We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Find!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Hotel at Kirkwood Center
Ranked #1 of 36 Hotels in Cedar Rapids
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a Find!!”
Reviewed 31 January 2014

I was stranded by snow and fell upon this amazing hotel. The facility is amazing; the food wonderful and amenities great...BUT this hotel is staffed by students who are studying hospitality and hotel management at Kirkwood Community College. I travel alot...and these young people outshone most hotel staff I have ever encountered in such a 4 star hotel. What a fine somewhat in the middle of no where...but well worth searching for!!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate391951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    187
    37
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
53
39
8
105
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moville, Iowa
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed here because it was the host hotel. Very nice... Rooms/beds and decor was contemporary. Nothing bad except no pool. They do have access to another hotel's, but when it's below 0 wind chill, not going to happen. Hotel has a restaurant and bar so you have to keep any adult drinks in your room. We ate pizza in the main level common area and we told to put our "stuff" back in our coolers. Would stay here again.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Heathmets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples
Level 6 Contributor
234 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

It is a shocker to find a hotel of such quality quite literally in the middle of nearly nowhere. I was recently on the road for almost two weeks and my last night was spent here and it was without a doubt the best nights rest I got at any hotel. The linens are luxurious and lush. The room is of good size and very, very clean.

It is modern and sleek but not cold like others who go too far. I wish I had been able to eat in the restaurant because it must be equally awesome.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rca2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Who knew Iowa would have a unique, comtemporary hotel with outstanding service. We were upgraded to a fabulous suite on 4th floor. Everything was good about this hotel, even the lawn mowed design. All ammenities were good - includes robes.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MAPIND
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenfield, MA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 October 2013

This hotel is operated by and for Hospitality Management students at nearby Kirkwood Community College. Their earnestness and professionalism set them apart from the jaded, time-worn employees at so many hotels.

The hotel is also ultra-green in its operation and outlook and saves several hundred thousand dollars a year with its environmentally friendly practices.

Finally, the hotel is Euro-chic in overall decor, room styling, and especially the imaginative and savory menu.

All of that adds up to the Contemporary Trifecta Award in my book, especially in rural northeastern Iowa.

Room Tip: The hotel is quiet and rural. The angle of the sun during the day if conducting business in room co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alan.fraker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newburgh, New York
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

The Hotel at Kirkwood is fresh, beautiful and a real gem. It is part of a community college and is staffed with the students. The restaurant is top notch and the lounge is very nice also. It is very convenient to the Eastern Iowa Airport and major interstate highways. Staff is friendly and engaging. Parking is sooo easy. If you absolutely have to be in Cedar Rapids, then this is your hotel. Loved it!
The only negative ..... no pool. That was a touch they should have considered. However, the staff will guide you to area pool's, should you be so inclined.
Come up with a reason to go to Cedar Rapids (good luck, lol) and spend the night with them (or, the weekend!)

Room Tip: All the rooms are nice ... really nice .... but treat yourself to a suite on the high floors, they a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ray S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Traverse City, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 October 2013 via mobile

My wife and I celebrated our wedding anniversary at The Hotel at Kirkwood Center this past weekend and were pleasantly surprised with our experience. The rooms were spacious and well-appointed, the restaurant at the hotel is not your typical hotel restaurant and our host was gracious and professional. Brian and his team at the front desk did an excellent job accommodating and welcoming us to the hotel.

We felt appreciated by the staff and will certainly return next time we are in the Cedar Rapids area.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Tomás P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cedar Rapids hotels
5.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cedar Rapids Convention Complex
8.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Cedar Rapids - North
1.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Cedar Rapids Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Cedar Rapids North
3.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Cedar Rapids
Hampton Inn Cedar Rapids
#5 of 36 in Cedar Rapids
416 reviews
8.7 mi away
Cedar Rapids Marriott
Cedar Rapids Marriott
#19 of 36 in Cedar Rapids
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel at Kirkwood Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel at Kirkwood Center

Property: The Hotel at Kirkwood Center
Address: 7725 Kirkwood Blvd SW, Cedar Rapids, IA 52404-5231
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Iowa > Cedar Rapids
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Cedar Rapids
#1 Green Hotel in Cedar Rapids
#2 Family Hotel in Cedar Rapids
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cedar Rapids
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Hotel at Kirkwood Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 71-room hotel at Kirkwood Center includes six deluxe suites and meeting space for every event, from business to pleasure. The Hotel at Kirkwood Center is the largest and most comprehensive teaching hotel in the United States. It is staffed by professional management and lead staff assisted by Kirkwood students. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Preferred Hotels, Ebookers, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Hotel at Kirkwood Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel At Kirkwood Cedar Rapids
The Hotel At Kirkwood Center Cedar Rapids, Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing