We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not your ordinary pizza.”
Review of Tomaso's Pizza

Tomaso's Pizza
Ranked #58 of 413 Restaurants in Cedar Rapids
Restaurant details
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Not your ordinary pizza.”
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Tomaso's Pizza offers a nice variety of crust options. We like the Detroit ~ pan-style with carmelized cheese out to the edge and sauce on top. We also like their New York style thin crust. It's just the right amount of crust in a hand-tossed style. Our two favorite specialty pizzas are the Mombo Combo and Taco. This is not the restaurant for you if you're going for ambiance, but what it lacks in atmosphere, it makes up for in a great pizza taste.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Biking_Couple703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    26
    10
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good but not as good as Zoey's”
Reviewed 17 April 2013

Why Should You Go? I really like it - still think Zoey's is better but if you don't want to wait an hour for a table - it's a very close second.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FoodHussy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marion, Iowa
Level Contributor
179 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“So NOT worth it!”
Reviewed 25 February 2013

I have a family of 6 pizza connoisseurs. I worked in the pizza restaurant industry many years and also make my own pizzas. We try pizza everywhere we go. We are still fairly new to this area and just getting out to the pizza places, so decided to try this place one night. The Detroit crust Mombo Combo is their most ordered item and specialty, so that is what we tried. For the cost of the pizza, ti should have been fully loaded with cheese and toppings. It was not. We were VERY disappointed. The crust is OK. The toppings were sparse. The sauce was a minor drizzle on top. Overall, it just was not a very well balanced or exceptionally tasty pizza pie. All six of my family members were in immediate agreement that we would not waste our taste buds by eating here again. Zoey's will remain our top favorite for the moment. However, I am told there is a good place on the SW side of CR called Leonardo's that we need to try next. Forver in search of pizza nirvana.......

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bleutalefly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Go for the Detroit Crust”
Reviewed 28 January 2013

This is a regular take out stop for us and arguably some of the best pizza in town.

This is a local effort,with the Center Point Rd and 32nd St location being the anchor. The place started just as a guy making pizzas on his own,and grew from there. They have locations in Hiawatha and Marion as well, any references to Edgewood Rd or the SE side are outdated. Most of my comments apply to the CP&32nd St location.

The pizza is fresh made, dough from scratch, and ingredients first rate. Expect. A pizza to take. 30 to 60min and cost $20+, but both the cost and wait are worth it.

We prefer takeout,only because of the wait and the place being small, loud, and hot.

Very good thin crust, even better Detroit crust, Chicago Deep Dish is OK, but go to Zoeys for that. Detroit crust is their name for a medium thick crust with no lip at the edge, so the cheese caramelizes a bit, the sauce is also served on top. Try the Mombo Combo or the Garden. They do not cut the Detroit or the Chicago style if it is to go unless asked. (Expect a soggy crust if you have them cut it)

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank BeernFood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merida, Mexico
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Our only pizza place in CR”
Reviewed 25 January 2013

Best ingredients, hands down. I'm from Chicago and this place is the real deal. Get the Mombo Combo. I usually get the thin crust but you really gotta try the Detroit once in a while.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank oskeebob1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tomaso's Pizza also viewed

 

Been to Tomaso's Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing