We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Quality Inn South

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quality Inn South
Ranked #29 of 36 Hotels in Cedar Rapids
Iowa City, Iowa
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

I was travelling with my family and stopped by to this place to have some rest as it was getting dark; I was informed by the front desk person that the property went under a great renovation and no wonder that it really looked great. All new look and appearance of the lobby. Room was great and breakfast was nice as well. Price paid was decent. I will stay here next time I am in this area.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sammy369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    17
    13
    5
    6
See reviews for
19
12
3
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Garden Plain, Kansas
Level Contributor
165 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2013

this hotel will either update and become a nice hotel and a good recommendation, or it will slide further down the slope toward the hack "stay if you must" that I have come to expect from the majority of Quality Inns. the staff is excellent (which is something the great chains seem to fail to do). the rooms are OK, the lighting is a trick to figure out. the wireless is touchy but OK (I was on the third floor) the tread mill is dangerous and the TV in the exercise room might as well be in the bathroom for its ease of viewing. Twice when running the water for my shower black stuff shot out but the tub drained better than many. breakfast was amazingly blah (just a word of advise to the management: trash cans in the dining area are a good thing) with just a few changes they can turn the corner. pillows too soft, towels nice

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank departingcontestant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Topeka, Kansas
Level Contributor
84 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2013

I did not plan on staying here, I had finished up my trade show for the weekend, checked the weather, and found that the 4-5 hour drive that I had to look forward to was snow and sleet, so I got on my Android app and snagged a room here with points.

The hotel is undergoing renovations right now, and it smelled of it in places. Not too bad, though. There was some materials piled on the floor here and there, in fact, I had to have some moved so that I could get into my room... however, the guy at the front was very quick about helping with that, and I had made my reservation very soon before then, so I really can't get upset, especially since they corrected the problem quickly and cheerfully.

One thing I want to note: The guy running the front was very helpful and easy to work with. If his supervisor is reading this, Give him a raise! :)

Since this was a "port in a storm" stay, I didn't give it the once over that I would have were I there for a few days, but here's some salient points I noted:

First, there is an elevator on this property. Didn't see how well it worked, as I was on the first floor.

Second, I easily found the ice machine (without any no coolers signs on it), and a reasonably priced pop machine and vending.

The parking lot was a little strange shaped, but I had no problems, probably because it was Sunday night and there weren't many people there that I could spot.

The breakfast was actually reasonably edible and did not made me sick, cheap food tends to do that, and this breakfast surprisingly did not.

The WiFi wasn't bad, but I did have to reset it several times. You can detect other wifi setups nearby, maybe one of those doesn't require a reset every couple of hours... :)

The room was kind of small, but OK for me. The bed was pushed up against the wall on one side and of course the head, and there was no room for it to be anywhere else. If you have someone else in the bed with you, they are going to have to get out on your side or the foot of the bed, period. Luckily, it was just me this time.

Overall, it seemed like a decent experience. It was not only a hop and a skip from my trade show, but there were fast food and convenience stores within easy walking distance.

Overall, not bad at all.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kansasccw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Litchfield, Minnesota
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

Facilities were very good, clean and comfortable. Very good breakfast. Would usually want pool but it was not necessary this time. Conveniently located near the freeway and cafes. This is our second stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

Checkin was fast and pleasant. The room, on the first floor, was your typical, average room. Towels were okay. The only problem I had with the room was the dirt, including popcorn kernels, along the bed and around the nightstand. Bed was comfortable.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andover, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2012

We decided to stay because of the warm continental breakfast, but little did we realize once we got past the lobby our desire for a warm breakfast in the morning would be the least of our wishes. We stayed on the 3rd floor and it smelled like a smoking lounge. We got into the room and it was freezing. The heater is the old "blow cold air and occassionally warm" until under the window. We found dried blood on one of the pillows. I brought it down and explained the pillow had a blood stain. He went away and came back with what I though was a new pillow. I checked it as I was in the elevator only to find the same blood spot on the pillow...obviously he just changed the outter pillow case, whent he blood was on the pillow. The pillow is covered by a zipped protector and then a pillow case. The zipped protector had spit stains on it. After exchaning the pillow a second time, we went to pull the covers down and found two very LONG grey hairs in our bed. The ceiling fan in the bathroom didn't work it just rattled but the fan didn't move. There were two bulbs missing in the lamps. And to top our visit - we asked for a late check out Sunday morning and we were informed this hopping town of Cedar Rapids was far to busy for them to allow an extended check out. I wanted to leave - but because we signed our paperwork, we could leave but they wouldn't credit us. OH! And, we also noticed the side door was propped open and didn't make us feel very secure. I will never stay at a quality in again and I plan on requesting my money back from their corporate offices. I will never be back here again.

Room Tip: They intermix their smoking rooms and non-smoking rooms. I would ask if the floor is non-smoking if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charter51891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakeville, Minnesota
Level Contributor
638 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2012

We were here for an event in the area so just needed a place to sleep...room was functionable & clean..all we needed two problems ...when we came back to room at 11:30 only parking place was a narrow one by pallet of stone where they are working on the outside...My wife had to get out then I could park next to pallet...the other problem was at 5AM we could hear ( woke me up) people in room above showering & walking around....If I stay again I'll try for top floor.

Room Tip: try top floor for a quieter room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MinnScooter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cedar Rapids hotels
0.3 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#28 of 36 in Cedar Rapids
3.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
0.4 mi away
Residence Inn Cedar Rapids South
Residence Inn Cedar Rapids South
#19 of 36 in Cedar Rapids
4.5 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
0.1 mi away
Red Roof Inn Cedar Rapids
Red Roof Inn Cedar Rapids
#25 of 36 in Cedar Rapids
4.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Economy Inn & Suites Cedar Rapids
0.1 mi away
Hometown Inn & Suites
Hometown Inn & Suites
#31 of 36 in Cedar Rapids
3.0 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Cedar Rapids
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn South

Property: Quality Inn South
Address: 390 33rd Ave SW, Cedar Rapids, IA 52404-5405 (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Iowa > Cedar Rapids
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 36 Hotels in Cedar Rapids
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cedar Rapids Quality Inn South offers you outstanding value! With fresh updates and our new Value Qs for You™ program, we’re confident you will get your money’s worth and feel right at home.Award-winning service from our friendly welcoming staff, and freshly-baked gourmet cookies greet you upon arrival. Free amenities like Wi-Fi, phone calls, and the Wall Street Journal are just the beginning.And we didn’t forget the most important part: your night’s sleep! The plush mattress of our new Q Bed™ is the perfect escape after a long day. Good Pillows, Good Sheets, Good Night! ™Wake-up to our new Q Corner Breakfast Café™. Belgian waffles, biscuits & gravy, bacon, eggs, and sausage and an expanded continental buffet give you choices that are Hot, Fresh, & Healthy™.At the Cedar Rapids Quality Inn South, we focus on the details so you can rest easy! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Inn South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Cedar Rapids
Cedar Rapids Comfort Inn
Quality Inn South Cedar Rapids, Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing