We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Bed and Breakfast!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cedar Rapids
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Belmont Hill Victorian Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Cedar Rapids B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Grimes, Iowa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Bed and Breakfast!”
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

We had a wonderful time here at Belmont Hill. We stayed in the suite which was very large and comfortable. The breakfast was delicious and the owners, Shelley and Ken, were very friendly. The grounds were beautiful and the price is very affordable. We will definitely be coming back here again! I highly recommend staying here!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
36
51
16
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 July 2014

My husband and I were in Cedar Rapids for about 10 days to visit family, friends, and points of interest in the area. Shelley and Ken welcomed us warmly and made a home for us. Our room was perfect -- good light for reading, super comfortable bed, convenient bathroom, and lots of big, fluffy towels. Use of the refrigerator in the adjacent storage room let us keep a bit of cheese to have with our glass of wine. (Stemmed glasses were already waiting on the little table.) Shelley's gracious table service and delicious breakfasts (at OUR convenience) started each morning on the right note. The grounds at the inn were beautiful with colorful spring flowers. When the time came to move on, we were sad to leave our new "framily."

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MLB525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 July 2014

This is the second time I have stayed with Shelly & Ken. They are absolutely great hosts and their attention to detail makes the visit very special. On both trips I had the opportunity to help with a Habitat for Humanity house build in the area hit by the 2008 flood. When I came home, and I do mean home after a fun/hard day building, the atmosphere on their property and the comfort of the room made it so easy for me to relax and enjoy a peaceful evening.

Shelly's warm smile and wonderful breakfast each morning made starting the day as enjoyable as returning home. The breakfast setting is very elegant and can make you want to return just to have breakfast everyday. The breakfast time is also an opportunity to get to know the other guests, which is enjoyable and something you don't get at the continental breakfast at the local hotels/motels.

The B&B experience is a warm comfortable way to visit your friends, family or while on business. During this last visit, one guest that had spent the last several months returning to Cedar Rapids on business stayed in the suite on the upper level of carriage house where she had an opportunity to bring her quilting materials and enjoy her past time while on the road. If that's not making you feel like home, I don't know what would.

I will be returning to Cedar Rapids on a regular basis to help with the rebuilding, and I will definitely be staying at the Belmont Hill each time.

Room Tip: The two rooms on the lower level of the Cottage House are wonderful quaint rooms. The suite on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schaumburg, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We rented out the entire carriage house for a girls trip and had a fabulous time! The rooms were quaint and clean. I loved the privacy of having the entire house to ourselves. The owners were an absolute delight and we enjoyed having conversations with them during breakfast. They were so friendly and really added to our wonderful experience. This is an oasis amongst a residential area with plenty of land to provide a feeling of remoteness. The breakfast was fantastic. Thank you for such a wonderful experience!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska
1 review
Reviewed 17 April 2014

It was a long time since I've been in Cedar Rapids~ perhaps 20 years! When I wanted to visit my sister she came up with the grand idea of the two of us staying in a B&B. I decided not to argue :) And what a brilliant idea it was. For the same price as a chain hotel we shared a beautiful second-floor suite. She had the king bed, I graciously accepted the double bed. The suite is arranged to provide privacy even though there was not a wall to separate us. My bed was so comfortable.

The three guests rooms are located in a lovingly restored carriage. Breakfast is served in the main house, just steps away. The grounds were not yet in bloom, the only disappointment experienced. I want to see it in full glory.

Breakfast was served at a time we choose. I've been in B&B's where the host chose the breakfast time~ not here! My sister and I decided 9:30 a.m. was a civilized time. Another guest, whom we never met, was a business man and he ate at 7 a.m. Every breakfast was gourmet and delicious. I LOVE coffee and it was excellent. I so easily could fall in love with enjoying breakfast everyday with fine china, crystal, crisply ironed tablecloths. We took our time eating and never once felt rushed.

The word "lovingly" is one I would use over and over to describe this historic B&B. The rooms "lovingly" decorated, the food "lovingly" prepared~ you get the idea. Already wanting to return in December as it is (you guessed it!) lovingly decorated to ensure an exquisite Victorian holiday.

Thank you so much for a much-needed respite! This B&B is exquisite and I highly recommend it.

Room Tip: The suite has two beds, both unique.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 April 2014 via mobile

I had the pleasure of staying three nights at Belmont Bed and Breakfast. The second floor carriage suite was lovely and the breakfasts were delicious. The grounds were peaceful with birds, squirrels and rabbits visiting a feeder in the yard. Shelly was a friendly and interesting hostess. It was an enjoyable and relaxing experience.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer47S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Imperial, Missouri
1 review
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We love traveling to places and staying in a Bed & Breakfast. Belmont Hill gives a feeling of "Victorian" done with much warmth and love of the history and beauty. The gracious owners thought of everything and welcomed us warmly. The food was wonderful and the setting beautiful. We will tell our friends and relatives about this "gem". The Magees.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katslife3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cedar Rapids hotels
1.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cedar Rapids Convention Complex
4.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Cedar Rapids - North
5.6 mi away
The Hotel at Kirkwood Center
The Hotel at Kirkwood Center
#2 of 36 in Cedar Rapids
5.0 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Cedar Rapids
Hampton Inn Cedar Rapids
#6 of 36 in Cedar Rapids
4.0 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
4.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Cedar Rapids North
2.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Cedar Rapids
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmont Hill Victorian Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmont Hill Victorian Bed and Breakfast

Property: Belmont Hill Victorian Bed and Breakfast
Address: 1525 Cherokee Dr NW, Cedar Rapids, IA 52405-2368
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Iowa > Cedar Rapids
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Cedar Rapids
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wake up someplace special! Whether a personal getaway, your honeymoon, or business travel, Belmont Hill Victorian B&B is the comfortable haven for which you are searching. Elegant guest rooms located in separate Carriage House, all with private baths. Gourmet breakfast served in the formal dining room of the main house. Free WiFi, satellite TV, off-street parking, central air-conditioning.1882 victorian home and carriage house on National Historic Register. Beautiful secluded grounds and gardens. Non-smoking indoors.Minutes from Cedar Rapids destinations like Brucemore Historic Mansion, CR Museum of Art, and more. 15 minutes from Eastern Iowa Airport, close to Iowa City and Amana Colonies. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Belmont Hill Victorian Bed And Breakfast Cedar Rapids, Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing