We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time with Hawthorne”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Cedar Rapids North
Ranked #20 of 36 Hotels in Cedar Rapids
Reviewed 30 September 2010

I am an active duty military traveler and generally stay with another brand, who during my week long stay in Cedar Rapids was not available. The Hawthorn was suggested to me by a coworker.

I found the front desk personnel very friendly and knowledgable of the surrounding area. I also liked that I was able to buy beer right at the front desk for my small refrigerator in the room. Very nice touch for the traveler who just spent the better part of the day getting to Cedar Rapids. Breakfasts and the dinners were well done, but on par with typical hotel food that is done for free at various extended stay types of hotels.

If I had a complaint with my room , it was the mysterious cigarette smell that came from my bathroom during the evening hours that drove me crazy. I placed a couple calls to the front desk to complain and we diagnosed it to the bathroom fan/vent. Somewhere someone was sneaking a cigarette (non-smoking hotel) during the evenings using their bathroom fan/vent to exhaust their smoke. The culprit was never found. My solution? Close the bathroom door and run my fan to push the smoke out.

The wireless internet in the hotel was ok, but not great. They have several hubs to wirelessly connect to, but I found that they were all just weak enough to give me headaches with staying connected. When it worked, it worked well.

To close, I would also say the beds were fantastic and I slept very soundly each night of my stay.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank orionreplay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (283)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

277 - 283 of 283 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2010

We stayed at the Hawthorn Suites after a wedding in Cedar Rapids. The rooms very large, comfortable and provided all the services expected at most hotels these days (free wifi, pet friendly, 24 hour pool, continental breakfast, etc). The beds were wonderful and the decor of the hotel was quite updated (except for flat screen tv's). I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a comfortable and central location in Cedar Rapids.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank want2travelm0re
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2010

Wonderful hotel! Does not charge extra for pets. Continental breakfast was very good. A/C was already on when we entered our room, so no stuffy feeling. Very comfortable beds.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JMB92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2009

Cleanliness, a comfortable bed and good pillows are the key to a good stay to me. Someone in the hotel room above mine was stomping around all evening which was annoying, but I won't let that stop me from staying here again, hopefully that was an unusual occurence. Rooms have a large desk, refrigerator, microwave (with complimentary popcorn) and a seating area. Complimentary breakfast buffet has lots of options and is very tasty.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GreatExpectations82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2005

Our family of four stayed in mid-July. A newer hotel that was clean and nice. We had a suite room, which I think is standard there. It was a bit small but ok. The pool was nice and clean. Recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BoredAgent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2004

My family and I stayed at the Cedar Rapids Hawthorn Suites LTD for three nights and had a pleasant experience. This is a Hawthorn Suites "LTD", which basically seems to mean that you get full maid service every other day unless you ask.

The hotel is located in a sea of auto dealerships just off I-380. Our room faced the highway, but noise was not a problem. There is also an adjacent railroad. In three days, I heard only two trains go past, but they do rumble by and blow their whistles.

The property was clean and inviting. Our room was nicely appointed: we had a one bedroom suite, which includes a sofabed, a TV in each room, and a kitchen with a fridge/freezer, two-burner cooktop, sink, 10-cup coffeemaker, dishwasher, and microwave. The TVs received a full Basic cable slate of about 50 channels, plus HBO. The "living room" TV also had a VCR. While I didn't see a two-bedroom suite, I understand they have fireplaces.

With your room you get breakfast every morning, and Monday through Thursday evenings they offered what they called a "Manager's Reception," but was really more of a light supper. Breakfasts offered a variety of hot and cold offerings, including eggs, breakfast burritos, sausage, bacon, hash browns, oatmeal, various cold cereals, breads and bagels, juices, make-your-own-waffles, and coffee. There was always a big bowl of canned peaches, but no fresh fruit.

We only had one Manager's Reception during our stay. They offered chicken stir fry, with rice and some little egg rolls, and post-mix soda and wine and beer to drink. Quality of both breakfast and supper were about on par with what I remember from my college dining hall: certainly nothing to get excited about, and not restaurant quality. However, the savings for this family of four was significant. According to the calendar in our room, every Monday night is (Pappa John's) pizza night.

There is a pleasant little indoor pool that our children enjoyed, and a hot tub.

The staff were exceptionally friendly, and very helpful.

We had a few small nits to pick: we did cook in our kitchenette, and while there was some dish liquid, there was no dishwasher detergent, sponge, or kitchen/paper towels for cleaning (staff did happily find some for us). And, it always bugs me when I reserve a room for four people in advance, and the room is clearly not ready for all of us. There were not enough bath towels, and the sofa bed was not made. Again, the front desk happily sent up the sheets and towels, but it seems as if that should be ready if I have reserved weeks ahead of time.

Overall, however, a pleasant experience. Recommended for families looking to save a few bucks.

6  Thank ThatRHguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank SANYAZEVEDO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cedar Rapids hotels
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Cedar Rapids - North
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#18 of 36 in Cedar Rapids
65 reviews
9.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Cedar Rapids Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Cedar Rapids North
0.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Cedar Rapids
3.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cedar Rapids Convention Complex
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Cedar Rapids North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Cedar Rapids North

Address: 4444 Czech Ln NE, Cedar Rapids, IA 52402 (Formerly Hawthorn Suites)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Iowa > Cedar Rapids
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in Cedar Rapids
Price Range: £71 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Cedar Rapids North 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Settle in nicely with the Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Cedar Rapids North. We are an upscale, ultra modern, extended stay, four story hotel with 82 Studio and One Bedroom Suites, plus meeting facilities, business center, indoor pool and whirlpool. Our signature amenities include full hot breakfast buffet daily and a Monday through Thursday evening managers reception. Here at the Country Inn & Suites By Carlson we have all the comforts of home, and then some. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Cedar Rapids North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham Cedar Rapids Hotel Cedar Rapids
Hawthorn Suites Cedar Rapids
Cedar Rapids Hawthorn Suites
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Cedar Rapids North Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing