We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Standard Fairfield Inn” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites Cedar Rapids

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Cedar Rapids
Ranked #9 of 36 Hotels in Cedar Rapids
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
409 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 377 helpful votes
“Standard Fairfield Inn”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

We stayed here for one night while on a 6-State Road Trip, chosen due to previous experience of this chain, good reviews on TA and utilising accumulated Marriott Points. Typically, it is a few miles from Downtown Cedar Rapids and located near main thoroughfares and a few shops and chain restaurants, which we did not visit. The Double Queen Room was spacious, clean and well appointed and met our needs for an overnight stay. As is the norm with the Fairfield Chain, there was a small gym, a guest laundry and a pool. Breakfast was of a decent standard with a reasonable selection of hot and cold items. This hotel is a good choice if travelling through Cedar Rapids and needing to stop for a day or two; it met our expectations as this reliable chain usually does. As an aside and advice for other potential road trippers; Cedar Falls has a much prettier downtown than Cedar Rapids and if planning this trip again, we would opt to stay in Cedar Falls.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travelpassion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    48
    14
    3
    8
See reviews for
67
23
6
49
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Illinois
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

This hotel is under a year old and still has that new building smell. Great set up right of the main road of 380. Very close to General Mills, Heinz, Cargill, and Quaker Oats if you service either of these companies. There are several places to eat close by within walking distance and you are five minutes drive from downtown.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dwight S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

I have used this hotel for blocks of rooms previously and the manager was great to work with. I was planning another show this fall so I booked a block of rooms and added them to my invitation and after a management change they would not honor the previously agreed upon rate. The manager could care a less about 24 rooms being booked. Very disappointing. I am glad that Cedar Rapids has so many great hotels to choose from. I just wish I would have known about the new manager before I sent out my invitations.

Room Tip: Cedar Rapids has many great hotels. this is not one of them. i would look elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CIDCR_GM, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Cedar Rapids, responded to this review, 25 August 2013
Please accept my apology for the error in communication. I have been the General Manager of the hotel since it opened in 2012. The Sales Manager that you previously worked with has left our company. I apologize that I gave you the impression that I didn’t want your business. The issue was we could not agree on the rate for your group.
For this September, on the date you requested, we are expecting to sell out. Based on the demand, time of year and your group’s pickup history, we offered you a rate $10 higher than you paid in March, which still represented a 15% discount. You requested a 25% discount, and we declined your offer.
As we do not have a rate agreement with your company, all group requests are handled as separate negotiations. If you were not aware of that, I apologize. It is never our intention to inconvenience or upset anyone. I sincerely regret that happened in this case.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

After driving for 9 hours, we decided to spend the night in Cedar Rapids for an overnight stop. this hotel was perfect! It is a block off the main strip! The hotel was decorated really nice & the whole hotel decor had a fresh look to it..kinda retro feel! I liked it! Breakfast was good. The staff was very nice throughout the hotel stay. The front desk gave us a coupon for a mexican restaurant up the road! Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level Contributor
158 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

I had stayed at the old location several times and always enjoyed my stay. But, when I checked into their newer location just down the street, I was impressed! Very modern and clean. The room was very nice and comfortable. The staff was friendly and helpful. I must say, this was a good move for them as well as myself!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Creekguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

Nice staff. Clean room with comfortable beds. Fridge in the room was convenient because we always travel with sandwiches and snacks instead of eating out. Nice hot continental breakfast is a money saver for families too.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeff Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013

Stayed here for 2 weeks on two different occasions. The room and hotel has a very clean and fresh look. The room service is awesome and so is the free morning breakfast. Free internet is offered but I had issues connecting to the wi-fi using my personal laptop whereas my office laptop connected fine. Had to call the helpdesk who fixed it promptly but the problem re-occured.... nevertheless... not a big deal. its right off the interstate - close to the airport - about 15 mins. Has a lot of eating places nearby - McDonalds, subway, Bk.

Room Tip: Parking is a problem if you come late, beware to not park in the adjoining parking as they have a si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ajayr04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cedar Rapids hotels
6.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Cedar Rapids - North
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Cedar Rapids
Hampton Inn Cedar Rapids
#6 of 36 in Cedar Rapids
4.0 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
3.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Cedar Rapids Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Cedar Rapids North
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Cedar Rapids South
Residence Inn Cedar Rapids South
#20 of 36 in Cedar Rapids
4.5 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
2.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cedar Rapids Convention Complex
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Cedar Rapids? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Cedar Rapids

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites Cedar Rapids
Address: 605 32nd Avenue SW, Cedar Rapids, IA 52404
Region: United States > Iowa > Cedar Rapids
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Cedar Rapids
#7 Business Hotel in Cedar Rapids
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Cedar Rapids 2.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for Hotels in Cedar Rapids, Iowa? The Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott, a hotel in Cedar Rapids near Iowa City features free Wi-Fi, Complimentary breakfast & Indoor Swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Cedar Rapids reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn & Suites Cedar Rapids Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing