We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“March 6, 2014 stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Hotel at Kirkwood Center
Ranked #2 of 36 Hotels in Cedar Rapids
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
dixon il
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“March 6, 2014 stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

What a lovely surprise to find this hotel! It felt as if we were in a city of a much larger size. The rooms were comfortable and beautifully decorated. The restaurant for breakfast was delicious. Great job to all the students and staff that work so hard to make our stay enjoyable.

Room Tip: Oops ... No pool!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank elociny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    177
    35
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
53
35
8
98
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

We stayed 2 nights at the Kirkwood. There are other hotels in the same price range, and lower, that offer more amenities.
The hotel was fairly new and had a modern appearance. The room had lots of handy plugins for charging all your electronic devices before heading out the next day and a large pullout section of the desk on wheels that you could move around the room.
The keurig coffee maker in the room was a plus, but half of the K-cups were way past their expiration date. If I stay there again I will probably bring some from home to use in their machine. Beds were comfy and had lots of pillows. They were listed as queen sized, but felt more like doubles when sharing with another person.
I was disappointed that the shower didn't appear to have been cleaned in awhile, but the overall appearance of the room and the hallways were clean. There was a lot of noise overnight which seemed to be coming from outside the hotel. Our room was on the south side, perhaps the front side rooms overlooking the parking lot are quieter.
We used the shuttle service once and it was very handy. We notified the desk we were ready to leave, and the shuttle was available almost immediately. This hotel would be an excellent choice for a business traveler or adult couples/groups. I don't feel it's the best setup for families traveling with children.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Amy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keokuk, Iowa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

You are in for an amazing experience when you choose this hotel for your business or personal stay. This is a teaching hotel, affiliated with Kirkwood Community College, but the staff is nothing but well trained professionals. The level of training among the staff is unmatched. Every detail is perfected to ensure that your stay is flawless. I couldn't find one complaint during my stay at the hotel. The restaurant is an experience in its' self. Gourmet breakfast items, unique menu and perfect service. If you are a traveler that prefers accommodations above the cookie cutter branded hotels, you will love this place!

Room Tip: the corner rooms are amazing, two full walls of windows, beautiful!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kelly N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

I stayed at The Hotel at Kirkwood Center mid-week in February 2014 for just one night in between business meetings. I knew that this property was associated with Kirkwood Community College and that it is a teaching hotel where students in the hospitality program at the college learn and work. But, I had no idea that it would be such a top-shelf quality location. I was completely blown away from the moment I walked in the front door. The design of the hotel is high-end style, the service I received was perfect, and the room itself was impeccably clean, bright, and loaded with all the electrical, tech, computer connections I could possibly need. Everything from the drapes to the carpet to the bedding was beautiful. The bathroom was literally nicer than ANY bathroom I've had in rooms at any Starwood property, including the St. Regis brand. The entire time I was inside the hotel I felt like I was in a very sophisticated, big-city, 5-star property. I also had room service and every aspect of the experience from the phone conversation while ordering to the last bite of food was wonderful. The only negative I could even dream up to say is that it's on the pricey side for a moderate Midwestern town....but, that doesn't mean it's not worth every penny paid. I would choose to stay at this hotel every single travel night for the rest of my life if it was available in every city I travel to. Seriously. I was there on business in the middle of winter, so I cannot speak to any sort of family use, pool, or other non-business needs. If you're a business traveler this is the only place you should choose in Cedar Rapids. And, a side benefit is that by staying here you're also helping to educate future hospitality workers from the college. Pretty sweet.

Room Tip: The hotel is small so there likely isn't any advantage or disadvantage to any particular part of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NewfiePupLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olathe, Kansas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

Definitely easy to see why it's the best rated place in Cedar Rapids, IA. Great room, great bar, great restaurant, great staff. It's a learning/training center but you would hardly ever know it if not for the different uniforms.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AMillionWays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anacortes, Washington
Level Contributor
197 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2014

This is a very nice hotel located on the grounds of Kirkwood Community College. It is staffed by students from the hospitality and hotel management program. It is located out in the country, not really convenient to anything but the college and some surrounding industries. A car is a must to get there. The architecture is like a big city luxury hotel, with lots of cool touches like a freestanding glass fireplace in the lobby. My room was very large. Fixtures and amenities like a luxury hotel: glass shower, Euro plumbing fixtures, tasteful contemporary furniture and decorations. Lots of towels and good quality amenities. No microwave or refrigerator. Windows will not open in the room, a real negative for me, but it was very cold out and I probably would not have slept with the windows open. Rack rates are around $180/n, reasonable for the quality. The gym is small and has only four cardio machines and no weights, but rumor has it that guests can go to the fancy college fitness center down the road. Dinner in the hotel restaurant was excellent and the menu is imaginative. Breakfast service was a bit slow. Free fast internet in the room. Business center off the lobby. A very nice place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wguterbock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
106 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

Stayed here for a recent business trip to Cedar Rapids. This is a very nice hotel and I was particularly impressed with the room size, cleanliness and also the food. The room was very clean, contemporary and had a nice "vibe"... (especially in Cedar Rapids). I also ordered room service and the food arrived promptly and was very good. I am typically a Hilton loyalist, but I will absolutley choose this hotel again when I travel to the Cedar Rapids area. I would recommend this hotel without reservation.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HudsonScooterMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cedar Rapids hotels
5.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cedar Rapids Convention Complex
8.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Cedar Rapids - North
1.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Cedar Rapids Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Cedar Rapids North
8.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#14 of 36 in Cedar Rapids
4.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Cedar Rapids
Hampton Inn Cedar Rapids
#6 of 36 in Cedar Rapids
4.0 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel at Kirkwood Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel at Kirkwood Center

Property: The Hotel at Kirkwood Center
Address: 7725 Kirkwood Blvd SW, Cedar Rapids, IA 52404-5231
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Iowa > Cedar Rapids
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Cedar Rapids
#1 Green Hotel in Cedar Rapids
#2 Family Hotel in Cedar Rapids
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cedar Rapids
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Hotel at Kirkwood Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 71-room hotel at Kirkwood Center includes six deluxe suites and meeting space for every event, from business to pleasure. The Hotel at Kirkwood Center is the largest and most comprehensive teaching hotel in the United States. It is staffed by professional management and lead staff assisted by Kirkwood students. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Hotel at Kirkwood Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel At Kirkwood Cedar Rapids
The Hotel At Kirkwood Center Cedar Rapids, Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing