We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Needs Updating”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Clarion Inn University Plaza
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Cedar Falls
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Location, Needs Updating”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We stayed here for the Easter weekend and while it is in a great location, the Hotel needs some updating.

The entrance into the hotel is nice and very welcoming. The lobby, restaurant, and their conference rooms were very nice. The pool area is also very well maintained.

The rooms/hallways on the other hand need a lot of work. Its minor things like new paint, carpet, window coverings. The popcorn ceilings were falling off and we had a leaky shower handle, that didn't stop running the entire time we were there. The wall paper is starting to fall off the walls and show its age.

The location and staff are alone worth a perfect rating, but I can't over look the need for updating. If they can update their rooms and get new carpet, drapes, wall coverings, bathrooms/sinks, and clean the hallways. I will stay here every time I visit. It is a great location and the staff is very friendly and helpful .

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Iowatraveler8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony C, Regional Director at Clarion Inn University Plaza, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
We apologize for not exceeding your expectations during your recent stay with us. We are pleased that you found the location and Staff helpful, and apologize for the overall hotel decor. We hope you give us the opportunity in the near future to regain your confidence in our hotels services. Thank you for your feedback and your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    28
    32
    14
    21
See reviews for
32
17
8
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cordova, Tn.
Level Contributor
95 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

To be a flagship for Choice Hotels - this motel leaves a lot to be desired. It is an old Holiday Inn built in 1962 and shows it. I must say the staff was very friendly and helpful. The up stair rooms and my down stair room had to be entered outside and then go into a hall way. One thing in it"s favor the bed were comfortable - nice TV - in my room there wasn't a ref. or micro. No continental breakfast like most Choice motels have. Breakfast - lunch - dinner is serve in the bar area with a very limited menu. Limited on variety of beers and wine. There is a nice in-door swimming pool and exercise room is limited.

Room Tip: Asked for inside rooms if not stay away from the entrance doors to hall ways.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony C, Regional Director at Clarion Inn University Plaza, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
We apologize for not exceeding your expectations during your recent stay with us. We are pleased that you found our staff friendly and helpful, and apologize for the overall hotel decor. We hope you give us the opportunity in the near future to regain your confidence in our hotels services. Thank you for your feedback and your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
owatonna
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with my son for Folkstyle Wrestling Tournament. Room was sane but clean. Our room didn't face the pool so for the most part was quiet except for when someone would go out the outside door.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank kjmollenhauer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony C, Regional Manager at Clarion Inn University Plaza, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Thank you so much for providing us feedback on your recent stay. I am glad you had an enjoyable stay and that your room was clean, but I am sorry the room decor didn't live up to the high standards we strive for. Thank you for your feedback and your business. We hope you visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moorhead
Level Contributor
74 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

The lobby and bar are very nice, but as I walked back to my room it was like walking back in time. The pool was empty. The hallway smelled old and damp. The room smelled very musty and was of early 1990 decor. Keep this room like this for a few more years it would make a great museum. I like the effort based on the lobby, but wow, as all the reviews say, the rooms are old and musty. They were CLEAN, yes, and the bed was comfortable, so not horrible. The flood plan is like all hotels in the 80s and 90s, all rooms are inside hallways, no windows looking outside, and all open to the pool area, so might be good for large groups, schools, etc.

Room Tip: Ask to be away from the pool unless you want to be near all the activity
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frosty987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony C, Regional Director at Clarion Inn University Plaza, responded to this review, 6 April 2014
We are so pleased that you felt the hotel was clean and the staff was friendly; we aim to please our guests in every way. I apologize for the smell during the pool repainting. We are currently working on guest room design renovations expected to start by end of year. We appreciate your business and hope you give us the opportunity to regain your confidence in our hotel in the near future. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cedar Falls hotels

Independence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 March 2014

In late February 2014, we reserved several rooms for a group for three nights. It turned out very well. The rooms were clean and the service was good. An attractive lobby and helpful front desk personnel. The entire time the outside temperature was between 10 below and 10 above but we were cozy warm.

I liked the "open" atmosphere of the common areas. Did I say it was clean? Cleanliness is very important to me and the hotel met my standards! The hotel is located in a good area with shopping and a variety of restaurants nearby. I would definitely bring my family back.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GinnyZV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony C, Regional Manager at Clarion Inn University Plaza, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
We are ecstatic that your group enjoyed your stay at the Clarion Inn University Plaza. Thank you for your business and we hope to see you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cedar Falls, Iowa
1 review
Reviewed 3 March 2014

I attended Wine and Tunes and had a wonderful time! The service was very good and professional and the food was delicious with great presentation! The recent remodel really improved the look and style they are hoping to deliver.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lola K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony C, Regional Manager at Clarion Inn University Plaza, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
On behalf of the entire staff at the hotel and restaurant, we thank you for your business and feedback. We are in the process of more updates and renovations, visit us again soon. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cedar Falls, Iowa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 1 March 2014

I enjoy the casual atmosphere, the menu (especially the appetizer - Cajun shrimp wrapped Bacon - singularly is enough to keep me coming back), and the convenience of the specific location in Cedar Falls right in the middle of everything - yet only a couple of blocks off the highway. Fun time.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Bob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony C, Regional Manager at Clarion Inn University Plaza, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to post your feedback and our restaurant Against the Grain! We are so pleased you would recommend our Bacon Wrapped Cajun Shrimp! Thanks again for your business and we hope to see you very soon!

Tony Cruz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cedar Falls hotels
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Cedar Falls- University Plaza
0.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Cedar Falls
3.2 mi away
Super 8 Cedar Falls
Super 8 Cedar Falls
#2 of 14 in Cedar Falls
4.0 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Cedar Falls
Comfort Suites Cedar Falls
#6 of 14 in Cedar Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
2.3 mi away
Suburban Extended Stay Hotel Cedar Falls
1.8 mi away
The Black Hawk Hotel
The Black Hawk Hotel
#7 of 14 in Cedar Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Inn University Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Inn University Plaza

Property: Clarion Inn University Plaza
Address: 5826 University Ave # 1, Cedar Falls, IA 50613-5237 (Formerly Holiday Inn Cedar Falls - University Plaza)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Iowa > Cedar Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Cedar Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clarion Inn University Plaza 2.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clarion Inn® hotel offers an ideal location during your next trip to Cedar Falls. Whether you are traveling for business or pleasure, this Iowa hotel's central location and affordable accommodations is sure to make your stay convenient and memorable.The Clarion Inn hotel is a great place to call home during your next trip to the Cedar Falls area. With countless features and outstanding service, your stay with us is sure to be one to remember. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Inn University Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Inn University Plaza Hotel Cedar Falls
Holiday Inn Cedar Falls
Cedar Falls Holiday Inn
Clarion Inn University Plaza Cedar Falls, Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing