We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pay For Intenet in My Room???”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cedar Rapids Convention Complex
Ranked #3 of 37 Hotels in Cedar Rapids
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 January 2014

I was disappointed that my membership was not able to be found by the front desk personnel upon check-in and we had to review e-mails to find it for them. I was not thrilled that there was no fridge or microwave in our room, since I normally have these when I travel and I travel all of the time. I was shocked to find out that you expected me to pay $9.99 per day to access internet in my room. I am traveling on business all the time. I rely on my internet service to keep in touch with my Clients and Associates. I will not be forced to pay additional charges for a service I get free in other hotel branches and I don't believe your facility warrants additional charges as opposed to any Holiday Inn I have stayed in. What do you think makes Hilton so special, that could justify the additional charges?

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
1  Thank Brian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DTCedarRapidsManager, Director of Rooms at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cedar Rapids Convention Complex, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

We apologize for the poor level of service and amenities you experienced during your stay. Did you know that you can get free internet with your HHonors status? We hope the next time you're in the area you would consider staying with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (967)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

844 - 850 of 967 reviews

Reviewed 15 January 2014

Lovely looking hotel, but if you like sleeping I wouldn't stay there. There is a train next to the hotel. The tracks run through the middle of the town and the train passed three times the during the night blowing the whistle all the way. There is also a fire station unbelievably right across the street as well. Don't know why this hotel would be placed where it is.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
2  Thank Ann Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DTCedarRapidsManager, Director of Rooms at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cedar Rapids Convention Complex, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

We apologize for the noise level outside of our hotel. We now offer ear plugs and sleep masks at the front desk now to help alleviate this issue. The next time you are in the area we hope you would consider staying with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

This is my first stay since the hotel was re-opened after major renovations. It is a total transformation. Although small, the rooms were well appointed and clean. The pool area and workout facilities are wonderful. We attended an event and the food and service were excellent. Great staff as well. The only downside is the train that comes through in the middle of the night.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
1  Thank Barb S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

The internet is not free at the facility. Since I normally stay at locations that have free internet, I wll not stay here again. Overall accomodations were good but again lack of internet access was a drawback to staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
1  Thank Douglas P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DTCedarRapidsManager, Director of Rooms at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cedar Rapids Convention Complex, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Thank you for your recent stay, and for your review. We do have certain areas of the hotel where internet is complimentary, and did you know that based upon your Honors status internet is free?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

We live in Cedar Rapids and chose to use the Doubletree as the place to hold our Christmas Party. The hotel is a VERY nice meeting place and one of the nicest hotels in the city. The Bud Light lounge was a great place to meet before heading to the party. The restaurant on the top floor of the hotel has great views of the city and had a great atmosphere. And, of course, I don't want to forget the cookies they give you at check in because they are awesome!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
1  Thank 365mikeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

I had not been to Cedar Rapids and had no clue where to stay. The Doubletree was close to my appointment and knowing the chain, felt it would meet my needs. My surprise came first in how accommodating the staff was at check in. They went out of their way to assist us with a large vehicle we were driving. They also were extremely pleasant both at checking and during entire stay. Room was fine, nothing out of the ordinary. Convenient to downtown, attached to convention center and best of all, very competitively priced. Would definitely stay there again if need arises.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chuckos77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Very clean, and the staff was nice, helpful and went out of there way to make our stay enjoyable. One staff member gave us her personal fan to use overnight. We forgot ours and are used to sleeping with one, so that was very much appreciated.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
1  Thank Linda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cedar Rapids hotels
3.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Cedar Rapids - North
5.3 mi away
The Hotel at Kirkwood Center
The Hotel at Kirkwood Center
#1 of 37 in Cedar Rapids
253 reviews
3.5 mi away
Cedar Rapids Marriott
Cedar Rapids Marriott
#18 of 37 in Cedar Rapids
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Cedar Rapids North
6.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Cedar Rapids Airport, IA
2.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Cedar Rapids
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cedar Rapids Convention Complex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cedar Rapids Convention Complex

Address: 350 1st Ave NE, Cedar Rapids, IA 52401-1108
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Iowa > Cedar Rapids
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cedar Rapids
#5 Business Hotel in Cedar Rapids
Price Range: £95 - £161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cedar Rapids Convention Complex 3.5*
Number of rooms: 294
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of downtown Cedar Rapids, Iowa, the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cedar Rapids Convention Complex is connected to U.S. Cellular Arena and the new U.S. Cellular Convention Center. Perfect for business or leisure travelers, the hotel offers an indoor swimming pool and modern 24-hour fitness center, along with over 80,000 sq ft of meeting and banquet space. Enjoy great location from our hotel near Kinnick Stadium, 30 minutes away! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Hilton Hotels Direct, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cedar Rapids Convention Complex reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
DoubleTree By Hilton Hotel Cedar Rapids Convention Complex Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing