We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gem of a Museum”

National Czech & Slovak Museum & Library
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Expanded 50,000 sq. ft. building opened in July 2012 with a world-class exhibit "Alphonse Mucha: Inspirations of Art Nouveau" featuring 230 pieces direct from Prague and London. Two other galleries feature rotating exhibitions on the culture, art and history of Czechs and Slovaks. And don't miss the two-room 1880's Czech immigrant house that was home to five generations. See the new museum store filled with European treasures and gifts. Stroll down Czech Village and also visit the exhibition, "Rising Above: the Store of a People and the Flood" located a 87 Sixteenth Ave. SW
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Lockers / storage
Cedar Rapids, Iowa, United States
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Gem of a Museum”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The National Czech and Slovak Museum and Library is a gem of a small museum that explores the heritage/history of the Cedar Rapids population. We were there for a wedding and wandered through the museum. We will certainly return.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    180
    60
    8
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Granger, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Beautiful Historic Museum”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

I had the pleasure of visiting this wonderful museum last week. It is a beautiful museum with exhibits that give a great overview of Czechs in the area. This museum also has a wonderful library and archives full of historical books and artifacts. The staff and volunteers that I encountered were all helpful, professional & friendly. There is a very nice gift shop and a parking garage underneath the museum.

According to the film shown and those that I spoke to at the museum, the museum was completely under water during the flood here in 2008. There was great loss of many books and exhibits. The museum building was moved to higher ground and I think that story is amazing and I commend all who were involved!

I would recommend a visit to this museum, even if you do not share Czech & Slovak heritage, it is worth your time!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank GTWD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guilderland, New York
Level 6 Contributor
212 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
“Wonderful Museum!”
Reviewed 9 May 2014

If you have Eastern European ancestry, then you should definitely visit this interesting museum! My husband was able to look at the library records, and find out when his grandparents came to Ellis Island. The fascinating history of the countries is presented beautifully throughout the building. Make sure you look carefully at the intricate designs of all the hand-made costumes that are on display!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank MaryEllen22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Masquerade”
Reviewed 30 April 2014

I was here for a masquerade for a benefit. It was a really nice facility, and the underground parking was awesome because it was about -20F outside.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank ameliamaern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Liberty, Iowa
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very Interesting Museum”
Reviewed 17 April 2014

I found this to be a very Interesting Museum. Having family from this area. I never knew how much turmoil this area of the world has suffered over so many centuries.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ezra63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed National Czech & Slovak Museum & Library also viewed

 

Been to National Czech & Slovak Museum & Library? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing