We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western La Grande Hacienda
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Cherokee
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Pleasant experience. Staff friendly & helpful. Room, food, breakfast, pool parking & location all excellent. Desk personnel very helpful about community. Dining room staff very helpful. Would stay here again if I were in the area. Highly recommend this hotel for business or for the family.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Cindy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (140)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

90 - 96 of 140 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2014

I have stayed at this hotel many times over the past few years. Under the new non caring recnt management/owner I have seen: HBO never works, bar and restaurant closed, sagging ceiling water damage in ceiling, smells, dirty appaerance. Pool is hit or miss being in working order.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank PortageLake77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

I stayed 4 nights at the hotel while working on a construction project North of site. I made reservations over the phone. It was quick and efficient. Check in went smooth too (all the woman at the front desk are friendly and make you feel welcome)
My room was clean and bathroom was a close to spotless as you could get. The rooms are a bit outdated and could use some color (my room had no fridge/microwave) but I didn't ask so I don't know if there is an option. The beds we some of the BEST I have ever slept on. super comfy along with the bedding.
My other disappointment was that my room had a view of the indoor pool, it was a bit noisy if any one was in the pool but at least the pool area closes at 10. I would have preferred a room with an exterior view but they never mentioned an option to me.
The breakfast offerings were a bit on the small side, at least compared to what I get at a similar hotel for a similar price. I little more variety and quality of food would be nice.
The other nice things about the hotel is ample parking and parking for trucks and trailers too. There is also a good Mexican restaurant next door with good food. A grocery store right across the street also.
I would stay again...

Room Tip: Get a room away from the pool if you want exterior window and less noise. The pool side rooms also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JGSurveyor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

The hotel is in an area where there is little to choose from. It is slightly outdated, but overall it was a comfortable stay. I checked-in late and was forced to stay in a handicapped room that appeared to have not been used for a while as I had to kill a couple of spiders in the room where they had been able to create a web.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Aaron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We were in town for a wedding and were only staying one day. The room was very clean. We headed to the heated indoor pool after the wedding and it was very warm and very clean.
The continental breakfast was fabulous! Eggs, waffles, Biscuits, gravy. an aray of bread, bagels, muffins and cereal. We filled up before heading to our next destination.
Will stay again when we are in town for sure.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rzmoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

This hotel smelled the moment you walked into the room, the bathroom was old, dingy, and had mold around it. The shower was nice though as well as the comfortable beds. It was just had to overcome the smell of a mix of bleach and mold/dampness. The hotel options in the area are low which I would think would make the hotel want to upgrade and remodel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
2  Thank 455kathyw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

It was the best choice in Cherokee, IA to stay. My kids loved the pool, great way to relax at the end of the day. Rooms were nice, however they did not have a microwave in the room which made it difficult to warm up leftover. The staff did let us use the kitchen one so they did try to accommodate which was good. Front Staff was very pleasant and polite. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Jeff L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cherokee
0.1 mi away
Cherokee Inn
Cherokee Inn
#2 of 3 in Cherokee
34 reviews
21.1 mi away
King's Pointe Waterpark Resort
19.7 mi away
Super 8 Storm Lake
Super 8 Storm Lake
#2 of 4 in Storm Lake
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 mi away
Hometown Guesthouse
Hometown Guesthouse
#1 of 1 in Marcus
8 reviews
19.4 mi away
Budget Inn Motel
Budget Inn Motel
#3 of 4 in Storm Lake
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western La Grande Hacienda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western La Grande Hacienda

Address: 1401 N 2nd St, Cherokee, IA 51012
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Iowa > Cherokee
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Cherokee
Price Range: £58 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western La Grande Hacienda 2.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western La Grande Hacienda,located in Cherokee IA offers quality accomodation to people coming to Cherokee County,IA.We offer nice spacious rooms,with complementary WI-FI,Complementary HOT Breakfast including Sausages/Eggs/Fresh Hot Waffles along with a nice selection of Milk,Juices,Fruits,Yogurt,Cereals,Breads.Our Friendly Staff tries their best to take care of your needs,while in Cherokee IA.We also have a Business Center as well as Indoor Pool.We look forward to be your host hotel while in Cherokee IA ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western La Grande Hacienda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Cherokee
Cherokee Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing