We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Was perfect for our mini-reunion”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Inn Cedar Rapids
Ranked #16 of 36 Hotels in Cedar Rapids
Waterford, Wi
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Was perfect for our mini-reunion”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

We were at a loss as to what to do when we found the hotel that we had booked was not going to work for us. (This is being kind.) We then went to other hotels in the area and actually looked at accomodations. The Residence had what we needed: a clean, large 2-bedroom suite. There were 7 of us, 4 generations who met halfway between Missouri and Wisconsin so our granddaughter and great-grandson who visited us from NC (her husband is deployed in the Middle East) could also see her Mom and family. The suite had a large living space including a kitchen with full-size refrigerator and microwave, stove with oven, a dishwasher and dishes. There was plenty of room for all of us at the table for games and seats in the living room area for visiting. There was even room for the brio train set we brought for our great grandson and his auntie. The sleeper sofa was very comfortable. The living area had a fireplace that we did not use. Both bedrooms had ample space, televisions and comfortable beds. We enjoyed the swimming area which was not hot and steamy like the one at the first hotel. They also served breakfast which included eggs, meat, potatoes and make your own waffles. Our only suggestion is that additional effort could be made to keep the food hotter. The employees were friendly and very accomodating. We were there over Labor Day weekend so are extremely thankful that it was available. And it only cost us $72 more than the original hotel for the entire stay. We are also thankful that the original hotel allowed us to cancel our reservation.

Room Tip: If you need a suite with more than one bedroom, asked for a two-bedroom suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DottieM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    39
    8
    4
    0
See reviews for
39
12
5
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

We stayed here on July 26, 2013 when hotels in Iowa City did not have vacancies. It was a little farther from the things we wanted to do in Iowa City, but it made up for it in comfort. This is a very nice, large hotel room for a good price, 99 dollars a night. There was a bedroom room and a sitting room, and both were clean and well appointed. Sheets and linens were new and clean. The breakfast bar is free, and decent food. The pool was clean if a bit strong in the chlorination, and the hot tub had a device that made it handicap accessible - not something we used, but it was good to see it. Did not use room service, so the rating below should really be "NA- not applicable."

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TBT2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
169 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013

Spent 2 nights in a very clean 1 bedroom unit. very quit and breakfast was great ! we picked up a small container of whiteys ice cream at the lobby's market place for desert. We enjoyed our stay here !!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skinnyskier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
190 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013

As the title states the service was great. The room was very clean and met all of our needs. The breakfast was average but good. We came in very late and left very early so I can not speak much on the pool or area around the hotel as far as close to restaurants. It was easy to find off the main interstate. Bed was super comfy and it had six pillows. We had a suite of some kind with a L-shaped couch , flat screen tv, and a full kitchen.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DachK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Matilda, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
161 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2013

Any problem I have is with Cedar Rapids itself. Where this hotel is located wasn’t very impressive, but the hospitality sections of Cedar Rapids were, in general, just “blah.” It seemed like a city that would support a lot of folks, but was none-the-less dead at 4:30 PM. It was an odd little section of Cedar Rapids from which to move around, though. Plan your trip and have a GPS, or come prepared to just stay in the facility.

The hotel: Standard Marriot smiles and service. Easy checkin/checkout. The room was huge, clean, well-stocked. The king-sized bed was a welcome respite to my wife and I after a couple nights on Choice Motel saw horses. The pool and hot tub were decent, although I’m not sure how I feel about Residence Inn’s habit of putting the pool area right near the parking lot so everyone that checks in check you out. I’m from near Penn State University, we’re a little touchy about people staring at our children in bathing suits.

Breakfast was a cut above the “Choice” variety, although just as much sugar. Three juice chioces. To the hotel manager, one notices stuff like “to go” boxes and lids for the coffee, for those of us that wish to eat in the room. Thank you!

If I take the monotony of the neighborhood out of it (not Marriott’s fault), it was big, bright, clean, and comfortable. Ole.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 111buckhorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Des Moines
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2013

Cleanest hotel I've ever stayed in! Friendliest staff - a special shout out to Jordan. Amazing service, comfort and the breakfast buffet is over the top. LOVED IT!!! We reserved the room via Priceline. My husband is in a wheelchair and there is a lift to help those w/ mobility issues get into the hot tub. We thoroughly enjoyed this trip and will DEFINATELY stay there again!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rcknrbn68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
49 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013

Marriot properties are my preference, so when I was stranded at CID 1 extra night due to weather, I ended up here. Check in process was smooth, Dining room are is smaller than usual. Lobby area small, but the rooms were clean and sized typical of Residence Inn properties.
I had the 1 bedroom (lounge area, kitchenette, and seperate room/bath). I liked that the lounge /living area had power outlets built next to sofa unit ( a nice touch I hadn't seen in other properties)

Location easy to get on/off highway.

Cons: nothing to eat or pretty to look like within walking location. Hotel is bookended between a car dealership and a highway on-ramp.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Myinbox125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
residenceinncr, Manager at Residence Inn Cedar Rapids, responded to this review, 12 June 2013
Thank you for your review of our hotel. We greatly value all guest feedback and use it to gauge what we are doing right and to find areas to improve. I am glad that you liked the new sofa layout. This is a new design for Marriott. Again Thank you for being a Marriott loyal customer. We hope you look to us again if you find yourself in Cedar Rapids in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cedar Rapids hotels
0.8 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Cedar Rapids North
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Cedar Rapids - North
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#14 of 36 in Cedar Rapids
4.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Cedar Rapids Marriott
Cedar Rapids Marriott
#11 of 36 in Cedar Rapids
4.0 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Cedar Rapids North
0.6 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Cedar Rapids
Days Inn & Suites Cedar Rapids
#7 of 36 in Cedar Rapids
4.0 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Cedar Rapids? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Cedar Rapids

Property: Residence Inn Cedar Rapids
Address: 1900 Dodge Rd NE, Cedar Rapids, IA 52402-2463
Region: United States > Iowa > Cedar Rapids
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Cedar Rapids
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Cedar Rapids 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn Cedar Rapids reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedar Rapids Residence Inn
Residence Inn Cedar Rapids Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing