We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mayo trip”
Review of Super 8 Clear Lake

Super 8 Clear Lake
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Super 8 Clear Lake
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Clear Lake
Reviewed 4 October 2012

Location is great. We noticed your motel on way home from medical trip to Mayo Clinic.
much better than normal breakfast menu

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank JAMES B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (293)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

280 - 286 of 293 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2012

We stayed at the Super 8 at 2809 4th Avenue South , Clear Lake, Iowa, last weekend, August 3-4 for the Clear Lake Carshow and were very much disappointed. A person in our party was quoted a price of $80 some dollars and had booked multiple rooms for different parties for that weekend under his credit card number. The base rate was $109.00 plus tax which ended up being $122.08 a night. The morning continental breakfast was served with only three tables for all the rooms. Waffles, bagels, toast, cereal. And this weekend they would not give a Triple A discount which has never been refused before. We feel that we could stay at a different motel the same weekend for less money and better accommodations and a better breakfast where we didn't need to stand to eat.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rollyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2012

Smelled like smoke, ground floor room windows did not seem very secure, could hear lots of noise from rooms around us, and beds and shower not the greatest...however, it is right off the highway ( easy access and easy to get back on the road), staff was super nice and helpful, breakfast was included, gas station/corner store/ATM practically in the same parking lot, all for a very affordable price!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gulliver80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed here it the end of March. We traveled to Mason City to see the Frank Lloyd Wright architectural sites and wanted a decent place to stay that wasn't too pricey. We decided to stay at the Super 8 because we didn't need a pool. We were very happy with our room. It had just been redone with new carpet, paint, and it had updated furnishings. The beds were comfortable, and the complimentary breakfast had plenty of choices to chose from, including waffles (my fav). We had a friendly staff and enjoyed our stay. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kay J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2011

We spent a week here at the end of September. People live here and spend the evening going back and forth between rooms. You could smell food cooking and cigarette smoke all the time. We were awakened by someone trying to kick in the door in the room next to us. A young girl was looking for her "old man." Someone came out of another room to tell her he had gone. It looked like everyone knew each other and there was all kinds of drama. It's very isolated, there is no place to eat around here. Only two places deliver and they have a "special" menu just for delivery to this hotel, read crappy and expensive. Housekeeping never vacuumed once while we here. We have two more weeks to spend in town and it won;t be here!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Misty M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottiez, General Manager at Super 8 Clear Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2012

Thank you so much for your recent stay at our Super 8 in Clear Lake, Iowa. I also want to thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We want to know that we are sincerley sorry about any problems that you encountered during your stay with us! We have recently purchases the hotel and are making changes to the hotel everyday. We are currently updating the hotel with new carpet, bedding package, window treatments, furnishings, paint, and lighting. We have also recently added a complimentary evening social hour, so stop back and see our updated hotel and have some fun with us in the future! It is our goal to exceed your expectations during your stay with us! Thank you so much and please feel free to give me a call anytime with any questions or concerns.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2011

We stayed here twice in the past. We won't stay again.

In my opinion it has become a resident hotel.
We arrived around 8 pm and the young man behind the counter was friendly and courteous.

The room was clean, but there were problems. For some reason they gave use a handicap room although it was nowhere near capacity. Because it was a handicap room there were bars around the toilet the shower head was mounted at about 4 feet. The tub faucet was loose also.

We went down for breakfast. They had a good selection - waffles, cereal, biscuits and gravy, juice. This is when I got the impression it was a resident hotel. All eyes were on the two strangers who just walked in. I was way over dressed. I had on shoes, pants and a shirt. We decided to pass and grab a bite somewhere else.

When checking out the clerk never turned around, he shouted “Just leave the key on the counter. My wife informed him the hair dryer in 107 wasn't working. He shouted back "Did you try in other outlets."

When we left, there were more guys just hanging around outside the motel. More reason to believe it is a resident hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank S S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottiez, General Manager at Super 8 Clear Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2012

Thank you for your recent stay with us, your business is so greatly appriciated! We have just recently purchased the hotel and would like to invite you back to see the improvements that we have made and are in the process of making. New carpet, new interior lighting, fresh paint, updated furnishings, new bedding package, new window treatments, and we just added a new complimentary socail hour, updated breakfast. Stop in and see the changes, as we have listened to what our customers were saying and tried to make those improvements! If you have any quesitons or concerns please give me a call anytime. Thanks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2011

I read the reviews posted here by travelers from 2010 and though this would be a good affordable place to stay. Boy, was I wrong! We arrived after 9 pm. My first clue that this isn't a great place should have been the area it was in. There is some kind of industrial plant across the street, a convenience store next door and then nothing else. When we drove up, the parking lot was very dark, and I was a little concerned for my safety waking to and from my vehicle. A guy on a bicycle was drinking a beverage on the curb as we drove up, but he thankfully left later.

The staff at check-in was quite courteous, but that is where the good part of the experience ended. The hallway to our room was dark, as was the 70s carpet in the hall and in our room. So dark you couldn't tell how clean it was.

The room had a musty smell, and no one had turned on the air conditioner before our arrival. I was actually a little scared to sleep in the bed and scanned it for bugs before getting in. There were a few small flying insects in our room. There was some noise from room doors down the hall slamming, but it eventually tapered off around 11 pm.

The bathroom was tiny, and the whole place creeped me out so much that I skipped my shower the next morning. The breakfast was okay.

The price we paid to stay here was as high as a much nicer hotel in another city the next evening. I would never stay here again unless they did a major remodel.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 30StatesCounting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottiez, General Manager at Super 8 Clear Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2012

Thank you for taking to time to review your stay with our hotel on Trip Advisor. We appriciated your business and your concerns are our concerns. We have recently purchaes this hotel and are quickly making changes to the hotel. Currently we are in the middle of updating the facility with new carpet, bedding package, window treatments, interior lighting, furnishings & fresh paint. Additionally, we have added an evening complimentary social hour for all of our guests. So stop back and take a look at our updated hotel, and have some fun with us! It is our goal to make sure that we exceed your expectations during your stay with us! Please call me anytime with any questions or concerns. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clear Lake
1.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Clear Lake
1 mi away
Best Western Holiday Lodge
Best Western Holiday Lodge
#2 of 8 in Clear Lake
342 reviews
1.2 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Clear Lake
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Days Inn Mason City
Days Inn Mason City
#8 of 8 in Mason City
181 reviews
1.7 mi away
Lakeside Inn
Lakeside Inn
#6 of 8 in Clear Lake
71 reviews
1.4 mi away
Rumorz Neighborhood Hideaway
Rumorz Neighborhood Hideaway
#3 of 3 in Clear Lake
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Clear Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Clear Lake

Address: 2809 4th Ave S, I-35 Exit 193 at 4th Ave, Clear Lake, IA 50428-2289
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Iowa > Clear Lake
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Clear Lake
Price Range: £49 - £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Clear Lake 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 Clear Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super Eight Clear Lake
Clear Lake Super Eight
Clear Lake Super 8
Super 8 Clear Lake Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing