We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice menu selection, excellent service”

The Class Act Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
The Class Act Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #8 of 417 Restaurants in Cedar Rapids
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$30
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 76th St SW
Transit: Kirkwood Blvd and 76th St SW.
Description: The Class Act Restaurant, located within The Hotel at Kirkwood Center, is eastern Iowa's newest and tastiest gourmet restaurant. Just minutes from popular attractions in downtown Cedar Rapids and Iowa City, The Class Act Restaurant provides great food and outstanding service in a hip, yet friendly and comfortable environment unlike any other in Cedar Rapids. In addition to offering an outstanding menu featuring the very best locally-grown produce and select fare from around the country, The Class Act also serves as a real-time, real-world teaching environment for Kirkwood's groundbreaking Culinary Arts program. Our menus are designed differently, far more creatively, in response to our teaching responsibility, and to provide the dining experience you and your family and friends expect. The Class Act offers the premier spot in Cedar Rapids whether you're looking to celebrate with friends and family, invite your clients for a great meal while in town, or just enjoy a romantic evening for two. From haute cuisine to home cookin', The Class Act offers dishes designed for just about any appetite - and just about any budget. Whether you seek light bites such as our gourmet small plates, savor culinary delights like the Iowa-cut pork chop or seasonal risotto, or simply prefer to dig into the juicy, farm-fresh flavors of the signature Class Act Burger, our seasonal breakfast, lunch, weekend brunch, and dinner menus offer something to suit your tastes. Or stop in and enjoy one of the tasty cocktails or wines from the restaurant's bar and extensive wine cellar. And don't miss the sweet delights our award-winning dessert menu to provide the perfect finish to your day. You have very high expectations for what is prepared here. And rightly so. Enjoy amazing gourmet food, unmatched service and a surprisingly agreeable check. Together with our breathtaking decor and quiet ambience, we've created a flawless experience that is truly a Class Act.
McKinney, TX
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 415 helpful votes
“Nice menu selection, excellent service”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

I liked the menu selection, and the service was excellent. Try the flat iron steak for dinner and the eggs benedict for breakfast.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank STC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    50
    13
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Well prepared and presented.”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We ate two breakfasts and a lunch here. The menu variety is good and the food well prepared and presented with ample quantities. We found the experiences very pleasant but service is slow but very personable. If you go plan to relax and enjoy.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Willco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Lamb was superb”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

The waiter was a brand new graduate of the Kirkwood culinary school. He was knowledgeable, affable, and completely professional. I had the lamb with ancient grains. It was prepared exactly to my specifications. I cleaned my plate. I thoroughly enjoyed my meal and would return again.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank 2013traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee B, Manager at The Class Act Restaurant, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear 2013Traveler-

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at The Class Restaurant.

We take pride in not only training the future of this industry but also serving the freshest, highest quality, local ingredients we can find in this area. Our lamb is no exception- it literally comes from a farm about 10 miles up the road.

We are so glad that you enjoyed both the food and the service. I will make sure to share your comments with our staff.

We hope to see you again if your travels bring you back to Iowa.

Melanie Abu-Nameh
Director of Food and Beverage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Great ambiance, great food”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

There are few fancy restaurants in Cedar Rapids (although there's plenty of great local eateries). The Class Act is a step above. Great date night out, decor is classy and food is amazing and a lot of it is purchased from local farmers. Service was fast.

Pros:
Price, for the caliber of restaurant the price is reasonable. Our meals were $15-20/plate
Menu is always changing, since a lot is locally grown they have new things on the menu seasonally.
Being a teaching venue it is managed well, please keep in mind it is a teaching venue.

Cons: trying to wrestle my husband into a tie to go

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank herd_of_5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastern Iowa
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Delicious food and excellent atmosphere, proper fine dining”
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We tried this restaurant for the first time for our anniversary dinner. We were looking for something upscale but without bizarre food. This fit the bill perfectly. We shared the Flag of Italy small plate as an appetizer which was delicious. My husband had the Steak and Potatoes which he said was perfect, and I chose the Local pork with Garlic Confit, which were stuffed tenderloins and delicious as well. We both opted for the house salad to start Since it was our anniversary, they offered us a complimentary dessert as well. We shared the Peanut butter chocolate cheesecake which was ridiculously good. The decor was very nice, we were seated immediately even though we were about 10 minutes early for our reservation. The spacing of the tables was very nice, not too close to others, but enough room to accommodate larger parties and still enjoy the meal and conversation. Our server was very nice and friendly and very helpful and the way they serve was very well timed. Our reservation was at 530 and we had theater tickets for 730 (which we didn't mention to anyone). They brought each course in a very timely fashion that allowed us to enjoy each without rushing. We left the restaurant at 645 which was perfect timing to make the play. We will definitely go back for another anniversary or even for a fancy dinner with the family.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BetChester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Class Act Restaurant also viewed

 
Cedar Rapids, IA
Cedar Rapids, IA
 

Been to The Class Act Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing