We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for one night stop”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Cedar Rapids - North
Ranked #2 of 36 Hotels in Cedar Rapids
Certificate of Excellence
Columbus, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great for one night stop”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Stopped here on May 25 on our way to South Dakota. Check in was quick and easy. The room was very adequate for the one night stay. Pillows were on the soft side but we found that the case for almost all of the hotels we stayed at. Bed was comfortable. Check-in staff were able to recommend a local place for dinner. Breakfast the next morning was the typical hot breakfast for a Hampton; thumbs up from the teenager in the group so good.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StephPlum2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary S, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Cedar Rapids - North, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Thanks for reviewing our hotel. I am glad to get the thumbs up from the teenager for the breakfast!! If you stay with us again in the future, please let us know if the pillows are too soft and we will try to find some that are more to your liking. Safe travels and thanks again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    345
    119
    30
    14
    10
See reviews for
230
93
29
119
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, MN
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed twice for single nights within two weeks in May.

Positives: quick, friendly, check-in; clean, fairly attractive room w/good lighting and extensive cable TV offerings; great shower w/basketball-player shower head height; Neutrogena toiletries; towels you'd be fine with at home; soft bed, pillows, and comforter (if you like a softer bed); better than average breakfast ( not "to order" omelettes, but good fresh fruit, bagels, hot mcmuffin-like "bagel toppers", good yogurt); good safe suburban location; clean, attractive common areas.

Not so positives: kind of noisy cooling system (would go off and on all night, could feel air flow when on even from far away - recommend setting unit on "low cool vs. max cool"); bathroom "fan" that May have been a decorative vent; lobby coffee nothing to brag about.

Didn't see or use pool/fitness area.

No major complaints with this above-average Hampton property. Would return.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank cmishnr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary S, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Cedar Rapids - North, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Thanks for writing a review of our hotel! I am sorry for the problems you had with a noisy a/c unit in your room. If that happens again during a stay with us, please let us know what room number you were in so we can fix the problem. As for the bathroom fan, yes it is real and does work. It is on a contiuous loop through the building, so it is always on and working without having to be turned on by our guests. Hope to see you again the next time you are in town!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The staff is fantastic, the rooms and hotel are clean. The staff at the hotel is willing to bend over backwards to accommodate your requests. I have stayed at this hotel numerous times and the experience has always been the over the fantastic.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jmyracle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary S, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Cedar Rapids - North, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Thanks for the review! I am glad you enjoy your stays at our hotel! I see you scored us a little lower in sleep quality. Since you come to our hotel frequently, please let us know next time you are at the hotel what we can do to help improve sleep quality for you! See you next time you are in Cedar Rapids!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Round Rock, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 25 May 2014

This particular Hampton provided the type of experience one would expect, or at least hope to get, when staying at a hotel. The room was clean; the food was good; and the staff were all very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Tracey N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary S, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Cedar Rapids - North, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thank you for your review. I am glad everything was to your liking. We hope to see you again when you are in the area!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bayport, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

This motel sits back off the freeway so you need a gps to find. Check-in was fast. I booked online as we were driving and she had everything ready for me when I walked in the door. The rooms were nice but the bed just wasn't as comfortable as other Hamptons. The breakfast wasn't the best. They only had turkey sausage and no regular sausage and the waffles weren't the best. Alot of fast food restaurants around the area.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maolson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary S, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Cedar Rapids - North, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thanks for the review. It is true that our hotel sits back off the main street of Collins Road. GPS or calling the hotel for directions is how most guests locate us. Being set back off the main street does have the benefit of less noise at night when trying to sleep. For breakfast we try to not have the same food served during a 4 day period. We do have turkey sausage, pork patties, maple sausage and bacon. Next time you stay with us, you can always inquire of front desk about the menu for breakfast. If there is an item you would prefer, just let the desk clerk know and we will try out best to accomodate. Hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, VA, United States
1 review
Reviewed 23 May 2014

This room is across from the pool and housekeeping's room and is very noisy. You will get very little sleep if you get this room. I will say that the breakfast was good and the staff kept all the food dishes full. Every day there was a different main dish to choose from which was good.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary S, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Cedar Rapids - North, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thanks for reviewing us. I do apologize for the noise problems during your stay. On weekends our pool and spa do get a lot of use, and with kids comes some degree of excitedness and noise. We do close the pool and spa at 10pm every night to keep the noise level down for guests trying to sleep. Housekeeping is closed at night and unless someone needed extra towels or pillows, there should be no one going in and out of that room. Since your stay we have had maintenance address the loud door to housekeeping so that wont be a problem for future guests. I am glad you liked the breakfast. We do try to cycle the food we serve on a 4 day rotation so that guests staying for up to 4 nights dont have a repeat of the main dishes of scrambled eggs, omelets, sausages and bacon. For the kids we often add french toast sticks on the weekends which are often a big hit. Again I am sorry for the noise problem.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 20 May 2014

The hotel was clean, bedroom and bathroom were clean and comfortable, the service was good, the hot & cold breakfast buffet was good for hotel food, the hot tub was clean & very enjoyable/relaxing, but the pool was not heated/felt ice cold. The hotel was not far off the interstate which was nice, but finding it behind other hotels was a little tricky, glad we had a G.P.S. and other people staying there that were able to tell us how to get back to the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank 231staciep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary S, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Cedar Rapids - North, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thanks for the reveiw. I am glad you enjoyed your room and the breakfast! I apologize that you found the pool to be cool. I do remember speaking to you the day you departed about the pool being cold. Maintenance was called right away to check if there was a problem wtih the pool heater. Our pool is heated to 83-84 degrees and there was no issue with the heater that day. I am not sure why it felt so cold to you, unless you were getting in the pool right after being in the spa. In any case, we do monitor chemicals and temperature in our pool every 4 hours during its operation, and the spa gets checked every 2 hours. Please give us another try when you are in the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cedar Rapids hotels
0.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Cedar Rapids North
3.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cedar Rapids Convention Complex
8.7 mi away
The Hotel at Kirkwood Center
The Hotel at Kirkwood Center
#1 of 36 in Cedar Rapids
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Cedar Rapids
Hampton Inn Cedar Rapids
#5 of 36 in Cedar Rapids
422 reviews
9.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Cedar Rapids Airport
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Cedar Rapids
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Cedar Rapids - North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Cedar Rapids - North

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Cedar Rapids - North
Address: 1130 Park Pl NE, Cedar Rapids, IA 52402-4882
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Iowa > Cedar Rapids
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Cedar Rapids
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cedar Rapids
#3 Business Hotel in Cedar Rapids
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Cedar Rapids - North 2.5*
Number of rooms: 103
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Cedar Rapids - North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Cedar Rapids - North Hotel Cedar Rapids
Hampton Inn And Suites Cedar Rapids - North
Hampton Inn & Suites Cedar Rapids - North Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing