We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sketchy neighborhood”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Cedar Rapids
Ranked #11 of 36 Hotels in Cedar Rapids
Moorhead, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Sketchy neighborhood”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

This hotel was new and clean, but it wasn't in a great part of town. (Although, in the driving around that we did we never seemed to run into a really "nice" part of town!)
We enjoyed the pool with the kids and I will give it a high rating for being quiet and clean. The staff was also very pleasant.
I would stay there again, especially compared to the run down hotels in the vicinity of this hotel.
Oh, if the Marriott chain ever reads this...what gives with your color scheme?!

Room Tip: We were on the main floor near the pool and other than a few shuffles from the upstairs neighbor is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank howitstacks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    51
    15
    3
    10
See reviews for
69
29
7
51
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Ive stayed in several different hotels but I have to say this one is by far one of the best. Service was excellent. They went out of their way to accomidate me any way they could. The lady behind the desk seen me walking out with an envelope & stopped me just to let me know she would mail it off for me if I wanted. If you are traveling through Cedar Rapids IA its the place to stay. Very professional & clean.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DTVTech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

After six days of touring and six nights of hotels, the Fairfield Inn was our last stop. For days I heard that we should change our reservation to another hotel based upon comments made by inlaws who live in town. I could not have been more pleased to prove them wrong. The Fairfield was the best stay of our vacation. New, friendly, clean, great breakfast... it proved to be a great deal. This is a prime example as to why I trust TripAdvisor to be a reliable source for travel reviews - its certainly more reliable than the inlaws.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank WiTraveler17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
homewood, Il
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We just spent two evenings at the Fairfield Inn. The hotel is new, modern and very clean. Perfect location for a trip to watch the Kernel's.
The staff could not have been nicer or more helpful.
Thank you to Rachel, Danielle and Laurie

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank banachi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Pros: Location, Service, Facility, Amenities
Cons: They didn't tuck me in

In all seriousness, the expectations were all met or exceeded. If I asked them to tuck me in they probably would have. I was always welcomed with a smile, the building was in great condition, the price was right. Everything I could have wanted and more.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrippinRoy2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davenport
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 July 2014

I travel on business regularly and always stay at Marriott Properities. I have stayed at the Fairfield several times and not had an problems until now. I had a reservation for 7/9/14 and arrived at 10:15 PM after driving a few hours to get here only to be told "we had unexpected stay overs and don't have a room for you. You can stay at the Clarion just up the street". Apologizes we're offered but I was also told "this happen all the time" however true that is it didn't make me feel any better about the situation. If I wanted to stay at Clarion I would have made a reservation with them but wanted the quality room that I've always enjoyed at various Martiott Properities. When I make a reservation I expect my reservation to mean something. I left my home knowing I had a reservation with Marriott, but I was basically told we don't appreciate your business enough to have a room for you. How do you think that makes me feel about my Marriott rewards program? Perhaps I need to find a brand that truly appreciates their customers. This made me feel like an unappreciated commodity.

What made this worse is when I checked in at the Clarion, I asked the clerk how often they provide rooms for Fairfield customers who got bumped. She said five or six a week during her shifts! That tells me that there's either a management issue at the Fairfield or perhaps both properties have the same ownership and are simply trying to capture as many "Marriott" guests as they can, even though they only have a limited
number of rooms at the Fairfield to offer.

Regarding the Clarion, I've never stayed at one of their properties. The entire building was a bit run down and had a kind of stale smell. The room wasn't bad, the King size bed was comfortable but what really bothered me was the refrigerator. It was so loud every time it cycled on it woke me up. Not the ideal situation when I'm trying to sleep before an important meeting in the morning.

I travel to Cedar Rapids regularly but will think twice before staying at the Fairfield again. I prefer to be appreciated as a customer.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Regwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CIDCR_GM, Front Office Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Cedar Rapids, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Regwa-

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience. I can understand your frustration and want to let you know that this type of problem rarely occurs at our property. We had several rooms extend their stay therefore creating a need for us to find other accomodations for some of our guests that were due to arrive that day. The only hotel in our area that would be considered comparible to us that had rooms available was the Clarion. (We are not affliated with them.) I am sorry that your stay with them wasn't better. We did cover the charges for your room that evening and we also made sure that all of your Marriott Rewards points were added to your account.
We look forward to your return at our property. Please feel free to contact me directly if you need anything.



Jeri Schrader
Front Office Manager
Fairfield Inn and Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overland Park, Kansas
1 review
Reviewed 9 July 2014

I traveled to Cedar Rapids for business and I am glad I chose the Fairfield Inn & Suites. The staff was very friendly. They went above and beyond! Also, the room was very nice and clean. This looks like it is the best hotel in the area, by far.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cedar Rapids hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Cedar Rapids
Hampton Inn Cedar Rapids
#5 of 36 in Cedar Rapids
416 reviews
6.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Cedar Rapids - North
3.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Cedar Rapids Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cedar Rapids Convention Complex
5.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#17 of 36 in Cedar Rapids
59 reviews
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn Cedar Rapids South
Residence Inn Cedar Rapids South
#18 of 36 in Cedar Rapids
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Cedar Rapids? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Cedar Rapids

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites Cedar Rapids
Address: 605 32nd Ave SW, Cedar Rapids, IA 52404-3911
Region: United States > Iowa > Cedar Rapids
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Cedar Rapids
#7 Business Hotel in Cedar Rapids
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Cedar Rapids 2.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for Hotels in Cedar Rapids, Iowa? The Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott, a hotel in Cedar Rapids near Iowa City features free Wi-Fi, Complimentary breakfast & Indoor Swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Cedar Rapids reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn & Suites Cedar Rapids Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing