We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hold your breath”
Review of Super 8 Clarinda

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Super 8 Clarinda
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Clarinda
Reviewed 9 June 2014

While the motel has all "no smoking" rooms, the stench from "smoking room" status is unbearable. Management needs to understand that cigarette smoke has permeated carpets and drapes, and that a little ozone machine and carpet cleaning is not going to do the trick. They need to replace those items so guests can have a healthy stay. If you're thinking of staying here, inspect your room before you pay anything. We won't go back until/unless changes are made.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GBinFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruth B, General Manager at Super 8 Clarinda, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

We want to apologize for your experience here at the Super 8 Clarinda. We do try to get guests to not smoke in the rooms and charge a fee of $150.00 if they do. But, that does not always happen. We realize that we will have to make adjustment to rooms and we will be doing that by the end of this year. Hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (267)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

181 - 187 of 267 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Dee S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ruth B, General Manager at Super 8 Clarinda, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 24 May 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ruth B, General Manager at Super 8 Clarinda, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 19 May 2014

It was a full hotel and the room recked of cigarettes! It was offensive. . .the lady at the front desk made a suggestion of bring a air cleaner up. . .it was late we were tired and said no. . .for a hotel with a no smoking policy . . . this is unacceptable . . your cleaning ladies should have put the purifier in the room when they cleaned it before us. I'm sure they could smell it as well.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruth B, General Manager at Super 8 Clarinda, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

We want to apologize for the smell of smoke in the room. You are right it is unacceptable, but not all the guests will follow the rules and not smoke. We strieve to make our guests happy and to do our best, but sometimes this does not happen. We appreciate your comments and look forward to seeing you again. I will instruct the housekeeper to be aware of smoke smell.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

I reserved a king non-smoking room when making the reservation several weeks in advance. I was told they had them, no problem.

When I got there, I found my room was handicapped accessible with a small bed (full at most, not even queen)

I asked and they said the king non-smoking were already taken ....
Yet they charged me the king rate...

Terrible customer service

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
1  Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruth B, General Manager at Super 8 Clarinda, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

We want to apologize to you David, for not meeting all of your request. You did request the first floor and a king. We did not have a king on the first floor available, so we thought it would be best to keep you on the first floor. We are sorry for assuming that would be ok. We normally do handle all request, but some times it is just not going to happen. Thanks for your comments and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ruth B, General Manager at Super 8 Clarinda, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 5 March 2014

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Dennis S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ruth B, General Manager at Super 8 Clarinda, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clarinda
18 mi away
No photo provided
Shenandoah Inn & Suites
#1 of 2 in Shenandoah
42 reviews
18.7 mi away
Super 8 Shenandoah
Super 8 Shenandoah
#2 of 2 in Shenandoah
40 reviews
23 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#2 of 2 in Red Oak
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Celebrity Inn
Celebrity Inn
#1 of 4 in Clarinda
23 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Clarinda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Clarinda

Address: 1203 S 12th St, Clarinda, IA 51632-2934
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Iowa > Clarinda
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Clarinda
Price Range: £66 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Clarinda 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your Super 8 Clarinda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super Eight Clarinda
Clarinda Super 8
Clarinda Super Eight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing