAY TOO MUCH creme-de-la-creme. But, they were VERY impressed with the service, the quiet, tasteful modern decor, downtown atmosphere and the (Thank Heavens) proximity of splendid coffee right across the street (Cup of Joe's) or in the BHH restaurant.
...and to top it all off, BHH arranged for a dramatic 93.3 inch 'moderate' flood stage on the Cedar River (next door), just enough for drama, but no damage. very exciting!!
Thank you BHH!!

Room Tip: Motor Hotel is slightly less expensive, but all rooms are elegant!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cedar Falls hotels
4.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Cedar Falls
Hilton Garden Inn Cedar Falls
#1 of 14 in Cedar Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
4.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Technology Park Inn & Suites
1.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Cedar Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Super 8 Cedar Falls
Super 8 Cedar Falls
#2 of 14 in Cedar Falls
4.0 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
1.8 mi away
Clarion Inn University Plaza
Clarion Inn University Plaza
#9 of 14 in Cedar Falls
3.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
3.7 mi away
Suburban Extended Stay Hotel Cedar Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Black Hawk Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Black Hawk Hotel

Property: The Black Hawk Hotel
Address: 115 Main St, Cedar Falls, IA 50613-2621
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Iowa > Cedar Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cedar Falls
#4 Family Hotel in Cedar Falls
#6 Business Hotel in Cedar Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Black Hawk Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Black Hawk Hotel, listed on the National Trust of Historic Places, is the oldest continuously-operating hotel site West of the Mississippi. The historic building offers 27 rooms from standard accommodations to luxury suites with marble bathrooms/jacuzzi tubs and antique furnishings. A business center is also available to our guests. Adjacent to the historic hotel is our vintage Motor Lodge which offers 14 king rooms with mid-century modern style furnishings and original art. This facility includes a workout room and all the modern conveniences demanded by today's sophisticated traveler at an affordable price point. The Black Hawk occupies a prime location in the heart of Cedar Falls on Historic Main St. where all the action is...great restaurants, shops and entertainment options. We are also steps from the picturesque Cedar River with its walking and bike trails and just 5 minutes from the UNI Campus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Black Hawk Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Black Hawk Hotel Cedar Falls, Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing