We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bob M "Against the Grain"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Clarion Inn University Plaza
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Cedar Falls
Reviewed 1 March 2014

I enjoy the casual atmosphere, the menu (especially the appetizer - Cajun shrimp wrapped Bacon - singularly is enough to keep me coming back), and the convenience of the specific location in Cedar Falls right in the middle of everything - yet only a couple of blocks off the highway. Fun time.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Bob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony C, Regional Manager at Clarion Inn University Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your feedback and our restaurant Against the Grain! We are so pleased you would recommend our Bacon Wrapped Cajun Shrimp! Thanks again for your business and we hope to see you very soon!

Tony Cruz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (151)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

102 - 108 of 151 reviews

Reviewed 28 February 2014

We went to the Wine and Tunes event last night at Clarion Hotel Against the Grain Bar and it was fabulous! Awesome service, drink, food, and music and the event was very well attended! The presentation of the food was very top notch! Hat's off to the Chef and team in the kitchen. Loved the new decor too. I will definitely go again and bring more friends.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patti M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony C, Regional Manager at Clarion Inn University Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Thank you for the wonderful response in reference to your experience at Against the Grain in The Clarion Inn!
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our wine and tunes night. As we strive to meet each guest’s expectations, it is feedback like yours, which allows us to set new initiatives for customer service and take pride in our customer service and accommodations. We appreciate your business and look forward to having you back for a drink again soon.

Tony Cruz
Regional Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

I stay here quite a bit. Probably about five times per year. The one thing that I do miss is the hot tub. They have a great pool but tonight for example it is supposed to be 15 below zero. It would sure be nice to spend some time in the hot tub.

Room Tip: some rooms are pretty small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DefinitelynotDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
neil s, General Manager at Clarion Inn University Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. Our plan is to have the hot tub placed into the pool deck as we continue our remodeling process. Hope to see you soon again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

The room was very nice. There was an attractive entrance and atrium area around the indoor pool. The restaurant's food was also good though the menu was a little limited. I wish that they would have offered a free breakfast buffet with rather than having to order off of a menu and wait to be served.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peggy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
neil s, Manager at Clarion Inn University Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Only window looks into hallway. Some rooms allow a bit more light, but many are tucked away and dark. I asked for a second floor room and they gave me some excuse about none of them being cleaned (even though the hotel was about 20% full). The only other choice was an equally dark room. Website advertises hot tub but there is none. Wifi isn't very good and it goes in and out/ constantly returns to login screen and wants to upsell you on the next faster level from free access. You hear everything in the hallway (probably due to windows). If you can't stand noise I wouldn't recommend this place.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sethreaux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
neil s, General Manager at Clarion Inn University Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We apologize for the noise level on that weekend and will try harder to control those situations.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

We came to stay at the hotel from Minnesota we reserved our room under a wedding block when we reserved the room we were told all they had left was king size rooms. We said that was fine we checked in on Saturday November 2nd 2013 our room was not ready and neither were anybody else's room as the hotel was sold out when we checked in the front desk manger told us she had us in a queen bed roo. Just one bed keep in mind we had 2 adults and 2 kids we told the lady we reserved a king size room and she told us no we reserved a queen room she said I know because I took your reservation she then told us that if a room opened up she could move us from room to room until a bigger room was available or give us another room at no charge well needless to say we got neither and got stuck in a room about 300 square feet with 2 adults and 2 kids and no accommodations were made for there mess up I contacted the general manger on Monday to file a complaint and got no return phone call. The room was dirty there was mold on the bathroom wall I would never stay at the hotel again if all the hotels were not sold out that weekend I would have taken my family to a different hotel. There were a lot of people that were unhappy cause some people didn't get there rooms until 6 pm that night. We went to the lounge that evening to have a drink at 11 pm got told that it was last call and she was not serving any more after us we were fine with that but we witnessed the bartender continuing to serve people until midnight. That night also having shots with the guest this hotel is ran poor and allowing employees to drink while on the clock is unacceptable in any hospitality area. I would not recommend this hotel to no one we drove 400 miles to stay in a crappy small hotel I have seen motel 6 have better rooms and better service then what we had.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Corey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony C, General Manager at Clarion Inn University Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

I apologize for not exceeding your expectations during your stay with us. I have passed along your feedback to my team to ensure these issues are corrected in the future. Thank you for your business and we hope to regain your confidence in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

We stayed at the beginning of November and were very pleased with our stay. The hallways and rooms looked as if they needed new carpeting but the rooms were clean and inviting. We had questions regarding a family member's upcoming wedding and the sales office was terrific! They were so nice and informative and genuinely seemed to care about our concerns. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
neil s, General Manager at Clarion Inn University Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cedar Falls hotels
0.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Cedar Falls, IA
0 mi away
Days Inn Cedar Falls- University Plaza
3.2 mi away
Super 8 Cedar Falls
Super 8 Cedar Falls
#3 of 14 in Cedar Falls
603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Suburban Extended Stay Hotel Cedar Falls
3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Cedar Falls
Hilton Garden Inn Cedar Falls
#2 of 14 in Cedar Falls
454 reviews
3.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Technology Park Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Inn University Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Inn University Plaza

Address: 5826 University Ave # 1, Cedar Falls, IA 50613-5237 (Formerly Holiday Inn Cedar Falls - University Plaza)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Iowa > Cedar Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Cedar Falls
Price Range: £50 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clarion Inn University Plaza 2.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clarion Inn® hotel offers an ideal location during your next trip to Cedar Falls. Whether you are traveling for business or pleasure, this Iowa hotel's central location and affordable accommodations is sure to make your stay convenient and memorable.The Clarion Inn hotel is a great place to call home during your next trip to the Cedar Falls area. With countless features and outstanding service, your stay with us is sure to be one to remember. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Clarion Inn University Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Inn University Plaza Hotel Cedar Falls
Holiday Inn Cedar Falls
Cedar Falls Holiday Inn
Clarion Inn University Plaza Cedar Falls, Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing