We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Travel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Holiday Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Holiday Lodge
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Clear Lake
Certificate of Excellence
Dawsonville, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Travel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

Although this hotel was clean and the bed comfortable, it's in need of a major up grade. You do get a musty smell when you enter the lobby which goes with the feeling that you just entered a cave. The staff is very nice and helpful. The breakfast was very good and the breakfast room was large and comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Stella Maris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lfaught, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Holiday Lodge, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Thank you for staying with us in Clear Lake! We have an awesome staff who want guest to feel like they are in the comfort of their home while staying with us. We do offer a great breakfast and are in the process of undergoing a huge renovation.

We appreciate feedback and thank you for taking the time to write a review.

Lori Faught General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    90
    53
    32
    8
See reviews for
68
54
25
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

Entire hotel is outdated and had a very musty odor. Pool area was great for kids. Restaurant food was excellent but 3 out of our nine orders were incorrect. But, the wrong orders tasted good! Housekeeping was slow, late, and not very good.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Sharon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lfaught, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Holiday Lodge, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear Sharon,

We apologize you did not have a positive experience at our hotel. We have been and are continuing a huge upgrade to our property. The pool is nice big area and people of all ages seem to really enjoy that. We are happy the food tasted good in Bennigans but am disappointed that you got the wrong food.

We hope that you will try us again in the future.

Lori Faught General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Paul, MN
Level Contributor
36 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

I was pleasantly surprised by the Best Western Holiday Lodge in Clear Lake. It is located adjacent to Interstate 35, about ten miles west of downtown Mason City and a mile or two away from downtown Clear Lake, which is quite charming. Despite being in the midst of gas stations and fast food restaurants, the hotel is quite nice. It looks to be in the final stages of a remodel - room was nicely updated, clean, quiet, and comfortable. The pool area is very nice - large pool and whirlpool, plenty of space for everyone on a fairly busy night. There is free wifi and a good, free breakfast. There is also a Bennigan's restaurant attached to the hotel, but I didn't try it. There didn't seem to be many other dining options nearby, put plenty just up the road in Mason City. The hotel is about a 15 minute drive from downtown Mason City, which is home to several Frank Lloyd Wright designed buildings. I'd recommend it for a quick stopover or if you're spending time in this interesting, but often overlooked, part of northern Iowa.

Room Tip: Rooms in the main building appear to be larger and nicer than those in the annex.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank blanker001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lfaught, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Holiday Lodge, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Thank you for taking time to fill out a review on our hotel. Being close to the interstate works great for travelers! We are happy you enjoyed all the upgrades we are doing. We are going to continue working on the upgrades as we have a lot more things planned to do.

We will look forward to seeing you return to Clear Lake.

Thanks, Lori Faught General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alabama
Level Contributor
104 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here while on our cross country motorcycle trip. This motel is in a good location and just off the interstate but parking was not very accommodating for anyone on a bike because of the renovations going on. Our room was very spacious and clean but somewhat outdated. Breakfast was just average. The coffee was just terrible. Yuck! The staff seemed nice enough. I would stay here again if I'm ever back in this town.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Teeroe1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lfaught, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Holiday Lodge, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Guest,

We are so sorry for the limited parking that was available due to the painting and work that is being done on the main tower of our building. We are hoping they will be done by the end of this week. The contractors have had a lot of fun weather (not really) to work around!

It will look great when everything is completed we try very hard not to inconvenience the guest.

Sincerely, Lori Faught General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyle, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

We were stuck in the what had to be the old building. We had to walk throgh the tornado tunnel to make it into the main building. They are upgrading the outside and should be upgrading the inside. The breakfast was mediocre at best and not up to BW standards. The orange juice was yellow water. The price paid was not cheap and definitely too high for Clear Lake. The Super 8 in Forest City is much better at a far less cost. The restaurant was good however. Bennigans was good.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lfaught, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Holiday Lodge, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear David,

We are disappointed that you did not enjoy your room. We did install new bathroom vanities with granite counter tops in the bathrooms. New wallpaper and new carpet with textured walls with an accent wall in the bedroom area. We are also disappointed that nothing seemed good to your taste buds with biscuits and gravy, French toast, scrambled egg patties, meat, hard boiled eggs, 3 choices of cold cereal, assorted oatmeal, mini muffins, bread, fruit, yogurt, juices and coffee.

Glad you enjoyed Bennigans!

Sincerely, Lori Faught General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota
Level Contributor
135 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

Check-in was fast and efficient. Our room was spacious and clean. All BWs have had special Clean Remotes for over a year...TV remotes are the most germ-ridden items in a hotel room. We had a very large Panasonic HDTV-nice! The tray with the coffee maker was on top of the micros, but there was no place to plug it in, so I moved the tray onto the bathroom vanity. The sink was actually IN the bathroom, not in the BR or hallway-NICE! There was NO toilet paper holder near the commode, but the TP was placed on a shelf under the sink, which was quite a stretch-NOT NICE! Benigan's Restaurant is attached to the BW, which is convenient to get to without going outside in bad weather. The breakfast room was quite large, with REAL plates and tableware - no plastic! Items were replenished frequently by the kitchen staff. Everyone associated with the hotel was very welcoming and pleasant.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarasota_Gal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lfaught, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Holiday Lodge, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review! The clean remotes are very nice and easier for housekeeping to clean. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again in the future!

Sincerely, Lori Faught General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
State College, PA, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

The staff here was GREAT - helpful, friendly, all of it. Beds were comfortable, housekeeping staff was friendly, nice showers. Benigan's restaurant was less great - super slow service, frequently wrong orders when they did arrive. The hotel is currently undergoing renovations, so this may change, but the hotel was so damp. It rained for 2 days at a time and the wallpaper was bubbling on the exterior wall, the stairwells were damp, and one of the meeting rooms was so musty that we dreaded being assigned to it. Hopefully the renovations help with that, because the staff is GREAT and deserve that.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Tiffany E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lfaught, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Holiday Lodge, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Tiffany,

Thank you for the positive comments about our staff being friendly and helpful! Bennigan's is slated for a very big remodel this fall which we are very excited for. The hotel is still under going some major renovations we just had all new roofs put on last year with a lot more updates happening.

The weather has been another crazy season for Iowa. Here we are in July and we are wearing sweatshirts! Hopefully the rain has left with the month of June as it rained more than the sun shined.

Sincerely, Lori Faught General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clear Lake
0.4 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Clear Lake
0.5 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Clear Lake
0.9 mi away
Super 8 Clear Lake
Super 8 Clear Lake
#5 of 8 in Clear Lake
3.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Mason City
5.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Mason City
7.8 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#6 of 8 in Mason City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Holiday Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Holiday Lodge

Property: BEST WESTERN Holiday Lodge
Address: 2023 7th Ave N, Clear Lake, IA 50428-2103
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Iowa > Clear Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Clear Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Holiday Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 138
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN Holiday Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Clear Lake
Clear Lake Best Western
BEST WESTERN Holiday Lodge Clear Lake, Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing